RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Mike Thompson RV
13940 Firstone Blvd, Santa Fe Springs, CA   90670-5808
(562) 921-0955
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 33.886428   Longitude: -118.034877
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/28/2017
  Company Contact:   Jim Norris
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   As part of sale contract, replace drive side windshield, fix cruise control, replace interior engine hood seal and missing
parts, install magic key anti-theft system which stranded our RV when it stopped working, allowing us to purchase at the
cost, hydraulic levelers, gas struts for bed lift and storage doors. The day after delivery we also found that all window
locks were broken, entry door latch not working correctly, dashboard A/C blower motor only worked on high, head lights not
working properly (safety item), slide out awning topper missing interior clock stopped working, and CD player stopped
working. Grinding noise when steering wheel is turned full to the left. After 4 month, we still don't have the registration
and license plates.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The replaced the drivers side windshield and after 4 months, reimbursed use for the headlights, magic key system, interior
engine hood repair, and cruise control. Their service department is seriously lacking and they short cut the repairs.
Definitely not happy with them.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/21/2016
  Company Contact:   Mike Thompson
  Work Done on:   Tow Vehicle
Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Install brake controller and trailer wiring, pick up new travel trailer
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I have been looking for a travel trailer for a couple of months and decided Mike Thompsons website showed several models that were exactly what I wanted
with regard to size and pricing. I am happy with the trailer purchased it is just what we wanted. Prior to going to the dealer my wife read the dealership
reviews and recommended I find some other dealer since there were so many negative reviews especially for the Santa Fe Springs location. I assured her
everything would work out fine and that I was going to shop at the Fountain Valley location. Arriving at the dealer I was greeted by very nice RV consultant,
Linda Sergio. I finally settled on a 2017 Keystone 1750 and started the paper work with the finance manager John Canteo who was also nice and
informative. My vehicle was not fitted with a brake controller or the correct wiring harness so we scheduled an appointment to have it installed the same
day I was to pick the trailer up. I requested an appointment after 12 noon since it was going to be on a week day and I didn’t want to leave work too early.
John suggested 11 o’clock would be a better time and gets me out earlier so I wouldn’t have to deal with traffic, he stated it should only take about 3 hours
and I should be out around 2 o’clock, I agreed to the 11 o’clock appointment time. The trailer was going to be transported to the Santa Fe Springs
location. I arrived just prior to 11 and found Linda who walked me to my trailer so I could go through the orientation and learn all the features and how to
work them she then took my vehicle keys and said she was going to give them to service so they could get started on my vehicle right away. After spending
about 45 minutes going through the orientation I asked the gentleman about possibly installing a TV mount and he said we could check with service at
12:30 when they get back from lunch. I inquired if everyone in service took lunch at the same time; he stated yes they all take lunch from 11:30 to 12:30.
I asked if my vehicle was being worked on and he said probably not. We concluded the orientation and he instructed me to go back to the sales office so I
could finish my paper work. I walked by the service shop on the way back and noticed my vehicle parked outside of the garage and had no work performed
yet. I was very upset with this, thinking I could have stayed at work longer to complete things I needed to get done if I had not agreed to the appointment
time John had given me. When I got back to the sales office Linda escorted me to John’s office to sign paperwork. I was again very upset and asked why he
scheduled this time if no one was going to be working on my vehicle for an hour while at lunch. He said “I told you it would take 3-4 hours didn’t I?” I told
him the time is not the point; I could have taken a later appointment and not taken off work so early if nothing was going to be done. He called the service
shop and discussed this with them acting as if he was going to stop their lunch and get them working right away (which of course didn’t happen). I told
him how he just wasted an hour and a half of my work day and he was not the least bit concerned or apologetic about it and only wanted to proceed with
paper work. I finally calmed down enough and proceeded. I signed all the documents except for initials on to lines which john directed me not to until I
received the trailer and acknowledge its condition. After we finished he directed me to the outside waiting area which is basically a covered drive through
garage. The date was 7/21/16 which happened to be very hot, 99 degrees in Santa Fe Springs that day. I sat in a hard plastic outdoor chair for 4 hours in
the heat with no one giving me an update or estimate on my vehicle. Of course I became extremely irritated again. Finally just after 3 o’clock, Linda came
out and said we should walk down to the service shop because they should be done any time now. As we approached the service area she walked me to the
parts office, held open the door and pointed to a waiting area with comfortable chairs, TV, magazines and refreshments saying I could wait there while she
checked on my vehicle. I said “you have to be kidding me; I’ve been sitting in the heat for 4 hours on a hard chair when I could have been relaxing in an
air-conditioned waiting area this whole time!” Linda had no comment and walked off to the service area. I stood there in amazement wondering how a
place could stay in business this long with such bad customer service and lack of concern as to the comfort and dealership experience for the customer. A
few moments later I saw Linda walking back towards the sales area so I ran out and called out to her asking what’s going on? She turned and said to just sit
in there and someone was going to let me know when my vehicle was ready. Now I was well beyond upset, this was just too much. I yelled at her and told
her this was the worst experience ever, don’t you care about customer service? She turned and walked off. I walked back to the parts office and waited
about 15 minutes then walked over to the service garage to check on my vehicle myself. I found my vehicle with two mechanics standing outside of it
talking. I asked if my vehicle was ready and they said yes, so I asked why I’m still waiting and they said the vehicle was ready we will drive it over to the
trailer so I could hook it up. I walked over to the trailer and found the gentleman who was going to how me how to hook up the anti-sway and stabilize
hitch I purchased. About 15 minutes later my vehicle finally arrived and we started the process of hooking it up, took about 30 minutes so he could explain
everything and direct me in the proper way to connect the stabilizers, again outside in 99 degree heat. During this time John had arrived at the trailer and
was watching. When we were complete and I was ready to leave, john approached with paperwork and said “I need you to sign this paper that you wouldn’t
sign earlier” I said “what are you talking about? You told me not to until I took receipt of the trailer” he said “I’m kidding” I completely lost it at this point. I
yelled at him, asking if I looked like I’m in the mood to be kidding. You leave me in the heat for 4 hours, no refreshments, no one to check on or update
me and you think I want to stand here and joke? I told him what a jerk I thought he was, he has no concern for customers or people in general and he
ruined what should have been an enjoyable purchase. He had no concern just wanted me to sign the paper. After getting home un-hooking the trailer
and relaxing a bit, I decided to go look things over. I was in the vehicle looking over the break controller and reading the operating instructions that came
with it to learn how it works, while reading I found the installation instructions which clearly states to mount the controller horizontal and must be parallel
to direction of travel, which mine was not installed that way. It is mounted crooked and pointing at an angle. After that I decided to look over the wiring for
the trailer connection and discovered what a terrible and un-professional look the wiring had, with wires running through the engine compartment and tied
off to engine components. Mike Thompson RV is a horrible dealership, with un-professional, non-courteous staff and deserves every bad review they get.
If not for the booming RV interest and lack of local dealer’s I’m sure they would not be able to remain in business. I would Hope Mr. Thompson respects his
name enough to correct these horrible business practices. As best as I have tried I have not illustrated just how bad this dealer is. Do not shop Mike
Thompsons RV, it really sucks! I should have listened to my wife’s recommendation and searched for another RV dealer.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/27/2013
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   I wish I could say the work was done, but these guys are so incompetent they can't even get the parts ordered!!!!
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We purchased a 2013 RV here back in November. We were promised some things would get fixed/taken care of. After nobody from their "amazing
customer service" team that they claim to have on their website would return our calls, I escalated it to the service manager. John Thompson
(assistant service manager) assured it would get taken care of. Well another month has passed of their "amazing customer service" and still
nothing has been done. They are always "going to look into it and call me back" and nothing! Ive also been told a few times that the seat cover we
are waiting on has been ordered and they will call us when it comes in. Well I follow up with a phone call and I get the same thing, we'll look into it
and call you back. Aside from that, our new RV is already in for service at the Ford dealer for a dead battery and a faulty fuel gage. STAY AWAY
FROM THIS PLACE!!!!!!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/1/2011
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Replaced back up camera, repaired electrical, repaired generator, minor body work.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I picked the coach up after being in the shop for 2 weeks. It was clean and ready when I arrived. All repairs were done correctly and the body work turned out great. I would recommend anyone to use their service
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/1/2005
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   I bought a new Itasca from them in Oct. I finally received the coach after all the work was done in Dec. 2005. The issues I had were factory issues that could have been addressed in days instead of weeks/months. On more than one occasion, after calling them several times, they would tell me to come pick up the rig. Then would call back and say that they forgot to order one more piece and that it would take weeks to get. Even after Winnebago customer service had authorized overnight deliveries. They tried to charge me for some of the deliveries. On one occasion, I did not know until I arrived that they had not even started work, even after they said it would be done by that evening. My feeling was that they had no interest in full filling the work contract. They had no regard for the new owner (me). And they were very unprofessional.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Once the work was done, it was done satisfactory
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Good
  Email Address of Reviewer:   sfriend@parker.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/7/2005
  Company Contact:   Kevin Jennings
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Misc. warranty work
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent work and more impressive is the Adviser Kevin Jennings and how he works to complete the repairs as he promised. Also he is very helpful when trying to explain what the coach problems are.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   sdrd1@sbcglobal.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/23/2004
  Company Contact:   Doug Stewart
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Shimmed microwave oven to stop squeak in mount, fixed bubble in vinyl floor.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Tried to charge me $190 for warranty work even though I had personally cleared it with Fleetwood Customer Service per MT's request and had Fleetwood rep call Doug Stewart voice mail authorizing service. They lost my Class C rig for 40 minutes. Warranty period has now elapsed, will never deal with MT again, atrocious treatment, previously held rig one month for factory recall to fix overhead cap, long waits despite appointment/promise times is typical. Fleetwood has little control build quality and dealer repair service.
  Value of Service:   Good
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/1/2003
  Company Contact:   Laura
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Headlight Alignment
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They kept the coach for 2 weeks first visit, when picked up headlight alignment was worse than when it was left there. The coach was not safe to drive in the dark the alignment was so bad! They had the coach for 4 more weeks and didn't even look at it until the morning I was to pick it up, reported that there was nothing wrong with headlights and didn't fix anything. When I arrived to pick up the coach, I was forced to wait almost 4 hours, they lost the keys! I was asked to have someone bring the extra key from home. There was no one available, so after a considerable wait, I was given a ride to my home by the service writer to retrieve the key. I was not compensated in any way for their screw up and I still had a coach I couldn't drive after dark so our weekend trip had to be cancelled. I downloaded a headlight alignment procedure from the internet and spent 30 minutes aligning the headlight myself. When I confronted the service manager I was told that they had qualified technicians perform the alignment with a $4,000.00 piece of equipment so they were standing by their technicians word that there was nothing wrong with the alignment. You can see the problem at http://www.grifftek.com/pace/hl/

  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor



Page last updated: 11/22/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster