RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
RV Specialists
7052 Carroll Rd, San Diego, CA   92121
858-455-9898
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 32.886462   Longitude: -117.16973
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/15/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   I brought my RV into the RV Specialists center on 4/21/15. I asked them to service the generator, service the chassis, service the Aqua Hot, replace all 6
batteries, and install a brake controller- which I would provide. The original quote was for $2807.82, which seemed high, but I needed the service done.
On the second day that my RV was in their shop, the owner (Mark Cooley) called me and said that they stripped the oil pan and we would need to pay for a
replacement. Their mechanic could not get the oil pan back in because they over tightened it. I demanded that they somehow fix it because it was in
working condition when dropped off. On the third day my RV was in their shop, the owner (Mark Cooley) called me and said that there was a problem with
the inverter and it is all of a sudden not charging. It was working perfectly when I dropped off my RV for service. I called Magnum (the manufacturer of the
inverter, spoke with Glen) to get additional information regarding the part. He said there was a chance that the polarity was reversed on the battery and
that would affect the inverter. On the fourth day, Mark Cooley called me yet again and told me that he would not install the part that I asked to be installed
so I said do not install the part and I will take care of it myself. They proceeded to install a brake controller without my authorization after this phone call,
just to charge me for it in the end. The exhaust hanger was paid to be replaced in labor, and it was not done. The motor for the front curtain worked while
we were on their lot and not again once leaving. There were several scrapes and dents on my RV after sitting on their lot for a week. I have photos of the
condition on my RV when I dropped it off. Security light covers were not replaced as requested,yet paid labor on my invoice.

The owner of this shop told me that if I didn't pay what was on the invoice I could not pick up my RV. I feel that he intentionally raised the price of the
original invoice in order to try to extort me, knowing I needed my RV back in a timely manner. When I picked up my RV and asked him in person why there
was a gross up charge on my final invoice, he would not look me in the face and gave me the run around about how their parts are marked up an additional 35% which he never informed me prior to work and the original quote. The final invoice amount was $4348.89 The final invoice is a giant
difference from the original quote and I never authorized any additional work or parts that they damaged during repair. I have filed a complaint with the
California Bureau of Automotive Repair, a state agency that licenses repair facilities. The complaint number is OC2015008636.Their findings will be
available by subpoena.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Beware of this shop!!!!!!!!!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/10/2013
  Company Contact:   Mark or Bob
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   The oil/filter changed, lube and inspected the chassis, replaced the fuel filters, fan belts, coolant/thermostat and flushed the hydraulic jack system.
Their inspection found a bad brake seal that was repaired.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The service was excellent, I mainly dealt with Mark, he kept me apprised of what was happening plus answered other questions I had.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/2/2012
  Company Contact:   Darrell or Bob or Mark
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   They located leak a in the Evans Tempcon dash air conditioning system expansion valve. They pressure tested the entire system and got all the work done in one day.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Our dash air was out and we were leaving for a trip in a couple of days. We had wasted two days the previous week, when a different garage couldn't find the leak.

Fortunately the Evans Tempcon web site gave us RV Specialists' name. I called Darrell late on a Friday and he patiently explained various scenarios and potential cost. Met with Bob and Darrell early on Monday and felt we were treated like we were friends instead of just customers. We were treated just as nice when we picked it up that afternoon. The bill was reasonable, and we left two days later.

Our trip kept us driving in extreme heat for a month, 4900 miles. The dash air worked extensively and without flaw.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   4edgar@pacbell.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/15/2011
  Company Contact:   Mark Cooley and Bob Long
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Test and replaced EMS Control Board on 2008 Monaco Cayman.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Work done efficiently and in a timely manner. Honored/worked with Extended Warranty Insurance. Recommend and we will return for any work necessary in the future.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/8/2010
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Oil Service
Coolant Service
Transmission Service
Inverter Installation
House water pump replacement
Shower repair
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   It's difficult to assess the quality of the oil service, coolant service and transmission service. The inverter installation, just a simple 600W for the DVD/TV, seems to function fine; although they made no attempt to clean up the wood and metal shavings from installation. The water pump seems fine. The shower re-caulking only partially fixed the leak; the shower still leaks, but a bit less.

The good news is that both Bob and Mark are really friendly and helpful. The bad news is that I had a hard time to get timely return calls about the status and readiness of my RV. Each time I called, the answer was "we'll check and get back to you." Usually I had to call back. It also seemed like the kept over promising when much of the work wasn't really happening until Thursday. I'd dropped off an Monday and made clear I had plans the following weekend and needed a Thursday, or Friday at the latest pickup.

Final issue may just be an odd coincidence which could be unfair to attribute to RV Specialists. On the Saturday immediately following the services, my RV began to have electrical problems that are probably a bad alternator and subsequent bad battery. It's true I did not ask them to check that component, so perhaps there's no reason to assume a service including the above items should have triggered an experienced mechanic to check this basic of an item. Nevertheless, I spent part of Sunday nursing my RV home over 74 miles, with and unplanned stop at Autozone to buy a $120 battery.

This service was not what I'd hoped after reading the other positive reviews on this site. I think I will give Holland Motorhomes a try. They're more expensive, but perhaps worth it.
  Value of Service:   Fair
  Quality of Service:   Fair
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/1/2010
  Company Contact:   Mark Cooley
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Windshield leak, windshield frame rust, oil change and general service
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Windshields needed replacement. After inspection of windshield frame rust needed to be corrected and gaskets replaced. Cap removed, framing behind windshield needed replacement in areas and all rust was ground down and treated. Following the service we went on a 5,000 mile trip in inclement weather areas with no problems or leakage. Mark and Bob were both great to work with and fair on the cost of repairs. Would recommend to any RV owner.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   ktspence00@yahoo.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/26/2010
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   I brought in an older Class A for a Pre-Purchase inspection. I was told it would take about 2 hours and cost me about $220.00. After about the first 1/2 hour of the inspection, they told me they found several major repair issues and a lot of minor issues and asked if I wanted to stop the inspection now or continue. I stopped the inspection. They charged me only for the 1/2 hour they inspected the coach. That $55.00 saved me thousands in future repair bills had I purchased the coach.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They could have continued with the inspection and charged me the full $220.00 and I would have not known the difference. Their honesty and professionalism saved me lots of money and time. I would recommend them to anyone!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   Imbeohbe@aol.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/16/2009
  Company Contact:   Mark or Bob
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Annual diesel engine and generator service including oil changes, filter changes, etc. Fixed a loose tape seal on roof, fixed water pump, and fixed shower door
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent service with excellent customer service. They do not do any work not required, even if it was in their estimate! For example, they repaired the tape joint on the roof because it did not need replacing.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   wayne@pay-net.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/5/2006
  Company Contact:   Mark or Bob
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   They have performed all my work since I bought the
RV new. Brakes, tune ups, jacks, steering gearbox,
lube, oil, filters, alignments, safety checks. I now
have 80,000 miles on it.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They are consistently superior and attentive. Not
cheap but good. I won't let anyone else touch my
coach!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   piecon@mindspring.com
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/15/2006
  Company Contact:   Bob
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   I had some warranty work from National RV that need to be done as well as normal servicing of the coach, work included:
Replace radio, microwave & A/C Unit. Repair shower floor, and miscellaneous other items. Plus a normal service of the engine (change the oil etc.)
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Bob kept me informed the whole time and notified me of all warranty items from the factory. The work was done very professionally and in an excellent manner. Bob is upstanding guy that will make you feel like you have known him all your life. This is the only place that Iíll ever take my RV to be serviced.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/17/2006
  Company Contact:   Mark or Bob
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Chased down a bad trailer wiring connection, then adjusted the 5th-wheel's trailer brakes.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Timely and helpful. I called in the morning and they said, "Come on out this afternoon". This is not the first time I've had work done by these guys and they've always been wonderful.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   pat@patcarnathan.com



Page last updated: 5/23/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster