RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Tom Johnson Camping Center
Speedway Blvd, Concord, NC   28027
(888) 450-1440
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 35.359761   Longitude: -80.692874
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/21/2016
  Work Done on:   Toad
  Service Performed:   Installation of towbar base plate, toad wiring.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Other than taking a long time, which was expected, the installation went well, and the technician was very helpful and knowledgeable when explaining all
that he did.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/9/2016
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
Tow Vehicle
  Service Performed:   Accepted us as an emergency case, despite being heavily booked. Traced a problem with the water heater (electric and propane). Provided a solution at a
very reasonable price. Compliments to Eric Gray in particular. Helpful, considerate and courteous throughout. A pleasure to work with him.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Good, timely. The solution was actually not the right one, although the water heater worked for a while after the fix. It turned out that the heater was not
earthed, and this was preventing the heater from initiating the process. Once discovered, the solution was a ten-cent screw.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
  Email Address of Reviewer:   peter.edwards@muri-be.ch
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/10/2009
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Took the motorhome in to have the engines serviced and generator service and to have the chassis and undercarriage, suspension and all checked as well as the brakes. They did a sorry job, kept it for a week, once I got it back, I heard a bumping and knocking sound in the front. Went to a tire place to have a tire put on the front, and asked them to check the front. We were told that the Sway Bar Bushing were totally gone and needed to be replaced. Tom Johnson also did not check the coolant tank that was broke, had we asked them about it to. Tom Johnson does not do what they say, what work they did, I was charged $700.00, they are to high and will not go there again.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Will not do what you OK them to do, and charge to much
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/27/2008
  Company Contact:   Dave Grisham, service manager
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Repairs to motorhome jack leveling system. Cartridge valve and coil needed to be replaced. Company got job approval from extended warranty company. Proceeded to order wrong parts. Tried to get resolution thru service adviser, no resolution. Went to service manager asked for his help 4 weeks ago. Now 12/19/08, still no resolution. Screwup by service department now has extended warranty company balking because of increased cost of parts. Lousy service, colossal screw up! (See update below)
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Other work performed was satisfactory. This job : POOR.

Update:
=======
VP Service evidently saw my complaint here and contacted me the next day. He took on the problem, and although it took 3 weeks, he satisfactorily resolved the problem. I'll re-evaluate my overall grade to "Satisfactory", based on his efforts. Thank You.

Evaluation now Satisfactory. Just took too long to get item resolved. Therefore the ratings below as noted.
  Value of Service:   Good
  Quality of Service:   Fair
  Email Address of Reviewer:   ssbn601bco@aol.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/19/2007
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Had engine & generator serviced. Another RV shop had connected our towing setup. One of the connectors was in an awkward place.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The techs at Tom Johnson's worked quickly and professionally. The connector was moved and really makes hooking up our tow car much easier. This is the 2nd time we have used Tom Johnson's for service and will do again.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   npohan@aol.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/2/2007
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Repair rotted front interior wall on used trailer they sold me three months earlier "as is" and salesman told me there were no serious problems found during their presale inspection. After my first camping trip with the trailer the front window leaked and I found the front wall was rotten and had soaked insulation. They only agreed to pay for half of repairs.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They did a pretty nice job fixing the top part of the wall but evidently did not even check the lower part of the interior wall for wetness. After I got the trailer home I found that the lower section was also soaked and had started rotting. I do not trust them any more and feel like a sucker.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/1/2006
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Furnace would cut off after 5 seconds running, leaking leveling jack, replaced table/chairs with booth dinette, winterized unit for us.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent service. It took a little while, simply because they were searching for leather for the back of the booth that matched exactly to what we had in the motorhome. They also filled our propane without charge since it took a bit to find the fabric. They assign a specific person to each rig they work on so you have a name to ask for, and that person is on top of the progress. Our impression was that they were concerned with doing the work right the first time, communicated frequently, were responsive to our concerns/needs. We've finally found the place we will always take our rig for service. We had not winterized the unit, and while it was there we experienced a cold snap down into the teens. We stopped by, explained our concerns and they assured us they would work our motorhome in that day and winterize it. They were obviously very busy but did get our unit winterized. So far we have been very pleased with them. We bought the unit from them used and prior to delivery they went through it and fixed everything they found that was not working properly - even went as far as placing latches on the drawers that prevents them from opening while going down the road.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/20/2006
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Recall service on 2004 Workhorse W22 fuel rail damper retainer clip. Stopped here while visiting family. I had called ahead to let service dept. know that Workhorse had NOT sent me the replacement clip because they did not have me listed as the current owner. When I arrived for appt. they had a replacement clip attached to the work order! It took 15 minutes and I was on my way.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent. They planned ahead and were ready for me when I arrived. Contrast this to my negative report on the Marion, NC Tom Johnson center!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   gorwig@cfl.rr.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/28/2004
  Company Contact:   Jeff Wilkins
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Purchased a pre-owned Bounder Diesel Motorhome, unit was in very good condition, salesperson was very conscientious and courteous, final price was very good, and the few issues with the motorhome were addressed quickly and fixed with a smile :) Everyone, from management on down was great. Parts dept well stocked and well staffed also.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Fairly new, extra clean and well organized dealership with a huge inventory and excellent service facility along with very well qualified technicians. No short cuts here, it's fixed right or not at all.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   rripley@comporium.net



Page last updated: 6/24/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster