RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Alpin Haus RV
Route 5, Amsterdam, NY   12010
518-843-5900
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 42.938969   Longitude: -74.188929
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/9/2012
  Company Contact:   Erich
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   I just bought it from a guy that said it was in fine shape. I had lots of problems. Went to Alpine House and they fixed me up. They had to order me some parts so I have to go back but they showed me how to use it and what they fixed so far. They seem to know about campers pretty good.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   PRETTY DARN GOOD SO FAR.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   FARMERBOY@NYCAP.NET
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/30/2012
  Company Contact:   Dave
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   My slide out was leaking.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They fixed it while we waited. All others wanted us to drop it off. It cost us over $300 but they did a good job from what they showed me. It was my first time there and their shop is nice.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
  Email Address of Reviewer:   cdragman@gmail.com
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/16/2011
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Delivery / demo used motorhome, inspection ... no check list provided, all required documentation was signed in sales area, prior to demo and practice drives in garage.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Inoperative windshield wipers, tech made incorrect temporary repair which chipped paint off rear view mirror support arm. Brake, back-up, park and signal lights on right rear burnt out bulbs, NY State trooper was nice though, as long as I showed suitable repair materials. Front end severely misaligned, so "maiden voyage" needed 2 new front tires and alignment. Wheel bearing grease was jelled, low fluid level in differential, ac inoperative, house battery had 3 dry cells (6.94 volts). Windshield has crack in the shape of a mallet head, due to "wind noise" repairs, sealant was sloppily applied, {very amateur/back-yard mechanic}, with "it's used" and "it doesn't effect the driver's vision" comments from tech. Interior cleanliness appeared neat, but undergarments and socks found in remote areas, after vacuuming, carpet changed colors (lightened) and fluffed up. After providing receipts and documents, service manager declined any reimbursement or responsibility. "That's why you bought a used RV" comment.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   SParsons217@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/17/2010
  Company Contact:   Joey
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   A huge list because my rig sat for three years.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Joey and her team were fantastic. She kept me updated and would ask for my ok before proceeding. She would estimate the cost of each repair for me so I could budget my expenses. She also had a tech review all the repairs when I picked up my rig.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   bbilly1783@yahoo.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/20/2010
  Company Contact:   Denise
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Repaired slide out, landing gear and refrigerator
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   All RV repair shops need to go there and learn how to do it right. They are not perfect but they are damm good.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   dicap@netscape.rr.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/23/2010
  Company Contact:   Brian
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   My refrigerator stopped working.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They showed me where it leaked out the gas. I have to save up my money for repairs.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   gb.dean@yahoo.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/6/2010
  Company Contact:   Erich
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   A list of things. Erich gave me an estimate to start but it went up because they showed me all the things that it needed. He and the techs were really good. I know when people know their business. They are the best I've met and I've been around. They keep you involved and get your approval.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Very good. I perform all QC and the shop foreman like that. He said his guys are use to customers QC-ing the jobs. Most shops throw you out of their shops not them.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   adallis@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/24/2010
  Work Done on:   Class B
  Service Performed:   Was traveling through and things needed work, furnance, refrigerator, TV
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They took care of it all while we waited. Cost $125 and showed us what was wrong before they did the repair. Like I said were from out of state and they were so kind. I hope others read this because they are good.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   TCAPTAIN1945@YAHOO.NET
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/1/2009
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   My Hydro-Hot failed in November. I sought an authorized service center to service and restore my unit to operational status. Alpin Haus led me to believe they were an authorized service center and had techs who had "been to school."
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Within a minute they had identified a bad motor and need for bearings. They had no parts but had them overnighted at huge cost. Parts did not arrive overnight. They came on Saturday and no techs to help until Monday. I had to ask for a new filter and nozzle. This was not a thorough
service. After driving home to Vermont, the burner failed again in two days. I was overcharged for parts by a lot. I learned they are not an authorized service center and it cost me well over $1,000 to learn this lesson. I will never take my Hydro Hot to anyone but an authorized technician who has parts on hand and will provide skilled and thorough service and support.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/7/2009
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Hit the side of our RV making too sharp a turn. Needed new siding, door, steps and slideout alignment
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Expensive but excellent work. A little shoddy on communication with me.
  Value of Service:   Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/9/2009
  Company Contact:   DENISE, JOEY, PAUL, DAVE
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   I HAD A LIST OF THINGS. I FIGURED IT WOULD COST ME $800 TO $1000
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   THEY WERE ALL GREAT. THEY LET US STAY THERE AND USE OUR CAMPER DURING LUNCH. IT COST ME $478.26. THEY ARE HONEST PEOPLE!!!!!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   bdogrver@yahoo.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/4/2008
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Slide out not working, generator, oil changes and some other stuff.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Very good and fast plus they do it while you wait. I have never been to a place like this. They let you go into the work area to check on the progress and check over the job. Why don't all the places let you do that???
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   ahopper@rr.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/8/2008
  Company Contact:   Paul,Tammy,or Greg
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   ONE OF THE STORAGE BAY HANDLES PASSENGERS SIDE IN FRONT OF ENTRANCE DOOR HANDLE BROKEN - REPLACED
CHANGE OIL AND FILTER AND GREASE CHASSIS
CHECK LEVEL IN DIFFERENTIAL AND ADD IF NESSARY
SERVICE GENERATOR : CHANGE OIL, FILTER, LUBE THROTTLE LINKAGE AND VOLTAGE, CHECK AIR FILTER RECORD HERTZ AND VOLTAGE: - CHANGE AIR FILTER
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The work was excellent. Excellent treatment. I was very
impressed with Paul my service adviser, and the fellow who did the actual work. I don't remember his name. They both were very good and helpful. They were very accommodating, and the price was fair and the work was excellent, and they kept me informed during the process.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/11/2008
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Large list of warranty things.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Offer a loaner car or a discount rate with a rental car agency. They used to have loaners.

Sometimes customers spend the whole day. I used Enterprise and when he dropped me off he asked if I would mind if he
went and talked with them about setting up something like that. He did go in, but I don't know how far it went. They are an excellent facility, state of the art, neat, and clean. They encourage their customers to go into the bays with the techs and watch. A lot of places won't let you because of insurance reasons.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/21/2008
  Company Contact:   Joey
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   I had a list of things needed to be done before I left for a long trip. I had interior and chassis work.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I've been all over the lower 48 and parts of Canada. This group in Amsterdam should be teaching all the rest how servicing RV's should be done.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/17/2008
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Anytime we have a problem they take care of us right away. Service or otherwise. They always get us right in. Eric is
wonderful. We've purchased RVs from them in the past, and we always go back to Alpin Haus when we make a purchase.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Warranty list
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/18/2007
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   We lost all 110v power.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The job they did was awesome. They work on your RV while you wait is that different or what. The bill was around $200 and we thought it was fair. We were able to order in lunch while we were waiting.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   jframe@hotmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/14/2007
  Work Done on:   Toy Hauler
  Service Performed:   Wheel bearings and tires
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They are pretty good we did not have a appointment.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   graber@aol.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/5/2007
  Work Done on:   Class B
  Service Performed:   OUR TRIP WAS STOPPED BECAUSE OUR CAMPER HAD AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. WE LOST ALL POWER IN THE RV. WE CALL AND THEY STOP IN. THEY WERE SWAMPED BUT THEY SAID THEY WILL TRY.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   THEY ARE GREAT. THEY REPAIRED OUR BURNT WIRING WHILE WE WAITED. IT COST $218 WHICH I THOUGHT WAS FAIR FOR WHAT THEY DID AND SAVE OUR VACATION.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/24/2007
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   My invertor not working, and all my batteries were going dead. My slide out would not come in.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   It was fantastic. They are the only place that lets you wait there while its being work on. All other places want you to drop it off for weeks. They also go over the repairs befor you leave. They need more shops like the one in Amsterdam
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/5/2007
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   I had Alpin Haus take care of my coach problems. Alpin Haus has trained people and very friendly. Everybody in the campgrounds told me only do business with Alpin Haus!!!
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They insisted on showing me what they fixed befor pulling it out of the shop. They were like little kids after do a good job. I will never go any place else.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   t1948@nycap.rr.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/2/2007
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   My family was in the area for a wedding and had their refrigerator konk out. My family recommended Alpin Haus because they have a good reputation and are a local family who own it. They charge by the job not the hour and did the work while we waited. They were all very caring people.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They showed my husband and I what they did. They ask us if we wanted too order in lunch while we waited. We wish we had a local Alpin Haus in Detroit.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/5/2007
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   They are by far the best in the north east. My wife and I have been camping for 22 years and have traveled all over the country and have needed service work done.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They are trained and the same people are always there.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   uttam.s@superior.net
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/5/2006
  Work Done on:   Pop-up Trailer
  Service Performed:   BRAKES FAILED
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I WAS TESTING MY CAMPER GETTING READY TO HIT THE ROAD AND MY BRAKES DID NOT WORK. CALLED ALPIN HOUSE THEY SAID BRING IT RIGHT OVER SAYING MAYBE ITS SOMTHING SIMPLE. ITS WAS JUST A LOOSE WIRE. THEY TOLD ME IT WOULD COST A $100 TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM BUT ONLY CHARGED ME $75. THEY SAVED OUR TRIP. MARGE AND THE KIDS LOVE ALPIN HOUSE. THEY HAVE A BUNCH OF VERY NICE PEOPLE AND THEY LET YOU IN THE WORK AREA TO CHECK THINGS OUT.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   tamego.rr.@cap.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/3/2006
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Awning Repair did not last. I spoke to a service man about how long they warranty their work? He said if something was done wrong we will fix it right, you don't want to put a time limit on something like that. It wasn't their fault he showed me where the bottom leg got pulled away. My son had his dog tied there. The fix was easy he said the bill is $20 or go out and send me in $100 worth of repair work from my friends.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They glued in a wooden plug then drilled a new hole for my awning. He said only tie little dogs there no horses or big dogs. He was nice.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/8/2006
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Our refrigerator stopped working.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They did a darn good job. They said they were swamped but to bring it it. It needed to be cleaned, we never knew they have to be cleaned.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/1/2006
  Work Done on:   Truck Campers
  Service Performed:   The service department "repaired" our awning. I watched them store it after repair. The truck they used caused more damage to the jacks. The awning was not repaired properly and broke as it was wound too tightly. They charged extra to have part "Fed Ex'd" even though they had it for two weeks. I will not have further repairs done at Alpin Haus.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Extremely Poor.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Fair
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/1/2005
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   We were on a trip coming back from Boston and our step was torn off because we forgot to put it in. The lady at the toll both said go to Alpin Haus because they hear a lot of good from other campers. They fix it enough for us to use it and till we could buy a new one.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   It is a good repair and I don't think I'll replace. The cost was $60 and they let us go in the shop to have our lunch. They were all so kind.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/7/2004
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Service call because the slide would not come in. The technician did not seem to know how to fix it, left the motor with one bolt and manually put the slide in. The rep at the store had no idea if they would be able to get a motor for us.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   VERY POOR, we will not use Alpin Haus again, even though we live 16 miles away.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/24/2004
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Warranty work on a Travel Trailer purchased from Alpin Haus to repair a leaking problem.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We had to return the Travel Trailer back to the dealer 3 times before the problem was fixed. The problem ended up a void in the gasket material above a window which we found ourselves by doing a complete inspection something they never did during the 2 previous service calls.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/1/2004
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Towing system for 2004 CRV toad ROADMASTER STONE GUARD with all mounting brackets... Roadmaster brand braking system for a total of over $1800
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Put on parts not needed..failed to follow instructions on installation..put on brackets for stone guard backward rub damage to bumpers..sustituted cheap electrical plugs for those in purchased kit..in too much of a hurry to leave and thereby failed to give proper instructions on braking system and a result of $750 damage to brakes on toad.. after lodging a complaint the answer given was to GET A LAWYER..WE DO IT ALL THE TIME..DO NOT RECOMMEND FOR ANYTHING
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/10/2000
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   I bought a used Class C motorhome from Alpin Haus in 2000 and another Class C motorhome from Hill's RV in Conway, NH.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I was glad to see the rating of Poor for Alpin Haus because I agree wholeheartedly with that rating. However, my next experience, with Hill's RV in Conway, NY was totally different. They could not have done more!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   12:00:00 AM
  Company Contact:   Tammy & Greg
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   I had a grinding noise in my wheel.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They fixed it while we waited. They ordered in food for us and gave us bottled water. They are very very nice people.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   gfarmer@hillbrofarm.rr.net



Page last updated: 4/26/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster