RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Camping World
27905 A Katy Freeway, Katy, TX   77494
888-526-6790
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 29.7772379   Longitude: -95.8570296
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/17/2017
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Replace Schwintek slide mechanism
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Had warranty work done on my RV yesterday. I was impressed with
the competency of the technicians, the friendliness of the staff and
the cleanliness of the building and the facilities. I am highly satisfied
with the repair work performed on my coach and have no hesitation
in recommending their service to others.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/29/2016
  Work Done on:   Class B
  Service Performed:   Replace Blown Propane Regulator.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Work itself was very good, however, the efficiency of the Department is very poor. Problem inspected on 08/26. Not in Stock. Received a call on 09/15 that
part was in. Part installed on 09/29. Over one month to install a simple Propane Regulator? All Service work is the same. Not in stock, and two trips to get
the job done.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Good
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/26/2016
  Work Done on:   Class B
  Service Performed:   Replace roof top AC unit
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent Job. Efficient and in a reasonable amount of time.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   jimsr@depressedpress.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/31/2015
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Replaced coach door lock
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   On Friday 31st of July, work was done fast and good. We were on the road within hours. I can not thank CW employees enough who treated us like family
especially Ross Prater who took charge and got us in and out and back on the road to Florida.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   garyperciful1@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/9/2012
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   We brought our RV in for warranty work as it is the only dealership in the area that was on the manufacturer's list of approved sites. We had issues with the hot water heater, a broken drawer and a sticking gauge on the black water tank. While there dropping off the RV, I asked for quotes to replace a bent bumper and to add some sway bars.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I made an appointment on July 3rd with the service department to drop off the RV the following week on July 9th. I was never called to give me pricing on the bumper replacement. Furthermore, I called 4 separate times and days trying to get in touch with their suspension expert to get recommendations and pricing and was never called back. Since they did not want the business, I concentrated on getting the few warranty items corrected and would schedule an appointment elsewhere for the other items. After 3 weeks passed and no contact from the service writer, I called and tried to speak to him and was sent to voice mail. Two days later our service writer called back and was unaware of the message. He called to apologize that they had been busy and that the RV would be repaired the following Monday. After Monday came and went with no call, I tried the location back but was unable to get through as the phone system would ring 6 times and then hang up. I tried all day on Tuesday and Wednesday with no success. On Thursday, the service writer called back and told us we could pick up on Friday. I was informed that the hot water heater was due to a insect and they would have to charge $60 for a hot water heater service to clean it out. They also said that the found no issues with the gauge and had filled up the black water tank fully and that the gauge was working. They said that the drawer was repaired. I called Friday afternoon to let them know we were on our way (a one hour drive) and if it would be possible to pull the RV up so we would not get caught in the afternoon traffic and the service writer said OK. When we arrived, the RV was not out front so we went in to check. We paid the bill for the water heater and went out side to pick it up. The service writer did not go outside to meet us. The RV was filthy both inside and out (we had dropped it off spotless). On the inside the bathroom was dirty and soap and shampoo was all over the floor of the RV. The lock for the shower door was missing and the shower door was off the track. The drawer had been "repaired" by running glue along the crack in the bottom of the drawer! I could have done that! We called back inside instead of taking the long walk back to inform the service writer of the condition. He offered to send someone to clean it up but we declined as it was getting later in the day. We left to go home quite disgusted and stopped in to get gas a few miles down the road. My wife noticed that the RV was not handling well and went to investigate while I pumped gas. She found the black water tank completely full! As we had no where to dump properly, I contacted the service writer at Camping World to find out what happened. He told us that he forgot to dump the water from testing the black water gauge and told us to bring it back and some one would meet us to dump the tank. We arrived a few minutes later and no one was there to meet us. We asked an employee that we found in the parking lot and he went to look for someone. After 10 minutes he returned and said that everyone was gone for the day and he could not help us as that was not his job. We went inside and waited for the service manager whom was with another client. He did not acknowledge our presence but we waited patiently nevertheless. We were quite angry by this point and he assured us that someone was on the way to take care of us. We went back outside to wait. After another 10 minutes, we asked the employee that had refused to help earlier to page the service writer and his manager. We waited another few minutes and finally had enough and decided that since it was filled with fresh water we would dump it in the drain in the lot. Well, it was not fresh..... It seems that someone used the restroom in the RV during the several weeks it sat. We are meticulous with cleaning the RV (which was only a few months old) and especially with cleaning the black tank. We were disgusted to say the least. The service writer finally came out and we asked him to explain all the issues. He took no responsibility and offered no apology. He said that he did us a favor by slapping glue in the drawer because he said we broke it and it was not covered. I would have preferred they do nothing considering the poor glue job. He also insisted that no one used the rest room even though the room was trashed and soap and shampoo had been taken out of the cabinets and left on the floor. Furthermore the lock on the shower was now broken off. We did ask them to fix the gauge on the black tank but I see no reason why they would need to go in the bathroom to do that as the tank could have been easily filled on the flush hose connection on the outside. I wished I had listened to the other review and not gone here at all. I have contacted Jayco and they have agreed to allow warranty service from another repair shop. We have to pay out of pocket and get reimbursed but after this experience it will be well worth it.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/3/2012
  Company Contact:   Jessie
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Living room slide needed new motor and gear box. Kitchen slide needed an adjustment to operate smoothly, was sticking on lower left corner.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   On the kitchen slide, there was a wall which needed to be strengthened and the slide moved over 1/2 inch. The living
room slide motor/gear box was replaced. We did have to suggest a place to find the motor, which was delivered the
next day.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/12/2012
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Install an additional A/C in travel trailer.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We took our 2012 Outback to Camping World in Katy TX to have an additional A/C installed. Having just one A/C didn't cut it. We dropped of our travel trailer and they were to install a 13.5 unit that would have it's own plug to use in addition to the A/C the unit came with. About 5 days later we got a call to come pick i up, that all done. We came in, paid and took her back to the storage lot that we keep it at.

About a month later, we brought the trailer home and plugged her in in our driveway. We have a 30amp on the house, for when we bring our trailer home, and plugged in the new A/C unit as well to try her out. The new unit did cool but we noticed it cycled on and off a lot. After some time I open up the unit from inside the camper and noticed that they didn't even frame out the hole that was made to install it, there was no vent in the bedroom where we had it put in so they had to make an opening in the roof for it. The actually used scrap 2 by 4's to hold up the the roof. Also, the top unit wasn't even connected to the bottom unit allowing cold air to be suck back into the unit causing it to cycle on and off. Nothing was taped with and you can stick your arm all the way in the attic space all around the hole. All the insulation, plywood and aluminum trusses are visible.

I called Camping World and talked to there service manager, also emailed pictures. He was very apologetic and told me that all will be fixed. When I asked how this could have happened, he really had no answer.

Why would an A/C even be put on a camper without completely framing it out first to support the weight of the unit? I'm just at a loss trying to figure out why a "reputable" dealership would even allow this type of work to be done. Oh, and I paid $1600 for this scrap wood and shotty install.

They say all will be fixed, I wonder if I should be owed anything in return. I just wonder about those people that wouldn't even know what to look for and wouldn't have caught this... They say they will make this right. I will get back on here after they "repair" there install and let you know.

Update - 3/2/2012
=================
Well, took the trailer back to Camping World in Katy TX yesterday. Met with the Service Manager, General Manager and tech that will be working on the unit.

While waiting for everyone to get together, I asked the service manager if they had a flashlight since we will be looking into the A/C unit from inside. You would have thought I asked for a lung. I knew this wasn't going to be
a fun meeting. I also asked what happened, why was my trailer returned to me with the job only half completed. He told me that was an internal matter. I asked him again and he said, "I gave you your answer". Nice. So much for
honesty. Hey, anyone can make a mistake right? Why not just say why?

After our flashlight arrived, me, the general manager and the service manager all went inside. The service manager took off the A/C filter and with the service tech looks up into the unit. He tells the service tech, "ok, I guess they
want all this closed up". Really? "closed up". How about "framed out"! I then had to come up to them, reach into the A/C unit and pull out one of those 2 by 4 scraps of wood and hand it to them. It wasn't even attached, just wedged up there to hold up the AC unit up.

Then I discussed with the service tech how he was going to fix this and frame it out. He was the most informative of them all, explaining the fix, what materials would be used. Very nice guy. They could take a lesson from him. I told
him I was concerned about the integrity of the roof since the AC was never framed out. I asked that when I pick up the unit that I be able to go up on the roof near the A/C and try it out before leaving. The Service manager said, "let's do that now, before the fix". With myself, the
general manager and the tech inside, the service manager goes up on the roof and starts jumping up and down HARD all around the A/C unit. You could see the unit on the inside along with the ceiling bouncing! I thought it was going
to fall through! I had to yell out for him to "Stop
It"! Amazing.... It's like he thinks this is all a joke
or something. Oh, and he's a "RVIA Master Tech" according to the brochure. Was that a "RVIA" test of the roof integrity or just being an unprofessional S*B. why take it out on me? What trash my trailer? Shows how much respect he has for his customers and their property.

They say it will all be fixed in a week. I wish I never went there in the first place. All I want is what I paid for. I don't know who the service manager thinks he is but I know I don't have to be treated this way. I do have to add that the CEO of Camping World has been in contact
with me via email. He has also asked to be updated on this as it progresses and told me that they will make sure it turns out good. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor



Page last updated: 12/17/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster