RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Cherokee Farms RV Center
12738 County Road 65, Foley, AL   36535
251-971-2598
Email Address: cherokeefarmsrvcenter@yahoo.com
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 30.4099660   Longitude: -87.7148240
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/28/2018
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   DO NOT USE THESE GUYS...THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING, THEY LIE, WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR WORK, WILL DRAG IT OUT FOR A
MONTH OR MORE AND DO NOT CARE ABOUT THE CUSTOMER. EVERYONE I'VE DEALT WITH IS VERY LACKADAISICAL. THEY MAY FIX IT AND MAY BREAK
OTHER STUFF THAT WILL COST YOU MORE.....AND TELL YOU IT'S NOT THEIR FAULT......

Tuesday 8/28/18 (made the appiontment on 8/22/18)
Mason and Aaron came out and did a diagnosis, cost $ $268.50. They spent 1/2 hr reversing the chassis battery leads which I insisted were correct, only to
put them back the way they were after identifying nothing was wrong. I was told 2 solenoids need replacing, as well as the power transfer switch, which
went out when they were writing up the bill. Paid $417.47 before parts could be ordered.

Friday 8/31/18
Mason came out and replaced transfer switch and when breaker was turned, it blew a wire in the electrical panel and blew the microwave. Mason said it was
a bad transfer switch, he would order another He also said he would replace the microwave at their expense. I told him and everyone in the office, that I am
staying in a hotel and it's costing me for every day that the work gets delayed. No sense of urgency. No one cared.

Tuesday 9/4/18
Aaron and another guy replaced the transfer switch, when breaker was turned on, the surge protector kicked the power off. The one guy said the power
readings were wrong, I checked breaker panel and there was a wire blown. My friend who owns it and his electrician said they were just in that box and the
wire was not that way before the bad transfer switch was installed. The electrician fixed the wiring and when power was turned on, everything was working.
I said 'great, now just replace those solenoids and we'll be done.' The guy said that the solenoids were bypassed so that was not the issue and that they
had to go because of the storm.

Wednesday 9/5/18
I called to see if they were open after the storm and Glenda said yes we're open and the weather was fine. So I asked to have a mechanic come out and was
told no, because of the weather...?!?!?!

Thursday 9/6/18
Mason and Aaron rediagnosed and 5 HWH hydraulic solenoids were bad, and they may have some in stock and they would let me know...This means....I
paid $268.50. on 8/28/18 for a misdiagnosis which causes me to stay in a hotel unnecessarily for another week. Also, when I asked Mason about the
microwave, he said they will be ordering one. So 1 week after the microwave was fried, they are 'still going to order one'. I waited almost 2 hours. for a call
back, did not get one, so I called and new girl said they have 4 in stock and need to order another and could have it on Tuesday 9/11/18 and would
schedule me for Wednesday 9/12/18. So another week in a hotel... What frustrates me is if the diagnosis on 8/28/18 was accurate, I would not be waiting
another week paying for a hotel, it should have been fixed by today.

Tuesday 9/11/18
Have not heard from them as of 4:40pm so I called. They said the part did not come in.

Wednesday 9/12/18
They said the part will be in late today. I told them I could not afford to stay in a hotel anymore, and that I am staying with a friend in MS, so I could not be
back in time and that is IF the part comes in...I was told the microwave came in but it was the wrong one, so they are working on getting the right one
sent..

Thursday 9/13/18
Mason came out and replaced all 5 hydraulic solenoids and a fuse, Jacks and slide out are now working. So at least now we can drive and stay in the RV. He
said he had to measure the space for it and will then get it ordered. I am trying to leave town but now am waiting on the microwave.

Monday 9/17/18
Amber says she found a microwave and it will cost me $508. I said no that’s not what Mason said. She said Bobby (owner) will call me when he gets off the
phone.

I have a fried microwave and was forced to stay in a hotel for 5 additional days unnecessarily because of an incorrect diagnosis. I still need my generator
looked at and fixed and Mason said there may be a short in the electrical that needs looked at. I would like to drop off my RV when we get this resolved….

Please help me resolve this.

Monday 9/17/18 - After 45 min waiting for Bobby to call me, I called back and was told Bobby was busy and would call me when he's freed up. So I drove
to their office and had a meeting with Bobby, and had him read all of the above.

After reading it, he said all of this was caused by the bad electric panel I plugged into. I told him the 1st transfer switch had a surge protector that failed,
and that fried the microwave. When the 2nd transfer switch was installed, the surge protector kicked in and would not let the power fry anything, unlike the
first one, so this was not my fault.I finally convinced him that the 1st transfer switch installed blew the microwave. His response was it still was not his
fault, it was the manufacturer's fault and the manufacturer needs to pay for it and he will contact them.. I looked up the warranty on the part it says that
they will not cover any other part that gets fried from their part......Bobby also said that they understand urgency and it was not their fault they had to
order the part and it took 1 week. I told him it could've been installed a week earlier had the diagnosis been correct. He said all of his guys do a good job.
He said all he could do for me is install the new microwave (that I do not have) for free and do a free diagnostics on the generator and then we would work
something out. But they can't get me in for 2 weeks. He also said they never ordered a microwave, even though I was told the wrong one came in.

So, I get a free diagnostics if I stay at my RV park for 14 more days at $25 per day. That's $350 for waiting. OR I could bring it to Foley RV in 3 days and
pay them $100-$200 which is what I'm going to do. I've had enough of these guys.

Never heard from Bobby again....
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Slow, lied, wasted time, will not stand behind their work, doesn't seem to know what they are doing.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/15/2017
  Work Done on:   Class B
  Service Performed:   Replaced seals on exterior windows and
replaced rubber hinges on storage
compartments. Also replaced fridge and built
custom cabinet.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent service. Friendly and on time.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/21/2016
  Company Contact:   Bobby Tarver
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Reinstall cabinets that had fallen down, repair dryer, install microwave, install Fantastic Fan.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   While other repair facilities were telling us we'd have to wait 2 to 8 weeks for service, Bobby had us come in the next day! He gave us priority because we're
full-timers. The guys did an excellent job and had the work done in one day.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/21/2016
  Company Contact:   BOBBY TARVER
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Replaced cracked fresh water valve to toilet.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent work. Great people and nice facility. Highly recommend them. A great experience.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   EZSHARP@MSN.COM
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/20/2015
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Installation of Onan 5500 generator and surge protector.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent work at a fair price
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/30/2015
  Company Contact:   Bobby Tarver
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Front driver side window replaced.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Could not have asked for a better level of quality for this window replacement. Not only did he show up when he said he would, he actually arrived at our
campground site an hour early. This is a big plus for me when picking any contractor, and doing it at our location was even better.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/9/2014
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Measure broken window.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   TERRIBLE. Visited the shop, boss examined the window, made appointment for Tech to "stop by" and measure so they could order replacement.
Tech stopped by, measured then presented us with a $90.00 "non-refundable" bill for service call. After paying, Cherokee said, sorry company policy.
Rip off. I will continue to shout to the heavens about Cherokee's poor business practice.

Update
====
Owner must have a conscious for he returned the 90 bucks Still will never return there for service.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   moundstation@hotmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/10/2014
  Company Contact:   Mr.
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Seems that these folks are best suited to cosmetic types of repairs, as most of what was going on were new RV tops, removing Diamond Shield, paint and
body work.

The techs are pretty young, and not much grease on the floors, so that's what I saw.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   An electrical glitch was over-ridden, but not diagnosed correctly. Being electrical, many diagnosis' can be guesses at first, but we didn't have time to wait
for them to get around to it. Expect most phone calls to go to voice mail.
  Value of Service:   Good
  Quality of Service:   Fair
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/1/2012
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Repair slideout toppers
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Outstanding!!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent



Page last updated: 11/15/2018 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster