RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Beckleys Camping Center
11109 Angleberger RD, Thurmont, MD   21788-2502
800-615-6171
Email Address: sales@beckleysrvs.com
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 39.5443143   Longitude: -77.4249519
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/9/2017
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Total survey of our 2007 Newmar Essex to ensure our safety and
check out general usage.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They claim to have a Maryland State Inspector working for them and
the only thing he found wrong was the need for a new exhaust
system. We authorized the work and it seems to be acceptable
based on additional work we have had to have done at other facilities.
The sealant job was okay. Places were missed. There was water
coming in at 2 places on the roof that they should have found and
fixed. The passenger chair would not lock. We asked them to look at
it. We know they looked because they charged us $64 and broke the
footrest. They did not fix the locking problem and left a scotch tape
fix we think someone else had done to the electrical connection. Our
first trip out an AC cover they were supposed to have secured blew
off. There are many other examples I could share but will end with
the worst. Our tires were out of date, the brakes were worn out to the
point that one of pads were laying inside the drum, the rotors were
cracked in many places, the shocks were gone and there was a bolt
pushing down on one of the tires when we hit a bump. We learned of
all this after driving out to Cape May NJ, down the east coast to FL,
out and back from Waco TX and up to Charleston SC. How we did
not have a blowout or other serious mishap we'll never know but are
very thankful did not occur. How could a MD State Inspector not have
found problems with the brakes, Never ever would we go back to
Beckley's or have anything positive to say about them.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/12/2016
  Company Contact:   Tim Hampton
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Detailing of a used RV we had purchased from this dealer.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We were very pleased with the TLC while detailing our newly purchased RV. The salesman, Tim Hampton, and the service folks worked very hard to prepare
the vehicle for us. Thanks to the whole Beckley's group for a job well done.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
  Email Address of Reviewer:   wrshiflett@frontiernet.net
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/12/2016
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   General spring check up
Asked to repair leak in baggage area
Asked to evaluate awning arms and provide part numbers
Asked to repair A/C leak
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   If you are a woman, I believe you will get royally
ripped off. General check up told me things I
already knew. Had asked them to check
refrigerator wires to see if they were ok. Asked
them to check brakes, and check awning arms
which were damaged from wind. (I had asked
when I made appointment if they did this, and
was told 'yes.' When they were done, I was
told arms were fine, and they do not check out
refrigerators more than to see if they work, and
I would have to hire a mechanic to have brakes
looked at. Told them there was a leak in
baggage unit and where it was. Could not find it
until I, myself, turned on water. Then they found
it-allegedly fixed it, and it was leaking again in a
week. After looking at awning 3x and saying
arms were fine, I guess they finally actually
tried to extend arms and found what I had said
all along. Duh. Asked them to list parts so I
could get what was needed. Eventually came
back and told me the awning was 'obsolete' and
no parts were available. I later contacted
Carefree and got all parts needed. Oh, they
also removed significant air from tires, saying
they should be at 85 which was on placard by
driver's side. However, tires had been replaced
with a larger tire and at least 100 psi was
required-confirmed by several other RV
mechanics and an inspector. Possibly
dangerous to drive home with 85 psi. Also
wanted to replace roof for $11,000. Yeah, it
needs work, but no leaks and other, cheaper
methods, are being used on this 1999 MH. So,
I spent over $800 there and learned that my
stove and refrigerated worked and had some
new bulbs put in. Also told them a ceiling air
conditioner was leaking. They didn't see it, so it
didn't exist. Later had gaskets replaced which
fixed problem. I could go on....if someone wants
to see the paperwork, I can prove a good bit of
this.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/30/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Warranty repair on slide, dashboard, fabric
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   This is not a friendly, honest dealership. We were put off time after time. Our rig sat in their lot for 3 months for minor repair work. Work was incomplete and
repairs did not hold up. Poor workmanship, poor customer service and downright disrespectful.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/17/2014
  Company Contact:   Paul Chamberlain
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Winterizing, water leak test, check water pump and sealing the roof. Paul Chamberlain sold us our trailer and provided exceptional assistance than and even
now. Still answers questions when they arise and makes suggestions for service i.e. water leak test.. Glad we had it done, had an unknown water leak.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Work completed when promised, Service staff was professional and pleasant to deal with especially Vanessa. Very pleased with overall experience. Will
return.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/2/2014
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Several keystone warranty issues including floor bolt popping, ceiling joint separated, bedroom window adjustment, and one cabinet door repair.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Time schedule worked fine and have had no complaints since repaired.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
  Email Address of Reviewer:   shepherdsacres@juno.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/16/2013
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Repair items under warranty. Routine Service.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Job was done well. Very professional and courteous staff. Work completed when promised. This is the second RV I have purchased from this dealer
and have been impressed each time with the sales and service.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/8/2012
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   The day I picked up my Fifth Wheel I was having a hitch installed in my truck. The installation took longer than expected because a part needed for installation was not available and someone from the installation crew had to drive somewhere to get the part.

I had a milk crate containing wheel chocks in the bed of my truck. The installation crew removed it from the bed while installing the hitch. When I was on the way home I realized that this had not been put back in the truck. I called and was told the crate and wheel chocks were found and would be held for me to pick up. When I returned to pick up the crate the wheel chocks were not in it. Some Beckley’s employees looked for them and found the wheel chocks in a garbage can. If I had been a day later the wheel chocks would have been discarded.

After getting the trailer home and preparing it for our first trip I found some problems. A plumbing connection under the kitchen sink was leaking. The drain from the shower was leaking into the storage compartment. A seam on the bottom of the shower stall was not sealed and allowed water to leak into the storage compartment. The biggest problem was with the fresh water holding tank. There was a thick black slime in the tank. Pieces of this slime were being drawn through the pump and into the plumbing causing the faucets to get clogged. I called to report these problems and spoke with someone in the service department who suggested how to fix these problems. Teflon tape and silicone sealant fixed the leaks. After multiple times filling and flushing the tank, and sanitizing with bleach no more slime has appeared, although there are still some small dark flakes drawn from the tank when using the water pump. I will not use water from this holding tank for drinking or cooking.

The first time I towed my trailer after picking it up I got a message on my truck’s information center to service the trailer brakes. I tried the brakes and they were not working. Per the instructions in the truck owner’s manual I turned off the truck and disconnected the trailer wiring. When I disconnected the trailer the inside cover of the cap on the newly installed trailer connection in the bed of my truck fell out along with the screw that holds it in place. I replaced the cap and screw and the trailer brakes worked. I thought that maybe the loose screw had somehow caused a problem in the wiring connection because the brakes worked OK after that. Later the service trailer brakes message appeared on my truck information center while no trailer was connected. I took my truck to my local Chevrolet dealer to check this problem. It was determined that the problem was caused by the improper installation of the fifth wheel wiring harness by Beckley’s. I incurred an expense of $253.34 for this repair. While I think it would be a reasonable request, I am not seeking restitution for this repair, but I certainly wanted to make Beckley’s aware of the improper installation. A serious accident could have occurred if the trailer brakes had failed while towing the trailer. Under those circumstances there could be liability issues for improper installation.

I returned the fifth wheel for warranty repair work on 7/28/12. I received a call on 8/15/12 that the repairs were completed and made arrangements to pick up the trailer of 8/17/12. I was pleasantly surprised that all repairs had been completed under warranty and the deductible charge had been waived. Upon checking the trailer the radio was still not working properly and the latch on the medicine cabinet in the bathroom was not repaired. A new latch was installed on the medicine cabinet in the bedroom, but this cabinet latch was working OK. Several other items were properly repaired. I left the trailer at the service department so that the proper repairs could be made. The trailer was finally ready to be picked up on 9/8/12.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   After the experiences with the installation of the hitch I will certainly not have any additional equipment installed by Beckley’s, and will certainly not recommend their installation department to anyone. I doubt that I will be using your service department in the future, mostly because of the distance from my home.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/8/2012
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   The day I picked up my Fifth Wheel I was having a hitch installed in my truck. The installation took longer than expected because a part needed for installation was not available and someone from the installation crew had to drive somewhere to get the part.

I had a milk crate containing wheel chocks in the bed of my truck. The installation crew removed it from the bed while installing the hitch. When I was on the way home I realized that this had not been put back in the truck. I called and was told the crate and wheel chocks were found and would be held for me to pick up. When I returned to pick up the crate the wheel chocks were not in it. Some Beckley’s employees looked for them and found the wheel chocks in a garbage can. If I had been a day later the wheel chocks would have been discarded.

After getting the trailer home and preparing it for our first trip I found some problems. A plumbing connection under the kitchen sink was leaking. The drain from the shower was leaking into the storage compartment. A seam on the bottom of the shower stall was not sealed and allowed water to leak into the storage compartment. The biggest problem was with the fresh water holding tank. There was a thick black slime in the tank. Pieces of this slime were being drawn through the pump and into the plumbing causing the faucets to get clogged. I called to report these problems and spoke with someone in the service department who suggested how to fix these problems. Teflon tape and silicone sealant fixed the leaks. After multiple times filling and flushing the tank, and sanitizing with bleach no more slime has appeared, although there are still some small dark flakes drawn from the tank when using the water pump. I will not use water from this holding tank for drinking or cooking.

The first time I towed my trailer after picking it up I got a message on my truck’s information center to service the trailer brakes. I tried the brakes and they were not working. Per the instructions in the truck owner’s manual I turned off the truck and disconnected the trailer wiring. When I disconnected the trailer the inside cover of the cap on the newly installed trailer connection in the bed of my truck fell out along with the screw that holds it in place. I replaced the cap and screw and the trailer brakes worked. I thought that maybe the loose screw had somehow caused a problem in the wiring connection because the brakes worked OK after that. Later the service trailer brakes message appeared on my truck information center while no trailer was connected. I took my truck to my local Chevrolet dealer to check this problem. It was determined that the problem was caused by the improper installation of the fifth wheel wiring harness by Beckley’s. I incurred an expense of $253.34 for this repair. While I think it would be a reasonable request, I am not seeking restitution for this repair, but I certainly wanted to make Beckley’s aware of the improper installation. A serious accident could have occurred if the trailer brakes had failed while towing the trailer. Under those circumstances there could be liability issues for improper installation.

I returned the fifth wheel for warranty repair work on 7/28/12. I received a call on 8/15/12 that the repairs were completed and made arrangements to pick up the trailer of 8/17/12. I was pleasantly surprised that all repairs had been completed under warranty and the deductible charge had been waived. Upon checking the trailer the radio was still not working properly and the latch on the medicine cabinet in the bathroom was not repaired. A new latch was installed on the medicine cabinet in the bedroom, but this cabinet latch was working OK. Several other items were properly repaired. I left the trailer at the service department so that the proper repairs could be made. The trailer was finally ready to be picked up on 9/8/12.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   After the experiences with the installation of the hitch I will certainly not have any additional equipment installed by Beckley’s, and will certainly not recommend their installation department to anyone. I doubt that I will be using your service department in the future, mostly because of the distance from my home.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/9/2010
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Oil/Lube/Filter, check air filter and fluid levels for rear axle, front wheel bearings, and hydraulic fluid. In addition they were to run my automatic levelers thru a couple cycles to see if they were working correctly.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Was assigned a trainee and his instructor. Bill was $375. Totally ridiculous! Beware of this service center!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Fair
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/14/2009
  Work Done on:   Pop-up Trailer
  Service Performed:   Bought 2009 Coleman Niagara new at same dealership - A/C unit replaced day of sale, got it home and refrigerator didn't work, right sidewall bulged out when leveling unit, awning cover leaks, backing peeling off curtains, hitch bent, wheel well gasket missing, rear shelf unsupported, shower stall wall warped, various stripped screws, seat cushions worn through, leaking light covers, the list goes on!
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Refrigerator repaired, sidewall waiting on Coleman to authorize repair, awning cover still leaks Coleman states no repair necessary, curtains on back order for over three months and still waiting, hitch repaired, wheel well gasket waiting for Coleman authorization to repair, rear shelf they said it was repaired but it wasn't, some stripped screws repaired, leaking light covers repaired but found another light cover cracked, shower stall wall not repaired.
  Value of Service:   Fair
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/9/2009
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   SALES and SERVICE Review: Excellent RV dealer/service center. We bought a new class A from these folks and were great to deal with from the start to finish. After searching for over a year, we found "the one" on their lot. The sales person and manager were not pushy at all and gave us our space. they went out of the way to accommodate us. Everyone had smiles on their faces at this dealer! Made us feel like family! Thanks Beckley's, you did much for us and we expect you will in the future as well! "The Baker's"
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   PDI on a new CLASS A. Excellent staff and great attitudes!!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/23/2007
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Bad stabilizer Jack replaced-Warranty
Cabinet door and trim loose-Warranty
Door catch repaired-Warranty
Maxx air vent installed
black tank flush installed
Levels installed
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Everything looked great. The black tank flush look like it was factory installed. I am glad I had them do the work instead of me poking around like Tim Taylor.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/15/2006
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Water leak, Broken fan, Damaged sofa fabric, just to start. New unit 6 month old. Taken in twice and nothing has been completed yet. Keep getting a run around like parts are still order and can't seem to find the problem.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They damaged and lost personal items. Never touched some of the repairs they said they fixed. This is the worst experience I've ever had with a service department ever. Its not the mechanics, its the Management.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   creativesource@msn.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/12/2005
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   I purchased this motorhome at another dealer. Beckly's is the closest Fleetwood dealer but doesn't sell the model we wanted. Every time I go there the first thing they ask is did I buy from them. I took it in because I could not get the ESN out of the satellite radio in order to start my free subscription. When I returned to pick it up they charged me $40 and told me they found no problem and left the instructions (that they took out of my owners book) on the seat. I asked to talk to the manager and was told he wasn't in. I drove home and called the service manager the next day. I then had to make a second trip back there to show him it didn't work (50 miles). They then ordered a new satellite tuner and it took a third 50 mile trip back when the part came to get it replaced!
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I had to diagnose the problem and show it to the service manager to get it fixed. They SUCK! Then I didn't get my money back until the repair was completed (third trip). They also claimed to but didn't repair some other minor issues they where supposed to repair. I don't think they could fix a peanut butter sandwich.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   dar5@adelphia.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/5/2005
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Repair/Replace NAV system, Fix door squeaks, Adjust basement door latches, Install CB.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent



Page last updated: 9/22/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster