RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Tom Johnson RV
1885 US 70 West, Marion, NC   28752
1-828-724-4105 1-800-225-7802
Email Address: dkiillough@tomjohnsoncamping.com
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 35.6982432   Longitude: -81.9809652
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/5/2015
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Structure damage to front of camper
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I wouldn't take my kids bicycle to get repaired at Tom Johnson! These guys have no idea on how to communicate to customers, keep a schedule or how to
ensure that customers are treated correctly. We took our camper to them for some repair work to be done with the promise that it would be ready in 6-8
weeks! This should have been the sign to tell us not to use them but since the camper was bought from them I assumed, HUGE mistake, that they would be
able to get the parts in quickly and perform the repair work quickly and correctly. Needless to say that after 4 weeks and not hearing from anyone at Tom
Johnson, I called only to find out that after receiving the incorrect parts from "their supplier" it was going to be delayed. I could have understood the
incorrect part being shipped once or maybe even twice but when I called, notice I said "I" called, for a fourth time, I was advised that the supplier shipped
the incorrect part again!

After a short discussion it was apparent they were not willing to take any of the blame for the mistake or even have any since of ownership of the issue.
Each time the part was incorrect it of course created delays that they didn't seem very concerned about? Not one time during this process were we told they
had not tried to expedite the incorrect part to shorten the repair time nor did they even have the common courtesy to call and let us know without us
having to call to them to ask for updates. The overall Service Staff has a very non-concerning tone and donít really seem interested creating a positive
Customer Experience. There were at least three times when I called I got transferred to the incorrect person and a couple of times that I simply got hung up
on. The Service Adviser that was our contact, which I will not name, was very condescending and arrogant and lacked the "common courtesy" that the
people at the local grocery store have and he didnít seem to care anything about our looming camping trip that they were disrupting. This was the worst
experience I personally have ever had with any repair/service shop and it will be the first and last opportunity that Tom Johnson will have to get our
business. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone for anything period!! Oh not to mention the fact that the day after we got the camper home one of the
tires were flat due to a screw, from their shop area, stuck in the center of the tire! I emailed the "Service Manager" about this and his reply was simple "have
you plugged it"? You would think that after 5K in repair work they would at least offer to replace the tire....still waiting on that response, what a JOKE!!! If I
could give them a zero I would!!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/15/2014
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   We have had a variety of work done at this dealer and have always had good results. They have performed both routine maintenance and repairs for us.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Very good results, we have been pleased with their service and we didn't even buy our rig from them.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/20/2011
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Fix leaking toilet.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I had called on 10/19 to schedule an appointment and was told I would be able to get it done same day. I drove over 100 miles to dealership and was then told that I would have to come back in the morning. In the morning, sat for 3 hours before they began the work, even though they had told me the day before that I would be seen as soon as I arrived. Once they began, it took less than 30 minutes to fix. They charged me a 1/2 hour for diagnosis and another
1/2 hour for repair plus parts.

The workers were friendly, but price was unreasonable. The wait would not have been as much of a problem if they had been more forthright about it. This place is very busy and
the service department seems to be chaotic and unorganized. Also, it appears that the service department and the parts department are completely disconnected and don't even talk to each other, as there is much confusion and miscommunication between the two. No one appears to be in a hurry. If you come here looking to get something done, plan on spending the day, regardless of what they say.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Fair
  Email Address of Reviewer:   robintapp@insightbb.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/16/2009
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Remove main slide out, replace trim strip at edge of tile, reinstall slide out
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The motorhome was purchased new from Tom Johnson in Marion, NC in June of 2007. A plastic film which was put on at the factory to protect the flooring was not completely removed during dealer preparation. This film subsequently became entangled in the rollers under the galley and caused the breakage of the trim piece at the edge of the kitchen tiles. Tom Johnson RV would not accept responsibility for this damage. The repair of this damage required the removal of the slide out section from the coach body. We decided to have Tom Johnson RV, who was rated as one of the best dealers in the country, make the repair.

The coach was delivered to Tom Johnson on Nov. 16, 2009 for a repair that was estimate to take 4 days plus the time needed to get the parts. On Nov. 18, I was told the slide had been removed and the needed parts determined and ordered from the manufacturer of the RV. On Nov.25 the manufacturer told me the parts hadnít been ordered until Nov 24. The parts were received Dec. 3 and the coach was ready for pickup on about Dec. 8. A closer inspection after I got home (130 miles from Marion, NC) revealed several significant oversights in the work that had been done.
- The water supply valve for the refrigerator had been relocated behind a panel such that it couldnít be reached or turned on.
- The slide out storage boxes had been relocated such that the door latches bound on the hardware on one side and failed to catch on the other side of each door.
- One of the 2 bolts that the back side of the storage boxes hang from was not reattached.
- The Service Representative was told that the coach was winterized when it was delivered to them. They put water in the system to test their work, left it in, and didnít tell me. Temperatures were below freezing for several days after I picked up the coach but luckily no damage was done before I discovered this error.

When the coach was picked up basically looked good, but a couple of parts around the sink were broken or missing. The service rep said these would be ordered and shipped directly to my home in SC. They were not shipped to my home but were shipped to my mail forwarding service in Texas where I had them refused. After some delay they were reordered by Tom Johnson and shipped to SC.

I ultimately fixed all of the above problems myself. I asked for advice from Tom Johnsonís Service Department but they refused to discuss them with me and said Iíd have to bring it back to them and theyíd fix them.
  Value of Service:   Fair
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   gcgravlee@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/6/2009
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Repaired braking system, total brake failure. They replaced the master cylinder, rear brake pads and an axle seal and repaired hand parking brake.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Work had to be scheduled 3 weeks out due to volume of service appointments but it was evaluated on it's scheduled date as promised. Work was performed promptly, professionally and they completed it under the estimated cost and earlier than expected. Very happy with their quality and communications. They called about 2 weeks after the service to ensure we were completely satisfied with their company.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/15/2008
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   It was our first long/winter trip and the batteries had run down. Couldn't figure out why. They showed me a circuit breaker I didn't know existed and charged the batteries. Also worked on a noisy furnace.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Absolutely Wonderful. Sat in a gorgeous lounge, internet, huge TV and lunch counter, while the service Foreman stopped in every now and then to fill us in. Stayed in their campground that night. After hookup, furnace still noisy. The sent a guy over in his own pickup and he fussed with it for 30 minutes. Total bill - $65.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   criswel@mchsi.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/1/2008
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   We purchased a used RV from Tom Johnson, they serviced it, oil Changed and check all fluid levels. I did not request that the transmission fluid to be changed, that is not part of regular service. The miles on the RV was low and by miles the transmission was not due for a change. When we left there we drove it about 120 miles and the transmission changed very hard, we had about 15 miles to go and it did it again a mile from our home.

I called them the shop returned my call very quick, I told the Manager it did not look like transmission fluid, he said I will send a man down there and bring everything to change filters, and fluid (about 130 miles)
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   That afternoon a service Man pulled in to our drive way, checked the fluid it was not red and had a bad smell. After draining the fluid he checked it some more and determined it was transmission fluid but it had broken down and was not preforming correct. He changed both filters cleaned everything good and used the very best fluid to refill. He explained what he was doing and was very professional.

Job well done in a short time, about 130 miles from them.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/15/2007
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Hydraulic leveling jacks not working
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I was able to make an appointment in advance for a time to have this repair done. They took my motor home right in as scheduled. They were able to determine the cause of the problem, and make the repairs in a reasonable time. They also determined the repair was covered by me warranty so I did not have to pay anything. Their service work and attitude was excellent. I highly recommend this service center.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/31/2006
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   An unusual report in that although we tried, work was NOT completed on our motorhome at this location. The service dept. was not interested in helping us. We broke down on 10/25/2006 on I-40 near Marion. A brake caliper piston had locked, overheating and damaging the caliper, ABS sensor, and pads. Because of our great experience with the Tom Johnson in Concord, we called the Marion, NC Tom Johnson, a Workhorse service center. The service dept. had no available road mechanic to get our rear right brake unlocked so we could be towed, and they stated that even if we were to be towed to their facility, it would be two weeks before they would look at us. We found a mobile mechanic through our emergency road service and were eventually towed to a nearby RV park which turned out to be a fantastic place (Buck Creek Campground and Driving Range). The mobile mechanic could not get in-stock parts from Tom Johnson or anyone else within a hundred miles, so we sat over the weekend while parts were ordered from Workhorse through Tom Johnson. We decided to check up on TJ on Monday to see if the parts had arrived and the employees of both the service and parts depts. swore they never heard of the name of the mobile mechanic OR an order for our parts. We eventually found Sandra Helms, the parts manager and she turned out to be great ... the only person in the whole service and parts depts (they are apparently run independently) who seemed to care about us. She quickly determined that the caliper was actually in stock, but the pads and ABS sensor would have to be ordered. The caliper was in the Service dept. (those employees swore they had none of the parts!) and I soon had it in my hands. However, I had to pay $116 shipping to overnight the other parts. When we went in to get the parts the next morning (6 days into the breakdown), we found out that the order the mobile mechanic had (supposedly never) placed had arrived the day before. It was, in fact, there when we placed our order! Apparently an employee did not enter the order information properly, so it could not be located when they did a computer search. They did agree to keep the extra parts, but we still had to pay the $116 shipping bill. Disorganized? I never saw so many incompetent employees in one place or maybe two since the parts and service depts seem to be unrelated!
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They were not interested in our business, and the service dept. made that very clear. I sense that selling new motorhomes is the main focus. Until I know things have changed at this facility, I will avoid it. If you go there for parts, be certain to talk directly with the parts manager. She is a good person!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   gorwig@cfl.rr.com
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/20/2006
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   OVERALL CHECK UP AND TUNE UP, INSPECTION, WAS TO BE GONE THROUGH TOTALLY AND MADE SURE IT WAS ROAD SAVE FOR MY FAMILY AND I.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   TOOK ME ALMOST 3 WEEKS TO GET UNIT BACK, PUT A LIMIT OF 500.00 AND WAS CALLED ONCE THAT I WAS CLOSE TO LIMIT AND I TOLD THEM TO PROCEED AND END UP WITH A BILL IN EXCESS OF 1800.00. WAS TOLD THERE WAS FIRE DAMAGE TO ENGINE BUT I DROVE THIS UNIT OVER A HUNDRED MILES TO GET TO THEM WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS, PAID A FEE TO HAVE TIRES CHECKED OUT AND I HAD A BLOWOUT GOING HOME AND WAS LATER TOLD BY THE TIRE COMPANY THAT I SHOULD HAVE BEEN TOLD THEY WERE DRY ROTTED BADLY BUT I WASN'T. EVEN AFTER INSPECTION I HAD SOME LIGHTS THAT DID NOT WORK (TAG, CLEARANCE LIGHT) THE MOTOR RUNS NO BETTER NOW THEN WHEN I BROUGHT IT TO THEM. IT STILLS HESITATE TO CRANK AND THEY WERE TOLD THIS. I CALLED REPEATEDLY JUST TO BE TRANSFERED FROM ONE PERSON TO ANOTHER. I COULD NOT AT THIS TIME RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYONE AND IF YOU LISTEN TO THEIR MESSAGE ON THE TELEPHONE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS NUMBER ONE, WELL THIS IS ONE CUSTOMER THAT WILL DISAGREE WITH THAT. ANY QUESTIONS KENNET9282@AOL.COM 336 973-7247
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   KENNET9282@AOL,COM
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/6/2004
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Propane Furnace would not remain fired up. Trouble shooting revealed that the circuit board controlling the unit was defective.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Work completed in less than 30 minutes. We were worked in by Coach Net. Clerk handling paper work voluntarily checked for warranty and found that the unit was still under warranty (2 years). I walked away without paying a cent.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent



Page last updated: 10/24/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster