RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Valley Freightliner
524 Jack's Lane, Mt. Vernon, WA   98273
[877] 848-0472
Email Address: jcallis@valleyftl.com
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 48.3899298   Longitude: -122.3317483
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/23/2016
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   6,000 mile service and windshield replacement
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We had traveled across the country from Florida, so were not sure of the level of service we would receive from an unknown center. We were very pleased
with the service results. The service manager and reps were very courteous and helpful, from setting the appointment to explaining everything, to keeping
us informed. We were given a printout of the standard 6,000 mile service that would be performed (same as what Freightliner recommends in the manual).

Our appointment was for 8am, and we were there a little early as the location was easier to find than anticipated. They brought the coach in the bay about
9:30 and said it would take about 10 hours to complete. We went off and did some sightseeing for most of the day. Around 5 we were back and they were
not done yet. They did not finish until about 9pm, and we were told that we had to come back in the morning so an alignment could be done (no certified
alignment tech worked at night). Back again the next morning and 2 hours later they were done.

The techs were careful to be clean in and on coach. The work was done well (as far as we could tell). On the alignment they had to adjust the ride height
and readjust the steering stabilizer - it now tracks very straight. All-in-all, everyone was very professional, keeping us informed throughout, and the work
was well done. The shop has a large driver lounge, with WiFi, TV, laundry, showers, snacks, and comfortable seats. The bill for the work was in line with
expectations, with no hidden fees/charges.

Our windshield had taken 2 rocks and had shattered the corner, so needed replacing. They worked with our insurance company for payment authorization,
so we did not have to pay anything. It took a week to be ordered and arrive, and they worked with us to time the replacement when we were back in the
area.

They do not do the actual replacement work, but contract it out to an auto glass company that does replacements on large vehicles. Their shop was close
by, we drove there, they delivered the new windshield to that shop. While Valley Freightliner did not do the actual work, they did a great job coordinating it
and handling all the details. Again, they were very professional and helpful throughout the process.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/1/2016
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Repair dash air
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   If you need chassis repairs I can confidently recommend Valley Freightliner in Mt Vernon, Washington. I recently had the dash air on my motor home
repaired at Valley Freightliner and the service was excellent. From the time I first called until I drove away with the repairs completed every person with
whom I spoke was totally courteous and knowledgeable. A particularly nice service is a personal update each morning via email explaining what has been
done the previous day and what is planned for this.

When I arrived to pick up my vehicle the service representative provided me with a thorough explanation of work done as well as a detailed review of the
charges. The final charges were exactly as I had been quoted at the beginning. When I asked for some extra information to be included on the invoice.
The service representative did not ask why I would need such information or imply it was inconvenient. She simply re-prepared my invoice with a smile.
Sometimes little things can tell a great deal about a company. After driving home with my air conditioner working perfectly I opened the access panels to
see the new parts. Just curiosity. I noticed a couple of original hoses now had sections of large wire spaghetti secured over the hose. These were hoses
not connected to this repair. It took me a minute to figure that out. The technician working on my air conditioner had apparently noticed that the hoses
had been rubbing on frame structure. He took the initiative to protect those hoses from damage. Not a big thing but a nice extra that says a great deal
about that technician and about Valley Freightliner.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/6/2014
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Repair tach and boost gauge ran new wire and new line, repairs good after two years. Did recall on fuel line of Cummins engine. Last maintenance service
08/2014 done by them, oil change and filter, grease and fuel filters, complete under chassis check-up.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Work done by them was excellent with the latest this year I waited for it and quote was as expected. Work done on Class A 2006 Holiday Rambler
Ambassador 40' diesel pusher.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   rhuffman35@comcast.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/25/2014
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Spartan recall and chassis inspection.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I took my recently purchased 2005 Mountain Aire DP in for to have a Spartan recall dealt with (Recall 05V-146, Amtek Air Gauge Calibration) and to
have the chassis inspected for defects or items requiring service. They started work on schedule, per my appointment, and had no problem with me
going into the shop to talk directly with the mechanic doing the inspection. I had a couple of special requests, which he looked after. A small air leak
was detected and they advised me it was not critical it be repaired immediately. I asked them to fix it and the actual cost came in lower than their
estimate. They had quoted $150 for the inspection but only charged me $80. They are located 50 miles south of me and a local Spartan shop quoted
$450 for the same inspection. I will be taking my coach back for any future work that is required.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/11/2008
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Steering gear recall by Freightliner.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent shop and employees. Clean and did the work in a timely manor.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/8/2006
  Company Contact:   Jonathan Callis - Service Manager
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Followup on separate work-order dated 09/06/2006. Complaint had to do with a so-called broken clamp on hose going to Turbo that created a $942 towing bill that this company charged off as "Warranty" (otherwise known as CYA or Fraud). Mechanic who actually did the "repair" told me that all he did was tighten the hose clamp, which ironically I have driven over 25K miles including going to Alaska, and climbed over the Rockies five times and just 100 miles from their shop this clamp decides to BREAK? Also the right rear brakes were running much hotter than all the others. The Service manager, two shop foremen, & four mechanics shrugged it off as being "NORMAL" without even touching the outside of the hub or checking the adjustments. Two days later in Baker City, OR my complaint was found to be legitimate as the right rear (hub, brake assembly, & Tone ring had been replaced by VFI--but not adjusted correctly).
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I'm not permitted here to tell what the Tech in Baker City, OR wrote on his work order. Anyone taking their RV to VFI does so at their own risk. They lied to me repeatedly and wouldn't listen to me (the customer) or accept any suggestions or concerns that I had. SHOW ME THE MONEY is their ONLY mode of operation.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   jrc@gypsyjohn.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/6/2006
  Company Contact:   Jonathan Callis - Service Manager
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Excessive Oil Consumption/Leak (2 qts in 1500 miles) and leak from the Hydraulic Fan Motor. Replaced the ABS tone ring on right rear hub as it was broken, Oil/Lube/Fuel filter change. $3000 including a $942 tow bill because these people changed parts that didn't require changing and knocked a clamp loose on the hose going to the turbo unit (when they unnecessarily replaced an almost NEW air filter. (They never checked the vacuum gauge visible from the rear of the engine). They claimed there were NO OIL LEAKS and that my aftermarket "Banks System was probably the cause of the excessive consumption" (even stating this on the invoice). VFI didn't really do much of anything and couldn't see the leaks because of their filthy grimy/oil ridden floors.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   It all starts here: http://www.gypsyjohn.net/pdf/summer2006/090606.pdf As SOON AS THEY FOUND I had a Banks System installed on my coach--from that point on EVERY PROBLEM that I had somehow got blamed on the Banks System. They kept insisting that AFTERMARKET products void the warranty. They had never heard of the Magnusson-Moss FTC Act of 1975. I've taken my coach to a number of Cummins dealers as well as Freightliner in Tolleson, AZ & have told them up front that I have aftermarket products including Banks and everything is/was covered under warranty, no questions asked.

I would NEVER EVER take my coach to VFI again if they were the ONLY repair facility within 100 miles. They discount their labor rates so they can sell you parts that you don't need. For a fulltimer, they have no facilities for parking overnight unless you consider ONE 15 amp electric plug stuck behind two junked trucks to be HOOKUPS. No signs anywhere indicating that this facility is an OASIS CENTER, but Corporate in Gaffney SC says they are!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   jrc@gypsyjohn.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/17/2006
  Company Contact:   Harry Busscher
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Recall on cooling system and problem with exhaust brake
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Appointment was for 9AM and started work at 11AM. Completion of work took a little longer than planned as they worked on trucks in between working on the coach. While I was there I asked them to look at a problem with the exhaust brake if they had time. They had time and after diagnosing the problem for several hours it was determined that the exhaust problem was a design problem that would have to be fixed by Cummins by means of the ECM software. I was impressed with how persistent they were in eliminating all possibilities and arriving at their final conclusion. This Freightliner dealer went above and beyond to be helpful. I will take my business to them anytime.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/19/2006
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Preventive maintenance on engine, oil and filter changes on engine and on generator, transmission fluid change, filters change, repair leaking transmission, repair loose part under front of motorhome.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Outstanding. I wish all Freightliner dealers were as good as this one. It specializes in motorhomes and truly goes great, on time, reasonable work. They keep their promises and do a very professional job.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   tulipsangel@earthlink.net



Page last updated: 10/20/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster