RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Bay Diesel & A/C
101 4th St. NE, Red Bay, AL   35582
256-356-8803
Email Address: cmorr@hiwaay.net
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 34.4421727   Longitude: -88.1399855
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/1/2017
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Tires, shocks, big engine, GENSET - fair, honest, know their stuff and you can make appointments.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent - discovered a simple problem with GENSET that Cummings missed for 5 years!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   grunderwood@aol.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/25/2017
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   #1 cylinder sleeve in 400 Cummins had to be replaced due to the rubber gasket on sleeve having been rolled out of it's grove
during engine assembly. Head machined and valve seals replaced as well as all crank and piston bearings. This problem was
found during an oil change at Bay Diesel when the oil came out and looked like lumpy maple syrup. Chris knew immediately
that anti-freeze was getting into the oil and suspected a sleeve seal. Also had to have #1 cylinder counter bored as it was
pitted where the sleeve sits in the cylinder.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   This happened in April, probably Red Bays and Chris's busiest time of the year and they were kind enough to work us in, as we
are full-timers. They did a great job and have since driven over 2000 miles and no sign of oil usage or having to add anti-
freeze. Have used Bay Diesel probably five times in the last 10 years living in our coach. We are just glad we found this
problem while in Red Bay and at Chris Morrow's place.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   jpgclg@gmail.com
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/27/2016
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Chris and the guys at Red Bay went out of their way to diagnose and fix our air conditioning system. The A/C system had multiple problems requiring
separate visits.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   All work was done in a timely and professional manner and at a fair price. I'd highly recommend them.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   steveterribv@aol.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/18/2016
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Needed air checked in all tires. Changed 2 valve stems added and charged me 149.50. I about fell on the floor. It would have been nice to know that they
were going to charge 105.00 hourly rate to check air pressure. Not happy.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   At least they were fast. 15 to 20 min. For 149.00
  Value of Service:   Good
  Quality of Service:   Good
  Email Address of Reviewer:   Bolnduo@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/20/2016
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Purchased diesel fuel treatment for algae problem.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Even though it was just a sales transaction they were more than willing to offer advice to help correct problem with the algae in our fuel tank.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   dbspitler@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/12/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Problem with an engine squeal above 2k RPM. Engine belt a year old had about 10k miles. Freightliner of Hartford and Freightliner, Gaffney inspected belt
and drives, couldn't find problem.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Tech (Thomas) stayed on this issue till resolved!!! He just wouldn't let it go till fixed. Pulled out, cleaned, and inspected belt tensioner, no joy after test run,
pulleys inspected, no joy after test run, Third test run pulled belt and inspected under high intensity light. Well, well, found tiny specks of stone grit
imbedded in belt grooves. Replaced belt and to date, no more noise above 2k RPM!! Fee charged was a lot less than the actual time spent troubleshooting.
These guys were way more persistent than the other two service centers.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/5/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Oil Changes to Ford V-10 Engine, Onan Generator, Lube Chassis, add suspension enhancements, Koni shocks, Sumo Springs, Safe T Plus steering stabilizer,
and rear Roadmaster Sway Bar. Repaired dash transmission indicator.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Could NOT have been done better!!! Chris Morrow and his crew did an excellent job. Have driven over a 1000 miles since his service and additions—what an
improvement in handling. Would highly recommend Chris and his crew for any and all Chassis and engine work.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   tbyec1@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/29/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Could not put air in rear inner tire. I paid this dealer $$$ to do the Freightliner 6 month check. One of the items was to check tire pressure! Chris (bless his
heart) charged me $105.00 to put air in my tires! This was part of the 6 mo check that I also paid for. Arguing with Chris will just get you an attitude!
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Charged me$105.00 to put air in my tires that was part of Freightliner 6 month check! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/28/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   6 month service, oil change
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Horrible!!! After the service they sent me on my way with the oil cap off! I took my new coach to have it washed and noticed that the oil cap was off! If you
want water in your oil, let Bay Diesel do a job on you! AVOID--AVOID---AVOID
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/30/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Came to this Freightliner dealer with an ongoing warranty issue on a new coach leaking power steering fluid all over the place. The fix, cleaned reservoir with
a can of brake cleaner! He charged me for this BS repair instead of going to Freightliner for warranty and direction. At my request, Freightliner sent a new
reservoir.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Cleaning my power steering reservoir would never fix this on going warranty problem. I don't know yet if the new reservoir will fix the problem BUT at least
we have done something to resolve this on going nightmare.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/6/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Needed evaluation and repair of a noise near the front driver side tire. I have called several times of the months and they refuse to provide information or
return my motorhome. Legal action pending.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   No work has been completed in 7 months.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/15/2014
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Repair dash A/C that Freightliner dealer damaged and couldn't repair. 12 month engine and generator service.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Freightliner dealer damaged both hose connectors when replacing failed compressor, then could not do the repairs needed. Freightliner didn't have the
necessary hose connectors for SIX WEEKS. Bay Diesel ordered the parts and when they came in replaced the connectors and re-charged the system. Works
better than when new. Also completed the required 12 month service on the engine and generator.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   lryrob@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/15/2014
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Annual service and oil change on generator on Tiffin Phaeton.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Super. Done rapidly since they put 3 mechanics on it. Noticed a pinched air hose that was leaking a little, and repaired it. Balanced the wheels and aligned
the wheels. Price was reasonable. Friendly staff.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/28/2014
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   24 month chassis service on Freightliner and generator service. In and out in under three hours. Great waiting room and pet friendly. Great staff....
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent work and good value
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/21/2013
  Company Contact:   Chris Morrow
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Engine, generator and dash air. Have done all engine, generator and chassis maintenance done here.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Always friendly fast and efficient. Great service at great prIces
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   marty@mccauley.ws
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/4/2013
  Company Contact:   Chris Morrow
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Service engine and generator, oil changes, complete check before long trip. But, these people have done all sorts of maintenance on my Tiffin
Allegro.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Everything is done right and you will not find nicer, more polite and honest people anywhere. There was a small incorrect charge on an invoice and
the owner's wife had a refund off to me the same day. Their services are always reasonable in price, unlike some competitors in Huntsville or
Florence. Glad they are here.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   geraldcraw@hotmail.com
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/7/2012
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Annual Freightliner service plus two new tire valve stems and coolant change to final charge.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Overcharged by four labor hours based on standard estimate from FL Gaffney and bill evaluation by another FL shop. When pointed out, would not correct the bill. Eight hours labor for a coolant change is excessive! Would never
leave our motorhome there without watching again. And, would require a written estimate before hand and use of the FL checklist all the while observing their work. As a customer for five years at Bay Diesel, I became too trusting. Burned once is too much!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Fair
  Email Address of Reviewer:   bc357fox@yahoo.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/17/2012
  Company Contact:   Chris Morrow
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Engine oil change, generator oil change, leaking axle seal replaced, air conditioning vacuum pump replaced.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Wonderful experience. I drive 3 hours from Birmingham to Red Bay to have Chris Morrow at Bay Diesel do my service work. I drive by several shops to do business with him.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/1/2011
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Annual chassis service, engine/transmission/generator, fluids and filters, etc...
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Schedule was met and job done efficiently and quickly in a couple hours. Price was competitive. Nice folks, and handy to Tiffin factory service center.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/24/2011
  Company Contact:   Chris Morrow
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Annual maintenance on rig to include engine, chassis, and generator services.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent job and pricing. Rig was dropped off and done in a few short hours. Techs explained what was being done and followed an established "check sheet" as prescribed by the coach manufacturer. We will definitely use Bay Diesel for future service.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/6/2011
  Company Contact:   Chris Morrow
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Oil, grease and filter changes plus air filter on my Cummins 400ISL; fuel filter for Onan generator; 60K mile/48 month chassis maintenance check.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   As usual Chris and his mechanics perform well; even found several loose hose clamps; I have had service done regularly at this shop since 2005 and always have been pleased with their performance.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   chapstick502-misc@yahoo.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/13/2009
  Company Contact:   Chris
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Freightliner chassis, Cummins ISL 400 - oil change, lube, fuel filters

Onan 7500 Quiet Diesel generator - oil change, fuel filter
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Chris and his technicians are the best, they know what they are doing and do it quickly, correctly and at a very reasonable price. Bay Diesel does warranty work for Freightliner, Cummins and Caterpillar.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   garymkrieg@yahoo.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/4/2009
  Company Contact:   Chris Morrow
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   15,000 mile service on Cummins Engine.
Service on Generator
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent work fast service at a great price, I would recommend them to anybody.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/21/2008
  Company Contact:   Chris Morrow
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Oil Change and Lube
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We have had our 2003 Phaeton for about a year and this was the first service that we had gotten. They were real good about inspecting everything and performing service as needed. We felt like they had our best interest in mind instead of just going through the motions.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/31/2006
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Replace secondary fuel filter
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I did most of my PM myself, but the fuel filter was just too hard to get to for me to change. Recently while in Red Bay I stopped by Bay Diesel and asked them to change it while I went to lunch. I supplied the filter. It was ready when I returned. They only charged me 15 minutes labor and their labor rate is very reasonable.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/29/2005
  Company Contact:   Chris
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Solved problem preventing exhaust brake activating. Obtained and read wiring diagram for coach. Searched wiring and found broken harness connector. Replaced harness connector with soldered connections at my choice.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent, service oriented business, very fair charges for extent of work completed. Took unit back to facility 6/2/09 for Onan Generator service, also done professionally and at GOOD Value rate.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/19/2005
  Company Contact:   Chris Morrow
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Did the Freightliner M2 and M3 maintenance, the Freightliner/Tiffin recall , diagnosed A/C problem and check engine and transmission codes
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent! Their prices are reasonable and the quality of the work performed is first class. If you are in the area and need service this is the place to go for your Freightliner service.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   garymkrieg@yahoo.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/27/2005
  Company Contact:   Chris Morrow
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Oil & filter change, fuel filters, grease and PM Maintenance. Repaired turn signal lever & power steering pump.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   This facility was recommended by Tiffin motorhomes & receives lots of their work. They did my maintenance timely and "cleanly." They found leaking power steering pump and repaired it, also repaired Freightliner chassis turn signal lever which others had failed to do. While doing my paperwork they identified that there is an overheat modification to my Cummins ISL motor and has ordered the parts for that.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   chapstick1502@yahoo.com



Page last updated: 12/16/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster