RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Albany RV
1101 Central Avenue, Albany, NY   12212
518-459-4695
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 42.689341,   Longitude: -73.799725,
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/9/2012
  Company Contact:   Derrick
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   On August 6 while traveling to the Saratoga NY area, our brakes on our RV failed to respond to the towing vehicle's braking system. Occasionally they would respond by
manual manipulation. We called a mobile RV service who came on Wednesday to repair the problem. After 4 hours and burning up our brake release system, we could only activate
the trailer brakes manually. We were leery of the reviews for Albany RV but since our 5th wheel was in warranty,
we took it to an authorized dealer. Derrick of Albany RV asked us to have it at his shop at 8:00 the next morning.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We couldn't have had a better experience. Chip handled our unit. We were called and told of the "short" in the system and the approximate time the work would be completed. Chip called an hour sooner than expected. We returned to find our unit in perfect order. It was so nice to have brakes again. Derrick also made sure that our manufacture knew about the charges made by the mobile unit so that possibly we could get a refund on that $400 bill (including replacing a system that the mobile unit personnel burned up by making mistake) We have
had RV's for 45 years and must say that Albany RV service was one of the fastest, most understanding and considerate locations for service we have ever experienced. Hats off to Chip and Derrick!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/2/2012
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Bought a new 5th wheel in 2010. When we picked it up there was a huge scratch on the door and it didn't latch right. They took pictures of it and said "it was a warranty issue". After an entire year of calling and stopping in to the store, nothing was ever done. I NEVER got called back on the issue. Then this year my rear stabilizer jack motor went. Brought it back to see (ha ha) if they would cover the failed motor. They said they would put it in for a "good faith warranty claim". I've called four times in the last 3 weeks and their always busy, and of course don't return my calls. Being a mechanic, I'm surprised to see customers treated this way. Being from a car dealership we want people to come back....but apparently at Albany RV you need to buy a pusher not a $40,000 5th wheel to get some, any, service at all. Bottom line, once they have your money you no longer matter.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Terrible and would strongly advise you to stay away from this business!!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/8/2012
  Work Done on:   Pop-up Trailer
  Service Performed:   The crank on my pop-up need to be fixed.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Very Poor!!!!! My crank was fixed but I was sent home with no working lights and three of my seating storage boxes were broken and tore up. After 4 months its still the same. The service department manager Ron was so rude to me. I will never deal with these people again and I will and would discourage anybody from dealing with them.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/12/2011
  Work Done on:   Tow Vehicle
  Service Performed:   AWFUL SERVICE AFTER THE SALE!!!! We bought our first unit from them 4 years ago. It was missing a part THAT the sales person, Cindy, was to replace according to the Sales contract. Needless to say, it was NEVER replaced ! I went all the way to the owner, Don Strollo, with the issue. He did offer to have it replaced/fabricated. There was a recall directly from the Dometic for the refrigerator. I called to schedule an appointment, and was told 6 weeks was the earliest appointment!!!! This was in the spring/summer-CAMPING SEASON!!!! I was told that they were "understaffed"!!! I called Alpin Haus in Amsterdam, and they took care of the recall in 1 week!!! I wasn't even their customer, but they managed to treat us like a priority. STUPIDLY, I bought my 2nd and LAST camper from this place. I had an issue with a leak of some sort that seemed to be an A/C condensation related concern. They tried pulling the same nonsense with not having any service appointments for weeks on end. I had to call SEVERAL times to finally get it scheduled. They DON'T RETURN PHONE CALLS, UNLESS YOUR SPENDING 10's of Thousands of dollars! There was another issue that arose during the 30 warranty period that I didn't have taken care of since I didn't want to leave my camper in the service department for the standard 6 week window. I called to see about the SMALL repair only to be told, out of 30 day warranty, too bad. Bottom line is that I had to call 6-10 times to get to this conclusion. Nothing, not a split the cost, not a thing. NO ONE will return a call. The ONLY one that will is the sales person, with NO AUTHORITY to do anything. Sales Managers and Owners WON'T CALL OR RETURN EMAIL!

I've spent nearly $30,000.00 with these people, and I can guarantee that I will be sure to NEVER spend another dime there!!!
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Leak and NOT fixing sewage leak
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   jdaniel2@nycap.rr.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/19/2011
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Fix the leak that flooded my camper on the first day of use.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I have never been treated so poorly by any company before. I purchased a used 2006 Jayco 29FBS from Albany RV. During the walk through we were advised that they replaced the faucet because it had a crack in it. (Hindsight is always 20/20 as they say) I thought that was good that they caught that and replaced it. I noticed that the blind in the living room was broken so they said they would fix that prior to them delivering it. Once the camper was delivered to us on 5/13/11, I hooked up the water and then 5 minutes later noticed that it had flooded the inside of the camper! I called Albany RV and was so mad; I’m now in the middle of the woods with 3 kids, one of which crawling and my carpets are soaking wet. I ultimately spoke with the service manager, Mark who LAUGHED at me and said “why don’t you come down here and tell it to my face, I deal with your kind of people all the time”…..are you kidding me???? I hung up on him and called and spoke to the sales department and told them how rudely I was spoken to and what Mark had said….she said, “I doubt he said that to you, Mark is very professional” I could not believe what I was hearing. Not once did anyone apologize for not checking this camper to see that it was never winterized and all my pipes were cracked along with my hot water heater!! You know what they told me I could do?? Trade it in if I wanted to.

Six days later, the hot water heater was fixed at no charge however they never checked to see if any of the pipes were leaking. The following weekend at camp, I wake up to water on the floor AGAIN because the kitchen sink pipes have a crack in them. I called Albany R and was told that they do not do service calls on the weekend (that was on Saturday, today is Wednesday and I have not heard from anyone). Now that my carpets have been wet, I have this nice aroma of cat pee that I can’t get rid of. The previous owners must have had a cat…oh yeah, and the shade in the living room that they were supposed to fix, it broke again, waiting for them to fix that too. I can’t believe what a bunch of shyster’s they are over there. I would not recommend that company to anyone!! My campground wont even carry their cards up front anymore because they have nothing but problems with them.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/15/2009
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   From broken frames, broken drawers, broken lights, two years later still waiting for work to be done on leak under the sink, and when they put speakers in they cut a 4" gap in the siding that is still not fixed. They have been here 5-6 times and have not been able to fix the speaker problem. Two other times the appointments were made and they never showed up.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Albany RV has a terrible service department. And since this is an after market problem there really isn't anything that can be done by Jayco, and for that they apologized. NEVER NEVER deal with Albany RV.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/12/2009
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Unit went in for delaminated front bunk end. Work was done, we took it on a trip and the door falls apart in Pennsylvania. Someone OTHER than the service manager over-nighted parts and we spent a day of our vacation fixing the door so we could close it and get home (yes, we have an extended warranty but it doesn't cover this type of thing). We were treated rudely over the phone by the service manager and laughed at by a receptionist.

Unit went back to dealer for the second time for fiberglass delamination and a suspected roof leak. Delamination problem was sent out to another shop for work. Roof was supposedly checked out and we were told no leak was found even though the ceiling was blistering. Unit goes back again September 2009 for another roof inspection and photos requested by manufacturer. Ceiling leak detected and had been leaking for sometime by the color and extensive rot. Albany RV will do nothing about the leak and says it must have happened between June and September because of all the rain we had. Manufacturer disagreed but Albany RV would do nothing but be rude. Service manager actually tells us they replaced lots of roofs last year at the dealer. Service manager is rude and does nothing to help the situation. Insists the roof was not leaking in June.

Manufacturer backs its product and decides to not use Albany RV for repairs and tells us they are not happy with the dealership as a whole. Repairs are being done within the next few weeks at a place agreed upon by the manufacturer and ourselves.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   What work? They obviously didn't bother to look at the roof in June when we asked them to. They did not replace the bunk door correctly and we had to fix it ourselves. This one bay lousy "service" center should be closed and someone should give that service manager a pink slip, he is the worst.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/11/2006
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Warranty work....bad board in fridge , loose waste pipes, knobs missing, bezels missing, seat adjustment handle missing, loose shower faucet install, heater duct missing in master bedroom, re-upholstering of dinette area, leak in roof
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I recently purchased a 2007 Coachmen Mirada 310DS. I was leery of putting up a large sum of money sight unseen with RV Direct to order this M/H but I had read many good transactions with them. So I went ahead......

The order came in a week ahead of time and they worked around my schedule for pick up. The PDI went well, but I was surprised at how many factory screw ups and missing parts there were.

Enter Don Bowman, Service tech, that fixed everything that was in eye sight or ordering while I stood there the parts needed from Coachmen. Good Man. Tanks full (gas and propane) and a promise from Don that if there was anything else I found on the ride home or within the next few weeks call him. He also was going to call when my parts got in to the shop to schedule the warranty work.

Over the next few weeks I had the usual and some unusual things happen or malfunction. Called Service dept and left a message for Don. He called back at the end of the day (4:00PM) apologized for calling late, that he was prepping 4 other units and took my info down. He called me twice to give me status reports and I received two letters from the service dept as parts were arriving into there shop.

Scheduled an appt with the service dept, who stated they were very busy with winterizing but as a customer with a problem they would get me right in.......???? haven't heard that in many years.

Brought the Mirida back up to them and they asked when I had to have the m/h back as I told them I was leaving for SC and FL for Thanksgiving. They told me they would have it done by then, basically three weeks out.....They had it back to me in two weeks all repaired( I also ordered the trac vision R6 satellite Dome which they installed ) above satisfaction and they even pointed out a few repairs that they found hidden here and there...Great service.

In short it is very refreshing to be treated as a valued customer (even though this was an Internet transaction), to be greeted by name when I arrived, follow up calls, follow up letters, and the very professional Mr Don Bowman that really cares about the customer....period.

I am also in a service related industry and I manage 125 people, the care and respect that I was given and the follow up by this company, and by Don was over and above. I am in no way associated with this company but just wanted to publicly say thank you and they have earned my business. I bought an entry level m/h and you can guess when I want to move up, who the call will be to. Thanks Guys.

  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
  Email Address of Reviewer:   mgrscc@aol.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/20/2006
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   had to have a crack fixed on the side panel next to BR Slide it took two months for them to finally get it sent back to Indiana, when Albany did the work it was some of the worst craftsmanship I have ever seen and it was embarrassing to us as customers to pay that kind of money for a 5er and once they make the sale it seemed like we did not matter to them anymore
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Like i said above one of the Most disgusting fix we have ever seen on a camper and it is worse when you try to ask them a ? and they say they will get right back to you and never call back, and when you do talk to them all we got was oh I'm sorry I forgot all about that.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor



Page last updated: 4/26/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster