RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Mike Thompson's RV
920 RV Supercenter Drive, Colton, CA   92324
909-825-2433
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 34.0739016   Longitude: -117.3136547
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/15/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   repair slide
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   It took them over 6 months to fix the slide. They kept telling me that the manufacture kept sending them the wrong parts. A
week before Christmas I checked with them and the parts still had not come in. I told them that I would be picking up the
motorhome on Monday to go on vacation for Christmas. when I got home an hour later I got a call that the parts were there
and they were the right ones, it would be fixed in two days. long story short, When I got home I noticed a puddle of oil
under the engine, when I checked it the oil filter was one full turn loose. While we were camping I was running the
generator and noticed a puddle of oil under it. I checked and the oil filter was one full turn loose. That is just a number
of things that I found wrong. I would not take my grandsons tricycle to them for repairs.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   defluiter@verizon.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/14/2015
  Company Contact:   Chuck Crawford
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   To remove a workstation from our 2015 40AH Phaeton then install a dinette. Chuck Crawford in the service department told us this work could take up to a
full day or longer if any items were omitted from Tiffin's delivery. Chuck personally choose Adam to provide the labor.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   This work was completed well within the time constraints expressed by Chuck, Adam's attention to detail was exemplary in both the workstation/dinette
exchange and the cleanup. Additionally, Chuck spent about 45 minutes bringing us up to speed on our RV's systems and he has assisted us via text, voice
and email in resolving a few issues we've experienced while on the road from California to Houston, Tx to visit our grandchildren.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   bobflyfish@sbcglobal.net
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/17/2013
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   We were headed back to Phoenix from WA, with our last stop being at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, CA for the last IndyCar race of the year. In the
evening before we left our final campground before heading down into Fontana, the front steps decided not to work. I thought it might be the motor
or something like that, as they'd partially close/open, but never really complete the cycle. In the morning I called down to Mike Thompson RV, told
them what I thought my problem was and asked if I could get in real quick since I was on the road. The service rep told me to come down and they'd
see what they could do. When we got there, the service rep got a tech and they came out to look at my steps. Then the tech went back into the shop
and returned with a can of lubricant, sprayed it on the pivot points, cleaned them up a bit, and voila, my steps were working again. When I asked the
service rep for the bill, he said, "No charge, but why don't you tip the tech by buying him lunch."
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I know it wasn't a major repair, but they could have charged me some large minimum labor fee or tried to hoodwink me by saying they had to change
out the steps or something like that. I really appreciated their customer-friendly attitude and the fact that they diagnosed and quickly fixed my problem.
BTW, I now lube my steps every few months!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/28/2013
  Company Contact:   Michael Burdette
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Completely clean rig inside and out, wax body; remove interior control knob and make cover; cut access hole in closet and make access door;
evaluate and perform any services required on all systems.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We were charged $625 for interior cleaning that turned out to be shampooing the carpet and cleaning the couch and pillows, and cleaning all
valances, and cleaning the inside of the shower. Faucets still had calcium on them, the inside of the microwave was not touched; the toilette room
was not touched; the outside of the shower was not cleaned, the slide out pantry was not cleaned, the entry mat was not cleaned, and the entry
floor slide was not cleaned. Worst part was the sellers had given us two logoed wine glasses and hats plus a stuffed beaver, all which were
removed from the rig and thrown out! A CD holder with 20 CDs along with the six that were in the dash disappeared. The interior control knob
was removed and a "cover" was made out of a bright white plastic was screwed over the hole in the light oak wall. It looks horrible! The access
hole and cover were not done. When I called and discussed the poor cleaning, it was blamed on the fact that they didn't have time, even though
they had the rig for the 3 days agreed to, in which they said they would complete the work. I wish there were a worse rating than poor.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/25/2009
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Repair back up camera, rear bed support broken, holes in floor. Find fresh water drain. Electrical panel door falls off. TV selector panel loose.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Everything had to have parts ordered. As of today 10/30/2009 no parts have been ordered for camera, bed repair or electrical panel door. I have been lied to for weeks by them. Do not go to Mike Thompson RV. Worst service I have ever had.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   canamjohn@verizon.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/27/2007
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Both times I took RV in to have warranty items repaired.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   First time taking new RV to Mike Thompson for warranty service, after RV in for service (5 weeks), not all work completed. I took RV back for 2nd time to have previous unfinished work completed along with four other warranty items to be fixed. I was informed the RV would be ready in three weeks. I received no call after three weeks so I called for an update. I was informed that all repairs were completed. Five days later I drove the 100 miles to pick up my RV. I found that 2 of the 5 items were not completed as I was previously told. The service guy told me that the parts were not in, but as far as they were concern the RV was ready. He offered to have the parts shipped to me so I can install them. I told him that I was not taking the RV until all repairs were completed, he told me that management says they will not store RV's waiting for parts. Both times taking the RV in for service, the attitude was poor, the service was not completed as I was informed.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/23/2006
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Warranty Repairs - Shower Leak, Window failed to shut, Molding replacement, minor repairs, replacement of chairs due to finish being removed, and installation of slide toppers.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Absolutely horrible!!!! Don't buy anything from Mike Thompson RV....we took our new 43,000 dollar fifth in for warranty work on 6-23-2006. Chuck Crawford told us no problem with repairs..done in two or three weeks....we ordered slide toppers. We picked up trailer on the 15th of July to go on vacation. Repairs not done...said parts were on order. Two slide toppers installed...one had a rupture in the topper at the time of pickup...and no time to leave it..as we were going on vacation.... Came back from vacation....now its September 8th, 2006 and guess what...all the parts aren't in. Called over the course of two weeks...Chuck..who doesn't return calls by the way...finally spoke to me, after I yelled at another serviceman (I called back and humbly apologized)but nobody calls you back...they are always in a meeting or with a customer...Chuck said the parts took two or three weeks and they would send us a letter. I told him it has been 11 weeks...he checked computer...said a couple parts came in, but didn't know what they were. I called the trailer manufacturer...guess what..Mike Thompson ordered a minor part only...and the trailer manufacturer has no record of any warranty claims for the remaining items. They tell you anything at the moment to get you off the phone or out of their hair. When we picked up our trailer on July 15th, ...there was a couple who had left their trailer for repair and it had been 3 months!!!!! Another couple came to pick up their trailer...but it couldn't be found at the lot!!! These people truly provide the worst service I have seen in many years. Their service manager Dale Henner(? spelling) doesn't return calls either. DON'T SAY YOU WEREN'T WARNED...DON'T GET ANYTHING FROM MIKE THOMPSON RV....and oh, by the way...I ordered a hitch for my trailer from the manufacturer..Mike Thompson wanted to charge me over $300 for it....I went to the trailer manufacturer's site...(Nuwa Hitchhiker II LS 2006) and discovered they sold it retail for ....$162 plus $55 shipping..when I brought this to the attention of Mike Thompson...the parts guy lowered the cost to $162....that tells ya something!!!! We also had a small hole in the linoleum "repaired"....they stripped the finish off a 20" x 20" section of the floor..it feels like sand paper now..I could go on but why....these are the most feckless I've ever come across and unfortunately the "poor" rating is a gift in comparison to what it should be....which is below.
FECKLESS Pronunciation[fek-lis]
–adjective 1. ineffective; incompetent; futile: feckless attempts to repair the plumbing.
2. having no sense of responsibility; indifferent; lazy.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/4/2006
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Repair a minor roof leak.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Very Poor after 2 years of trying the leak was never fixed by Mike Thompson's RV.

I took it to Altman's (next door to Mike Thompson's RV) and they used the right equipment and fixed it in two days - on schedule and under warranty. Go to Altman's for your Winnebago/Itasca service.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   NasaMan444@aim.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/1/2005
  Work Done on:   Class C
Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Radio kept shorting out, shower leaking, no battery in the clock in the motorhome, cabinets not closing properly, cabinets kept falling out, awning binding when pulling it out.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Bought a Travel Trailer from them and had an OK experience. I had my license plate stolen, which they never took responsibility for. Many of the repairs took at least 2 visits to get fixed. We then purchased a Class C motorhome from them. That was a major mistake. The sales person was rude before we even bought the unit. I was considering refusing delivery and walking next door to buy from Altmans. I should have. The coach was riddled with problems and they never fixed them. We refused delivery twice until I got tired of it and then decided that I would just fix them myself. My wife refuses to buy anything from them or have the motorhome serviced by them. I have had good luck with RV Solutions in Colton. Unfortunately, they no longer do warranty work for Fleetwood.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/22/2005
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   2005 Keystone Zeppelin Z241 brought in for scheduled appointment to repair minor water leak at 6-way fresh water connector in bathroom. Leak discovered first day I had the TT, took 3 weeks to get an appointment to take it back in.

Connector is located UNDER the shower pan, cannot be reached through trap door at front of shower pan. I was told repair would require removing shower enclosure, fixtures, drain, and shower pan - which was why they could not perform the repair the first time I took it back to the Service Dept.

Instead of performing the above procedure, the technician CUT A VERY LARGE JAGGED HOLE IN THE LAMINATE BATHROOM WALL, SO HE COULD REACH DOWN AND TIGHTEN THE 6-WAY CONNECTOR! The hole is located on the wall under the shower pan. No attempt was made to then repair or seal the wall. The hole measures approx 5" wide and at least 5" tall. It appears he partially removed or pulled back the shower enclosure, reached in and cut the hole, so he could reach his hand down the wall and tighten the loose water line!

When I dropped off the TT, I also asked that they make a few minor repairs, such as replacing the waste water drain pipe and cap, secure the sensor wires and hose under the unit, do some caulking.

Unit dropped off Tuesday 9am, promised Friday close of business. I called at 9am Friday, told to call back at 2pm. Called back at 2pm, was told only the leak was repaired because "a lot of our mechanics took off for the Laughlin Nevada motorcycle run". I was also told that I could do some of the requested repairs myself, such as the caulking and securing the sensor wires!

I WILL NEVER, EVER USE THEIR SERVICE DEPARTMENT AGAIN! And yes, I am contacting Keystone and sending them photos of the hole in my wall.

Their service departments get poor reviews from customers, against my gut instinct I took my TT to them only because they are the only authorized service dept for warranty repairs on the Keystone Zeppelin. I gave them the benefit of the doubt, and they totally screwed up.

  Evaluation of Service Performed:   HORRIBLE.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/13/2003
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Fix the power steering return hose that was not connected correctly after they replaced the power steering pump and it blow off its connection and made a mess and dumped all the power steering fluid that was in the system all over the motor and undercarriage of the coach.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Very Very Poor Job!!!
They kept the coach for 5 months and crashed it 3 times while it was there and they will never see this coach again.

They did not even fix it right and I had to take it somewhere else to get it fixed right.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor



Page last updated: 10/17/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster