RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
S&S RV Service
40 Knight Rd, Gettysburg, PA   17325
888 345-0149
Email Address: sns4rvs@comcast.net
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 39.778   Longitude: -77.2312
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/27/2017
  Company Contact:   George Scott
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Check and replace Atwood Leveler
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent work
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   ronlee777@msn.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/13/2017
  Company Contact:   George Scott
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Installed electric dump valves and repaired wiper arms.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   ronlee777@msn.com
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/19/2015
  Work Done on:   Toad
  Service Performed:   Install baseplate.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Work was done in a timely fashion and done completely to my satisfaction. My problem is with the pricing of the baseplate. My quote over the phone was
$433.39 for the baseplate. I checked with the baseplate manufacturer, baseplate advertised at $390.00 on sale for $299.50. S&S refused any price reduction
when I asked for one. Suggest you check the price of materials before getting a quote from them.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/20/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
Heavy Duty Truck
  Service Performed:   Do not I repeat do not take any RV, truck, travel trailer or any type of vehicle type of vehicle to this repair shop. Every single job and part had to be replaced
in less than a year my complaint is so extensive that it's impossible to fit it into this website. Do yourself a huge favor and drive past this rip off place. If you
need mechanical work done on your RV or truck take it to Roosters automotive it's right outside Gettysburg he's honest knows exactly what to do and never
overcharges
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Took three weeks to replace a water pump on my truck and now with in a year it's all got to be done over again and he charged three times the cost of what
my new mechanic charged and they did the replacement in 1 day. No kidding.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/31/2014
  Company Contact:   George scott
  Work Done on:   Heavy Duty Truck
  Service Performed:   Took F350 diesel in for hard starting in the cold. George Scott said no problem to change glow plugs. After $502.11 in testing fees and replacing a 40 dollar
relay, Mr Scott said on the invoice that S&S RV Service is not the shop to have this issue addressed. In other words he basically ripped me off and BSed me the
whole way, he recommended another company to do job and they estimated the glow plug replacement would be around 1500 dollars. That company was
crooked too. Anyway, Roosters Automotive right outside of Gettysburg changed all the glow plugs on my truck in one day for $450 dollars. These guys are
honest and do the job the first time .
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Attention all RV s and truck / car people, do NOT go anywhere near S&S RV Service. Unless your willing to be completely overcharged. Shotty workmanship
and just a plain ripped off. I trusted Mr Scott and guess what, this is a complete scam company. Unfortunately for me I lost around 10 k with this guy doing
many repairs to my vehicles and my Class A motorhome.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   Mbcdesign64@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/19/2014
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   I had an issue with an air leak in an air system dump valve.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Due to the location of the dump valve near the top of the chassis and the fact that S&S did not have an RV lift they could only diagnose the problem but
not fix (reach) the bad valve. Cost me $100 to verify I had an air leak I could hear. And then they park my 32 ton RV in a field and it rained the night
before I came to pick it up. RV was stuck and they had to use a tractor to get it out. AT least they washed the mud off.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Fair
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/9/2013
  Company Contact:   George Scott
  Work Done on:   Toad
  Service Performed:   New baseplate/wiring 2009 Honda CRV.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   First George wanted an extra $75.00 to cover extra time for wiring. The wiring caused the brake switch to short out, 3 days at Honda, George did
pay Honda bill. Honda had to unhook wiring to fix brake. Wiring harness that didn`t work was $135.00, George used different harness that cost
$60.00 but didn`t want to refund difference because of extra labor to install second harness. I paid the difference just to be away from these guys.
Total cost $1300.00 plus 3 days at S&S and 3 days at Honda for a relatively simple job. I won`t go there again!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   black_daniel@hotmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/25/2013
  Company Contact:   George
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   My RV started missing, backfiring, max revs 2000 rpm, so I went to S&S as the only Workhorse Tech in the area. After several trips back they got it running
OK by replacing one exhaust manifold, heat warped, gaskets etc and wires with "Special High Heat" spark plug wires, all to the tune of $2400. After a year of
a few short trips and mostly in storage it was again missing. S&S charged another $700 to replace engine crank and cam sensors, troubleshoot with multiple
diagnostics and got it going again. Within 500 miles the RV engine stopped dead on the Interstate. It cost $5000 at another repair shop and 3 weeks stuck in
Atlanta to have the plugged-up catalytic converters replaced and junk spark plug wires replaced to get the RV running again.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The S&S tech never tested for proper back pressure or diagnosed the failing Catalytic Converters, which was the cause of the engine exhaust problems. Plus
he never got info to Good Sam Extended Warranty to pay for covered items he did replace.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/1/2010
  Company Contact:   George Scott
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Replaced Atword Levelegs jack on 2009 Tiffin Allegro.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Work was completed in a timely manner after consulting with manufacturer. My only issue with S&S is actually an issue with Atwood who apparently allocates too few standard hours to their warranty repairs. I ended up paying out-of-pocket for warranty work. George was upfront and did state from the beginning that this might be the case so I have no issues with his efforts.
  Value of Service:   Good
  Quality of Service:   Good
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/26/2010
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Oil and Filter Change
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Quoted $135 for labor on oil and filter change. When completed cost exceeded $500. One oil filter, One fuel filter and 6 gallons of oil. BEWARE IF YOU ARE NOT LOCAL. BE SURE AND GET THE PRICE FIRST FOR THE TOTAL BILL. Also oil was spilled on frame and wiring. Used brake fluid on frame and wiring to clean it.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/14/2009
  Company Contact:   George Scott
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Owner George Scott and life long wife Peggy Scott are a wonderful pair, and great repair shop owners. I had them help me with several problems the my older travel trailer had. The major problem was a junk 3-way refrigerator that I needed fixed in the middle of the summer. It wasn't fixable and I needed a new one. I'm disabled and don't have much money. George was able to help me out with a discount and I had a brand new refrigerator installed in my travel trailer in two days time. They seriously earned my business and respect. I have had them do my winterizing on same trailer. George also has an ample area set aside for monthly RV storage at a reasonable price. I have been very pleased with all my encounters with S&S RV Repair.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   All work was completed in a professional manner and time. A++++ service.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   ronboll3@yahoo.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/12/2009
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Replace water inlet check valve, reset breaker switches, fix electric couch motor
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Replace water inlet check valve, fix electric motor on couch, reset breaker switch. I use to think the world of George and his crew. But now I'll never go back there. All the screws have fallen out of the panel after they repaired the check valve causing a pipe to break, When I asked how they reset the breaker switch so I could do it my self next time, they wouldn't tell me. I'll never go there again nor recommend them to anyone.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/15/2008
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Fixed a faulty air dash air system, fixed a brake release problem, installed a steering bell, and several other modifications.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   S&S has worked on my RV several times and has really earned my business. They seem to be able to fix things other dealers fail at fixing. My air conditioner was worked on 4 times prior. They found the issue and determined the system needed replaced. Why didn't the first place find that! They are all about getting your RV on the road in great shape not trying to sell you on something new.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/12/2007
  Company Contact:   George or Richard
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Repaired forced air heater on our trailer. Had it to the dealer twice and they never fixed it (although when we left they said it was repaired). S&S pulled the heater, bench tested it, found the problem that was outside of the normal code test, and repaired the problem. Thus showing competence over and above the typical "plug and play" dealer service.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   High quality work, done on time. Heater works perfectly. Could not even tell they were in the trailer. Very helpful folks working at the shop.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/7/2006
  Company Contact:   Pam/Polly
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Lube, Oil, Filter Change.
Metal Valve Extenders and Tire Pressure Caps.
Workhorse Steering recall.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The work was performed and completed ahead of the time frame quoted. The work performed was a good value for the price quoted, which was honored.

This facility has certified techs, and I would not hesitate to use them again.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent



Page last updated: 12/15/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster