RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
San Diego RV Center
9398 Bond Ave, El Cajon, CA   92021
619-561-3531
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 32.8501481   Longitude: -116.8693024
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/26/2016
  Company Contact:   Frank Puente
  Work Done on:   Class B
  Service Performed:   Body repairs after a tree fell on a Mercedes Sprinter RV; additional optional
interior work on electronics and other items
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Superb job by a bunch of people who really care about ending up with a
quality repair. Close communication during a lengthy repair process.
Suggestions and collaboration throughout on the best components to use.
My first time using San Diego RV and you can bet I'll return when I have
additional service needs.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   4650zz03@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/30/2014
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Body work.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Several years ago I banged up my right rear storage door and compartment. San Diego RV Center did all the repair work and everything was great. Fast
forward to this last week. I was trying to close this same compartment door, and I noticed the door was flexing and the inner aluminum door frame looked
to be broken at a corner joint. I assumed it was broke at a weld.

I took the RV up to San Diego RV Center and showed them the broken door. They looked it up in the history and confirmed when they replaced the door,
they ordered it directly from Fleetwood, who in turn subcontracts their parts to 3rd party vendors. At this point we all know Fleetwood is not going to
warranty or stand behind a door that was purchased several years ago. So now I’m thinking I’m out of luck!

San Diego RV Center took the door completely apart and found that Fleetwood’s manufacture did not weld the internal aluminum frame. They use some
sort of body glue and two sided automotive body tape to hold the whole door together. San Diego RV Center said they have seen this before and this is one
reason why they now build all their doors and panels in-house. What they did to fix mine, was to make brackets to mount in each corner of the internal
door frame, like gussets. These brackets will not only hold the door together, but make it much stronger. Then they reinstalled the inner panel skin and
used a better body glue, which also reinforces the doors strength. Remember this was Fleetwood's poor craftsmanship, yet San Diego RV Center is fixing it.

Now here is what makes San Diego RV Center so great. Two days after I dropped the RV off I was called and told it was ready. When it came time to pay for
the repair, they stood behind their previous work and we split the labor to fix the door. No charge for the parts they made, just half of the labor time to fix
it. Seriously who does this? Well we know San Diego RV Center does!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/25/2014
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   We had to have our rear black tank release valve realigned. We also had to have our awning motor replaced.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   These guys got us right in (within a matter of days) and returned our RV to us the same day, as requested. We had to return for more work once a part came
in, and we waited for the repair, which was done quickly. The work done was professional and their customer service is amazing. They are truly your
advocate when dealing with warranty companies.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/11/2010
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Workhorse / Bosch Caliper Recall
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Can't say enough about San Diego RV and how I was taken care of. First off I got my Recall Notice regarding the Brake Caliper Recall and I called San Diego RV to see if I could get it fixed. They told me they already had parts on order and that I was #4 on the list. They gave me a date to come in and when I did the parts were there waiting for my coach. They did the recall and inspected the rest of the brake system. They said my pads and rotors were in great shape and did not need replacing. I am always worried as some shops have a way of finding something else to sell you. San Diego RV never tried to up sell me or pressure me to do something more then what the RV was brought in for. Part of the recall was to change out 2 quarts of brake fluid. I was told the brake system takes 2 2/3 quarts and San Diego RV said they changes all 2 2/3 quarts and did not charge me for the extra fluid. On top of this when I came to pick up the RV it was washed. They washed my RV at no charge!

Now to me that is customer service! I know it does not seem like a big deal, but it was nice to find a company that is still willing to go that extra mile to make customer service a priority.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/28/2009
  Company Contact:   Frank Puente
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Troubleshoot overheating problem. Rig had to be towed to RV Center. We arrived as their work day was ending and they hooked us up to 50 AMP outlet and made us comfortable. Their thorough approach, including calls to Workhorse, narrowed the problem down to a workable
solution. Our rig is 12 years old and somewhat road-weary but they showed as much concern for us as if we had been driving an ultra expensive one. Their rate is fair and their friendliness unsurpassed. We highly recommend
this RV center.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Since leaving the RV Center there is every indication
that their work has dealt with the problem
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   orcasvin@aol.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/15/2009
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   General Maintenance.
San Diego RV Center was recommended to me by friend who was a happy customer of their's. I took my 2006 40' Providence DP in to have all the fluids serviced. I feel the quality of work was good and the prices were competitive with other shops. I never felt like they were going to try to find things to up-sell me on, which I have had done to me in the past with another shop.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Work = Good
Price = Good
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/11/2009
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Mid 2008 Upgrade work; Air Ducts added to Workhorse chassis to solve plug wire melting issue.
Late 2008 Bodywork/Paint; Belly Box door damaged.
Early 2009 for basic service and maintenance.
Early 2009 repair and replace cabin door hinge due to wind catching door and pulling it open.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   All four times I have brought my RV into them for service or repair, they have been exceptionally professional and the work has been top notch. The air duct modification was at their suggestion as they found out we pull a buggy and boat trailer over the mountains, and this is when people have melting plug wire issues with the Workhorse chassis. They make their own kits and it was cheaper then me buying the Workhouse air duct kit and installing it myself. We have never had an issue because of this upgrade.

The Body Work was done and their paint matching is better then any auto body shop I have ever seen or been to. You cant tell they replaced and painted a new storage door on the RV. It looks factory original.

Basic maintenance was done and I did not get any of those extra surprises or charges that you sometimes get when you go in for service. What I asked for I got.

And the cabin door hinge was bent when opening the door in high winds. They original thought only 1 of the 3 hinges were bad. Once they pulled it apart they found 2 bad hinges. They fixed the two and did not charge any more labor then what was quoted to do the one hinge. Also they ordered a 3rd hinge and gave it to me to put in my spare parts box in case this happens again. The manufacture was not making this exact hinge anymore and they knew it would be hard to get a few years from now. Good thinking on their part.

Also both owners Sam & Frank were master RV mechanics before owning their own shop, so they understand RV's. Also John the lead Shop Tech is the best in my opinion as he is friendly and he takes the time to explain things before they do a repair and after when I go to pick up the RV. I feel they truly care about their customers. I request John now when I have them do my service.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/24/2007
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Ceiling repair, check air conditioner, new brakes, hot water leak
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   My mother, a 70 year old widow and grandmother, took her Holiday Rambler Fifth-Wheel to San Diego RV Center for a few minor repairs. She was very nervous about her RV, but she was assured by Frank Puente, one of the new owners, that they had their best technician working on it. Not only did they do a poor job on the repairs she requested, they did additional work she did not request or authorize. When she went to pick up her RV, she was unable to thoroughly examine all the work because some of it was on slide-out seals and the RV was parked in a manner that made extending the slide-out not possible. In addition, she was a bit overwhelmed and just wanted to get out of there so she paid her $3200 bill, which was much more than she expected, and left. After getting home and conducting a more thorough examination she noticed San Diego RV Center used sub-standard material and very poor workmanship. She called Mr. Puente to complain.
Mr. Puente repeatedly assured my mother that he “would make it right.” However, after several attempts to arrange to actually drop the RV off for corrective action, my Mom was informed that she would no longer be dealing with Mr. Puente. Mr. William Baier, the other owner took her call and rudely told her, “We don’t have to do anything for you. You can take me to court and sue me.”
My mother was beside herself and didn’t know what to do. Her husband had recently died of emphysema and he had taken care of matters like this. I wasn’t much help to her because I live in Maryland, but I encouraged her to stand up for herself and take him to small claims court and she did. She won the case. The judge awarded her $3000, slightly less than she asked for. The judge scolded Mr. Baier for poor ethical business practices. Mr. Puente didn’t even show up. Of course, they appealed. At the second hearing, my mother won again. This time the judge tacked on an extra $466. Now they are refusing to pay.

I would definitely NOT recommend San Diego RV Center. They performed work they were not authorized to do, used substandard material, and performed poor workmanship. Most importantly, they do NOT stand behind their work, and even after losing two court cases refuse to “make things right.”
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/5/2006
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Wallpaper replacement, window repair
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Can't say enough about this place. They were a second try at taking care of some warranty work after the "recommended" warranty center failed to complete the work. They took us within a week of my call and completed all warranty repairs. Jason was very helpful with my questions about our rig. I recommend them often.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   bumbie@cox.net



Page last updated: 4/27/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster