RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Ken's Camper Service
2230 Mill Creek Road, Newport, NC   28570
252 725 5525
Email Address: Kenscamperservice@yahoo.com
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 34.7732334   Longitude: -76.753857
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/12/2011
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   I called Ken on the above date and needed help that afternoon.

A hurricane-related electrical power surge had knocked out the 12V power converter in my RV.

I had ordered a converter from an area manufactured home parts supplier, but what came in was a a unit unlike the original in the RV.

Ken advised he was already enroute to a service call in my general area and would arrange his schedule to come to me first. He arrived very quickly and began work immediately. He was able to make use of some needed parts from the old converter and adapt everything to the new unit.

Ken was professional, patient and efficient.

His labor charge was well within reason.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Very good.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/1/2009
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   This guy is a joke, he has no idea what he is doing. I called him to look at a small leak and when he came to do so he then shoved a stick in the hole stating he did do so it would drain and hopefully dry. He said he would be back the following week to start working on it and after several calls and lots of rain he finally showed back up about 2 months later. Sad thing is that he lives in my neighborhood and passes my house everyday. He finally began working on it in the spring and took several months to complete the job after many many down pours. He made other holes while repairing it, he re-used the old molding which was cracked and cut off too short, the caulking looked like a 2 yr old did it very messy and globs of caulking that were not smoothed out. He left wet, moldy boards under the bed area as well. When I went to use my RV a couple months later and while making a right turn water came gushing down the windshield from the overhang where the bed is located. I then took it to Carteret RV in Cedar Point and when they opened the front at least 4 gallons of water came out. Bottom line is this guy doesn't have a clue on how to fix RV's and should be put out of business. I have spoken to several other people who he has done the same to. This is not right and very sad. I am a 65 yr old woman who's husband is suffering from Alzheimer's and I do not have the money to get fixed what he was originally supposed to fix and made it 10 times worse so now my insurance company will not cover what he did and I am going to have to take a total loss.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Poor poor poor
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   renie@ec.rr.com
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/27/2009
  Company Contact:   Ken
  Work Done on:   Pop-up Trailer
  Service Performed:   A new floor was supposed to be installed.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   It was an awful job!! We took the pop-up trailer to him in decent condition. We picked it up in the evening on 03/27/09, and upon examining it the next day we found a mess! The new floor doesn't come all the way out to the wall of the camper. Therefore the walls bow out all the way around. The front right corner and be severely damaged and the metal torn. Along the front and sides there were also several places in the sheet metal torn/ripped. The cable system, which we just had adjusted, is a mess! The top will not go up all the way and we can no longer completely close it! Due to the fact that there's a gap between floor and outer wall, we now have water damage on the inside walls due to driving it home in the rain! The camper is no longer sturdy and we can't even use it!! Its absolutely worthless now! I'm not even sure how we got it home! The outer walls are attached to NOTHING! Its a wonder the whole thing didn't fall off the frame! The floor itself has humps in it where the pieces of wood join together! We cannot reinstall our cabinets because they will not sit on these humps! His answer was: "I did the best I could with what I had! If he couldn't do the job, and do it right, he should have said so! We could have taken it somewhere else! He had our camper for 2 weeks! And made a complete mess!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   cnfproctor@yahoo.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/1/2008
  Company Contact:   Ken
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   When I could not get the camper vendor to do on-site warranty repairs on my travel trailer, Ken responded very quickly. I had a broken door lock and a furnace that was not blowing air. He worked with Gulfstream to ensure they would cover the cost of the repairs and he quickly and professionally fixed both problems. I will call him next time I have any problems and I will recommend him to all my friends at the campground.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   He was knowledgeable, friendly and professional. He quickly repaired everything and was careful not to make a mess in my camper! I would absolutely recommend him. It's good to know there is someone who will not take advantage of me with high service call charges.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/17/2008
  Company Contact:   Ken Phillips
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Plumbing, awning repair, level camper
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   This guy knows everything and sends someone out real quick or comes himself .. fast, great and reasonable service .. I am a repeat customer and HIGHLY RECOMMEND this company ..
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   ncfolks4u@ec.rr.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/31/2008
  Company Contact:   Ken Phillips
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Wash, wax and detail
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   His crew did a super job and once again at a fair price for all the work. He had them compound it first then wax it. Lot of work but she sure looks great!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   ncfolks4u@ec.rr.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/22/2008
  Company Contact:   Ken Phillips
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Replaced hot water heater in a restored 1985 Holiday Rambler. Well they don't make many parts anymore if any for this old baby of mine, but Ken came out and measured it and told me where we could buy a suitable replacement and then installed it. He had to modify fittings and reinforce the mounting. He did all this VERY professionally and charged a fair price for all his work.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   EXCELLENT! VERY knowledgeable in all area's. And a nice guy to boot!

I highly recommend his company to anyone who needs service on ANY type of camper. I am a retired Master Mechanic so I know good QUALITY work when I see it! .. excuse me while I go take a HOT SHOWER .. ;^)
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   ncfolks4u@ec.rr.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/19/2008
  Company Contact:   Ken Phillips
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Replaced water heater element, repaired Fantastic Fan and inspected and caulked seams as needed. Also diagnosed bedroom lighting problem which turned out to be a non problem.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Work was done at my residence. He responded to my call within 8 hours and made the repairs quickly and efficiently. All now in good working order
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/25/2008
  Company Contact:   Ken Phillips
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   I had an air conditioner problem (no fan) so Ken came out and replaced a capacitor that was blown.. The fan still didn't operate correctly so he replaced the fan motor and did it all in a reasonable amount of time. The charge for labor for the whole job was less than the hourly rate of most RV dealers.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   It was a great pleasure when I found Ken RV and Camper service. When I called I thought I was going to be given the run around. I talked to Ken directly and to my surprised that he was over to help the same day!!!!!!! Give him a try!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/27/2008
  Company Contact:   Ken Phillips
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   A/C work after lightning strike.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Prompt, professional and knowledgeable. Mr. Phillips provides a very needed service in that he comes to YOU where your RV is located. Very personable and his charge for labor very reasonable.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent



Page last updated: 8/18/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster