RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Camping World
1220 Morland Drive, Statesville, NC   28677
866-239-7682 / 704-872-9959
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 35.766483   Longitude: -80.861346
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/28/2016
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Routine Inspection.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Preventative roof caulking and inspection. Had the trailer several days passed estimated finish date. Roof looks like we
turned a bunch of 4 year old loose with caulk...not professional. Got trailer back and 2 days later had an unexpected
family death and had to leave. First night, the shower will not drain. The rubber seal is broken and dried up blocking the
drain. I kept noticing water on the floor and discovered the rim to the toilet was cracked (to our knowledge, not cracked
when it went to the dealer). The speakers were not working, pulled the stereo system out to discover all the wires had
been disconnected from the stereo. We did emergency repairs (in a remote area with no real RV support) and got back. We
called CW and got the tap dance run around. I had no trust in them by that point. I do not believe they really inspected
anything and the paper work looks "pencil-whipped". Manager gave us a hard time and finally offered to re-inspect it. I
told him no, because I no longer believed they did anything. I wanted a refund for the inspection. He sent us a check for
less than half of what the inspection cost minus the "repairs" they did (roof caulk mess). We fixed the shower and replaced
the toilet ourselves. We went to another RV shop and talked to them. One of the workers there told us that he worked for
this CW and the disconnection of the stereo was not a surprise. Things like that, brings you back for another maintenance
visit. Worst maintenance shop and customer service we ever experiences. Do not go there! Wish there was less than a Poor
rating to give them. They are the worse!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/15/2016
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Warranty, insurance and service
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent, timely and professional.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/15/2016
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Modification of 2016 Thor Vegas 24.1 by removing the couch and replacing it with two recliners and a center console made by Hertiage. The three units were
purchased from the Camping World catalog and installed by Camping World techs.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   OUTSTANDING! Once the parts were received (2 weeks) the work was done in less time than estimated while we waited in the lobby. I have posted pictures
on Thorforum owners website and have had other owners make plans to do the same Mod.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/15/2015
  Work Done on:   Class B
  Service Performed:   New unit that had issues from the start. Leaking roof, fuel lines, and plumbing. It took over 10 months and a trip back to factory to finally get fixed.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Poor from the beginning. It was a bad experience and I would be very careful with them. We would never go back.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/28/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Warranty work for items found on Pre Delivery Inspection (PDI). Included replacement of interior pillar covering, replacement of headlights due to moisture in
the lens, door adjustment, fit and trim issues, broken window lock and small gap in insulation around door.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Great job. Looked like the unit should have looked when coming from the factory.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/13/2014
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Leaks .. leveling
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Pooor had a lot of stuff stolen they did not have compartments locked, keep on finding stuff missing, overspray on doors, they did not fix leaks had to
go to another dealer, under warranty, will never go back.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/1/2014
  Company Contact:   Service Department
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Roof Service / Repair
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   2007 Fleetwood Jamboree GT 32’, 7,500 miles on it and it’s like brand new! Took it in for a roof service and a small
occasional drip from the right front overhead fiberglass cap. The service writer brought out the technician and told me it
looked like we may have hit a small tree limb and there was a small damaged area in the right front rubber roof where it
meets the fiberglass overhead. Said it wasn’t a big deal to repair and my insurance should take care of it. They gave an
estimate of $500-$800 to repair it and it would take a about 6 hours but it would be a couple of days before they could get
to it. Cool, let’s do it. I get a call and they say the rubber roof has a felt backing and they can’t get it glued back
down and now we’re going to need a complete new rubber roof. I asked how much it was going to cost, and they tell me
$9,700 but it’s okay because the insurance company is going to cover it. At this point the motorhome has been at Camping
World in Statesville for 4 weeks. I talked to the insurance company and they will cover it so off we go... They said
they’ll jump right on it and it will be done in a week. And now starts the excuses, people out sick, rubber on backorder,
awing rails on back order, etc… Four months later, they say it’s all done so we drive 1.5 hours to pick it up. The very
first thing I noticed was the white Awning Rail that holds down the rubber roof was not straight on the passenger’s side
and they used 5-short pieces of metal that looks really bad. The metal comes in 20’ sections so why did they use 5 pieces?
The metal had already come loose in the front and was sticking out about an inch. I crawled up on the roof to look and
found a 1’x2’ hole in the roof where the refrigerator vent cover was supposed to be. The roof material was much thinner
than what was on the original roof and it had large loose wrinkles on the sides. They said the sun would heat the rubber up
and it would tighten up. (It never did) They used rivets to hold the metal strips, but they had drilled out the old rivets
with to big of a drill bit and the new rivets wasn’t holding. They apologized and said if I would leave it with them, they
would reorder the awning rails and it should take about 2-weeks to get it all squared away. Got a call about 6- weeks later
and it’s all done. I asked them to make sure as we were going down to Florida for a month and I didn’t want any issues.
They assured me it was all done and the service manager himself looked at it. Drove 1.5 hours to pick it up and got on the
roof to verify and it looked like they played football on the roof. Black shoe marks and dirt everywhere… The inside had
dirt and stuff on the carpet. Someone’s drink cup was in the cup holder on the table. Glue was on the toilet seat cover
and bath mat. They said it would take a few minutes to clean it up and please relax in the lounge. 3-1/2 hours later they
were done…. Now the trip to Florida… The first thing we noticed was the air-conditioner didn’t seem to be blowing as hard
and the front vents whistled. Didn’t have that issue before. I pulled the cover off the AC to check the filter and found
the rubber roof material is pulled over the supply air ductwork and there’s no way for the cold air to get to the ductwork.
I cut off the extra rubber and attach the rubber to the frame (the way it used to be) and then noticed a big gaping hole in
the ductwork where the electrical wires come in. Lots of the air is escaping thru the hole and going into dead space in
the ceiling. I filled it with spray foam and now we had good air flow out of the ac vents. The next item was the front
center roof light didn’t work nor did the power vent fan. Took it apart and found the plug was pushed up into the
Styrofoam ceiling and not connected. I had to fix the Styrofoam with spray foam because someone yanked on the wires. A
day later my wife says the AC didn’t feel that cold and I thought it was the Florida heat. I went up on the roof to put on
the little 3” extensions to keep the condensation from running down the side of the camper (Camping World didn’t put them
back on either) and found some brownish green stain in the roof that was coming from the AC. I had a RV mobile repairman
look at the AC and he finds a little thermistor that was pushed into the AC coil too far and it created a very small leak
that let the freon out and the brownish green stain was the results. We left Florida after 2-weeks because it was just to
hot in the camper. Took the camper back to Camping World to look at the AC and they took lots of pictures. Two weeks
later they wanted me to bring the camper in and they would replace the AC. I said no thank you, please send me a check and
I’ll fix it myself. They sent me a check $750.00 to buy another AC. There were other issues not mentioned here. I didn’t
want them touching my rig again!!! ***DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE*** PS: I still have the small drip in the front
fiberglass cap…
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   notsoold@bellsouth.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/24/2013
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Replace bushings on slide of my 2001 Itasca Suncruiser. It took 3 weeks to do what had been done in 4 days in 2003. After waiting 4 hours on our
appopintment day, they had no part number, no phone number and no cost. Five minutes after returning home, I had all of the above on-line
from Winnebago and passed it along to Camping World. We are full timers, so would have liked our motorhome to be locked when not being
worked on. Pointed out to staff on several return trips to pick up items we needed for the month they had the motorhome, we found it unlocked.
One time main entrance was locked, but drivers door was unlocked. On one occasion the keys were in the ignition. We were told the keys had a
place in the building when not being worked on. On another occasion it was running behind the shop. Temperature gauge showed operating
temperature, so it had been running for a while. Motorhome was not plugged in, so batteries would die. We were told one of the first things that
takes place is the house battery switch is turned off. The only time the switch was off during our visits was when we went back the last time to
pick up the motor home. Original batteries lasted 10 years. These ones replaced lasted 3.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   After we returned to our parking place on July 19th, I noticed the entry door was not as we left it. The screws were not in their original position
and the door overlapped the frame. We could see daylight from inside. I was told the door was not removed to replace the cooling unit on the
refrigerator. (Which probably didn't work only because the batteries died.) Electric wires were wrapped around a hot pipe in the outside
compartment of the refrigerator. There was no drip cup either as before. The motor home was plugged in the last day to make sure the replaced
cooling unit was working properly. It is believed the house battery switch had finally been turned off because the battery gas produced, since they
would not charge, kept the alarm going constantly.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Fair
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/14/2009
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Replace stationary Kingdome satellite with new Winegard Roadtrip in-motion satellite, replace right side slide topper awning
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Brought motorhome in right away and started working on it-tech, Shawn, was very knowledgeable and worked quickly asked me a few questions for 2nd line in but decided not to run one-after completed went on roof to inspect-great job -replaced topper in 30 minutes made sure I was 100% happy-test drove with tech to make sure TV worked-answered all questions-Sandra in service was very helpful
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/6/2009
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Need the brake controller installed in truck for my trailer.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Had driven to Tennessee and was driving early AM in fog. Went to turn on my low beams and the brakes went on on the trailer. I called Camping World as soon as it opened and they told me they'd refund my money immediately (which they did) and to go to get RV service ASAP. Not real impressed with the wiring of the brake controller and felt like the immediate refund was an attempt to shirk responsibility.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor



Page last updated: 10/16/2018 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster