RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Camping World
3891 I.H. 35 North, New Braunfels, TX   78130
1-888-446-4290
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 29.736205   Longitude: -98.072702
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/5/2016
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Had 4 new Goodyear G614 tires installed. While not their fault, I literally got a flat on the way home (screw thru tire) during the repair of that tire, the road
tire technician found the tip (a piece of nylon plastic about 1" long) of the tire installation machine inside the tire.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The screw that I picked up that caused the flat tire was a stroke of good luck, because that tip of the installation tool would have damaged the tire inside
until it failed, likely at speed and likely in a catastrophic manner. This was a potentially dangerous situation. Additionally, they used "equal", a sand like
product that is supposed to balance the tire. While an OK idea, they used a pack of E rated tire product, the problem with that was that the tires they
installed were G rated, needing a G rated bag of "equal". Less of big deal than the tip of the tire tool deposited into the inside of my tire, but worth noting.
  Value of Service:   Good
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/7/2015
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   A/C, HWH, battery service and repair.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   David is a very knowledgeable tech. He is dedicated to providing excellent customer service. Paired with Jeremy, service writer extraordinaire, they are a
dynamic duo.
  Value of Service:   Fair
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/4/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Asked if they had a technician that could handle a satellite antenna install on 7th answer no only Friday. I agreed and we set a price of 2160. I had the coach
there at 8 am. Work couldn't start until the tech finished previous job. Work started about noon. It did not get finished and I had to come back 2nd day.
Work was still not done and they charged me an additional $534. Work is still not done although tech says he will come to campground and fix right.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The big question. why does service manager makes promises and does nothing when says he is a tech?
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   mccoy2000@verizon.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/12/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   I took my Class A Thor Challenger in for warranty work (two screens popped out, the USB ports did not work, plus the drivers chair would not rotate cock
wise and bay door replacements (road hazard - deer at 5a.m.,on three bay doors. Replace Jensen radio since I lost my cameras which I wanted to work along
with the radio which did not operate.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   It took them 3 months to repair. They did an excellent job on the bay door replacements. All other bay doors have scuff marks on the inside of them (how
did that happen?). The warranty repairs were done properly and corrected. However, checking out my MH prior to driving away, I noticed that the bathroom
door would not close, the separate shower door would not open, plus whoever was inside my MH used our toilet and the black water is full, along with
urine stains all over the toilet. I had dumped the black water and gray water prior to dropping off my MH because I was a bit worried about it sitting for at
least 3 months and did not want the smell when I picked it up. The gray water tank is now also 2/3 full. Plus my roof top A/C's do not work. I have not
extended the three sides, yet. I sure hope those work. I was just to mad to stick around and let them repair it for another three months. I had just bought
my MH in Jan 2015, took it into Camping World on Feb 9 and didn't get it back until May 11. Their service people are friendly and courteous. And when I
showed them the problems (even though I was very mad) they remained calm and asked me to return to get the problems fixed since they are still under
warranty. Ah, HELLO!! These repairs now needed are due to your fault not warranty repairs. A supervisor should have checked my MH out prior to releasing
it to me. Will never go to Camping World again.
  Value of Service:   Fair
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/30/2012
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Removed old, broken back up camera and installed new system, including camera, cable, and monitor.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We drove 250 miles to have this Camping World do the work because of their high ratings. What a disappointment - they must have new supervision somewhere. We showed up
at 8 AM for an 8 AM appointment scheduled some time in advance. Tech met us at the service desk at 8, told us 3 hours to do the work, and we thought the deal was done. Service writer annotated our work order as "Customer Waiting." We returned at 11:30 (3 1/2 hours) and were told
"there was a satellite emergency and the tech was pulled off your job. He's working on it now. 2 more hours." What the h#ll is a "satellite emergency?" OK, stuff happens; not upset. Returned at 1:30 (2 1/2 hours) and learned that the tech had been completely pulled off our rig by the shop supervisor and work had NOT EVEN STARTED! Now I'm UPSET. Manager was rude and arrogant, offered a half a## apology, but did fix the problem, sort of. Put 3 techs on our rig to do the work. Our 11:00 AM finish time wound up at 4:15 so we couldn't leave today as scheduled. I will say when the techs finally got to it the work was done very, very well - fabricated a mount and installed the new monitor in the space for the old, fat monitor - well above and beyond what I expected. What we thought would be a simple, short term fix turned into a whole day ordeal requiring much yelling to get the work done. By the way, we were 1 of about 4 or 5 couples who had been promised earlier completion times who were still waiting at 4 PM. POOR POOR management. We will NEVER return here.

Update - 4/1/2012
==================
This is a follow-up to my review of yesterday citing my horrible experience at Camping World New Braunfels. There is a large poster in the store with the e-mail address of a
senior executive (CEO??) at Camping World, inviting you to contact him in the event of a problem. I sent him an
e-mail explaining what had happened and I am totally overwhelmed with his response. First, he replied within 10
minutes of my e-mail even though he was on an airplane at the time. Then, in addition to offering profuse apologies from several senior people, he told me Camping World will
reimburse me the full cost of the backup camera plus provide $100 for fuel. We've also been invited to a
Good Sam Rally as his guest. He has assured me this isn't the way Camping World does business and that he will
take steps to make sure this kind of problem doesn't happen again. I don't think we could possibly ask for more than that. Camping World screwed up big time, but they are more than making it right. I think the Camping World response to the problem has been much more than fair and I have to revise my review to say that I would certainly go back again.
  Value of Service:   Fair
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   pjcurry@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/1/2008
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Replacement of roof, antenna, several vents, skylight...due to whacking into a bridge in town! The weather was not great and they put the trailer inside so as to not do further damage to the interior. Also they kept us plugged in so we didn't spoil our refrigerated foods. Reyes went above and beyond to get us home before our medical insurance expired. He delayed his holidays to get the job finished. Talked to the manager as we figured we would be delayed over two weeks.
Awesome job!!!
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent job. We also enjoying talking to the fellow in the lobby that greets the customers. He was very helpful in letting us know what to see in the area whilst we waited for repairs to be completed and our roof to dry before heading back home to Ontario through the flooded north east into Canada.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   dk.weber.ca@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/5/2007
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   New tires & valve stems, microwave and toilet; utility trailer bearing seal fixed and new hitch installed
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I called ahead to get a price quote on new tires and to be sure they had the tires in stock, made an appointment for a couple of days later (I was traveling). I arrived the afternoon before and parked in the parking lot. They do have power hookups but they were full up. The next morning they took me in on time and added several other items to the list. I pull a small utility trailer and knew at least one of the tires needed the bearing greased, I wanted to see if they had a microwave that would fit and I asked them to change out the trailer hitch for one I had brought with me that had more drop (to level the trailer more).

I was done late that day and opted to spend one more parking lot night. Next morning I talked to them about an estimate on replacing a seal in my toilet...with the price of a new toilet being so reasonable, I opted to get it changed out. They had an opening that afternoon and I was done in less than two hours.

The only complaint I had was they didn't seem to protect the carpet/flooring from dirty feet or the outside of the RV from greasy hands. I would go back again without any question.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/13/2006
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   We requested an oil change, transmission fluid and filter change, generator oil change and a good thorough inspection for a long road trip.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I assume the changes to fluids got done but we found out later we only got a courtesy inspection. We had requested a complete inspection prior to a 2,000 mile trip. I know for sure that the vehicle was not inspected very well for a long road trip. On the road, we had to have the brakes replaced and one rotor replaced. I know I would have had the expense of the brakes, but not a rotor and not on my trip. I'm not a happy camper. In Denver when I talked to the Denver Camping World people, they couldn't work on my RV for a week and didn't even seem to care!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   kaynrich@austin.rr.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/10/2005
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Bakersfield Camping World manufactured support for HWH Hydraulic jack on left rear bent during use. New Braunfels removed and manufactured new supports for both rear jacks, welded them in place and installed additional mounting bolts to strengthen the installation, all at no cost to use.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   All work was done promptly and efficiently. There was no hassle with Camping World eating the cost. The work area was cleaned up and we were on our way.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent



Page last updated: 9/21/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster