RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Camping World
4650 16th St. East, Tacoma, WA   98424
1-800-526-4165
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 47.241733   Longitude: -122.365187
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/1/2010
  Work Done on:   Truck Campers
  Service Performed:   Asked to diagnose propane heater not working, they kept my camper longer then they said. The service manager then told me it would cost $450.00 to replace the burner assembly. After checking around on the internet I found a brand new heater was $450.00. I decided to take my truck camper back and diagnose the heater myself. I downloaded a PDF document on removing and checking the heater and after a few hours found that the heater only needed a cleaning as rust was clogging the propane nozzle. I guess I was lucky Camping world only charged me $70.00 for a bad troubleshoot. I will never goto Camping World again. Buyer beware, these people are either incompetent or complete crooks.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Terrible. Don't go to Camping World. Incompetent.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/12/2008
  Company Contact:   James Gore
  Work Done on:   Toad
  Service Performed:   Had a Sterling tow bar installed on my 2008 Chevrolet HHR LT.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The entire service incident was a "Goat Rodeo". I made a 10:30 AM appointment as I had a 180 mile round trip drive and wanted them to have all the time they needed to do it right.

I arrived 30 minutes early and checked in. Was told, "no problem, we'll have you pull it in soon and they'd get right on it". At 11:10 AM I asked why I hadn't been asked to move it to the shop area. James checked with someone and had me move it in. At 12:20 I walked thru the shop on
my way to get lunch and it was in the same place I'd left it and no one was working on it. I was told they would put two guy's on it soon (it's a 5 - 6 hour job BTW).

The installation was finally finished at 5:20 PM and eventually took 3 people to complete it. The aftermath, the bar is installed crooked and the install my have to be redone.
  Value of Service:   Fair
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   scottmarilynj@olypen.com
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/20/2008
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Check Generator for problems: Replaced house batteries.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I took my Itasca Sunova to Camping world in Fife WA today to diagnose a problem with my generator. The real problem was my own stupidity but they were nice enough not to say that and fixed my motorhome and sent me on my way without any hassle and without reducing my bank account to ashes. I particularly want to thank Dave, the fellow who worked on our motorhome. He was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and taught me a few things I didn't know about my motorhome.

I have been there many times before for supplies but this is my first encounter with their service department. They are very professional and helpful. Their sales staff is always very friendly and helpful as well. So my hats off to them. I would recommend them to anyone.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   spinners110722@yahoo.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/11/2008
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   I'd taken my 5th wheel to Poulsbo RV for general inspection and repairs. That was a huge mistake!!! So, when the hot water tank still didn't work,,, I called Camping World in Fife. They said no problem and bring it in. It was decided that it would be best to replace the entire tank. I was pleased that they could do it that day. This was another huge mistake. They put a tech named Mike on the job. Mike told me that he usually installs Banks engine upgrades. I think Mike did his best but he is not a plumber. So, he struggled with issues like,,,, wondering where the "one way valve" went. Another technician came by and told him he had installed it wrong. I think it was initially correct as that was the way the old tank was connected but Mike changed it. To test the tank, Mike hooked up the RV directly to the water hose there without a pressure reducer. That blew several lines inside the RV. There was water everywhere. He tried to tell me that the lines were probably already weak or something. After my experience at Poulsbo RV and now this,,,,, I just wanted my RV out of there. When I complained I got no response and they were closing soon. Also,,,, be advised that if you have a large 5th wheel,,,, they have no means of moving it so you have to stay there with your truck while they work on it. When I got my RV home, I hooked up to the city water inlet using my pressure reducer. Water came pouring out the fresh water tank inlet. I called Camping World and talked to Mike. He said that my RV had weak plumbing and passed me off to the service desk. When I explained what had happened, the man tried to sell me a multi point test for $199.99. He also said that because they had no means of moving my 5th wheel that the entire process could be done out in the parking lot. They don't have power or water in the parking lot. How could they complete all the tests without it?? End result,,, they did not offer to fix the things there tech messed up.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Again,,,, I wouldn't take anything to these people for repair. There was only one man named Doug,, who the service techs went to for advice,, who seemed to know what he was doing.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/1/2007
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Window awning inner workings broken
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Had set appointment. Service tech got on the job at appointment time. Was neat and clean. Did the repair well. No cost under warranty with Camping World.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/4/2005
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Locate and repair water leak which Poulsbo RV was unable to repair properly
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent. I was advised throughout the day as to progress and findings. I was given repair options , costs and suggestions which gave me a very good picture of the situation and how to properly tackle.

They repaired as they agreed to. Workmanship was of outstanding quality and Done on time. I have inspected several times since the repair and have no problems 4 months later.

The only negative I have is with trying to inchoate a repair or service, they need a dedicated phone person. The way they work now counter people have to bounce between general phone inquiries, the customer at the counter and the service techs in the garage.

But they are still light years ahead of the other local shops I have used.

This is the only shop I can recommend in all of Tacoma, Puyallup, Fife, FederalWay and KENT
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/7/2005
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   The electrical stairs jammed and I thought I would have to either replace with a cheaper manual stair or with the expensive electrical stair. Instead, the CW mechanic found spare parts to repair the existing stairs for a fraction of the price of a new one.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   It's been a year since the repair and it's worked perfect since that time.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/3/2003
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
Toad
  Service Performed:   Had a REMCO Lube pump installed in our Lexus RX300, also had the coach wired for the lube pump.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The service technician that worked on the car and coach was very knowledgeable about the REMCO products and had installed many lube pumps. The installation required the dropping of the transmission pan and installing a new fitting in the pan.

The job was done very smoothly without any problems. The price quoted was the lowest estimate that I received. The interior of the motor home was kept very clean.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Very Good



Page last updated: 10/23/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster