RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Almaden RV
494 Phelan Ave., San Jose, CA   95112
(408) 289-9442
Email Address: chriscaprino@msn.com
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 37.3162397   Longitude: -121.8616057
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/20/2016
  Company Contact:   Chris or Larry
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Replace Atwood Furnace door under warranty.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent work. The manufacturer shipped the wrong part. When the right
one came in they fit me in that day and finished while I waited.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/15/2015
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Annual service plus brakes, a couple of minor items, wash and wax.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   While the service and minor repairs were done, the interior was left filthy and the roof was not washed.
  Value of Service:   Fair
  Quality of Service:   Fair
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/3/2012
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Multiple issues: slide out motor, jacks not retracting, door wind whistling, furnace not working properly, slide topper.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Quality of work is just hit and miss. Required multiple return trips and for several items we just gave up trying to get them fixed. Take a slide out motor with a bad gear. If the gear's bad, you would think they'd also notice the track is bad -- track is a cheap part; the labor of everything is the big deal. Instead, they ordered motor, put it in (incurring all the labor) and then told us "well, you know, the track is bad, we'd have to get one of those and install it (all the labor a second time) before the motor change we did makes any difference."

Unless time and money don't mean anything to you, find an alternate shop!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/13/2010
  Company Contact:   Chris
  Work Done on:   Pop-up Trailer
  Service Performed:   The worst possible company I have ever dealt with. The owner Chris is rude, arrogant, obnoxious and extremely unprofessional. Last year we took our 1995 Coleman Pop-up to have full service by Almaden RV. We asked them to check all systems, fix a bunk-end and repair a hole in the water tank. We went back two different times because the repairs were not done properly or were done poorly. Finally, we pick up the camper. Once home we hook it up and water starts pouring from the "fixed" water tank. Fed up, we disputed the credit card payment. Once Chris agreed to fix it free of charge we agreed to pay the bill. Last month we return to have the water tank fixed. Chris again agreed to fix it, no charge. We asked them once the water tank was fixed to check the water systems. The water pump, kitchen and shower faucets needed replacement. Additional cost: $500. We said no thanks, we'll pick it up. Chris demanded cash and then hung up on us. He never told us cash only before that moment. We decided to call the BAR and then the police. Two hours later we were told by the police that it was a civil matter. Next day we went back, paid cash, and brought our camper home. Do not ever take your RV to Almaden RV!
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Extremely poor repair work and customer service. Not once did Chris, the owner, ever try and work with us regarding our disputes. He left his nephew and a technician to deal with our issues on ALL occasions.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   other@hsuehmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/18/2009
  Company Contact:   Chris or Larry
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Class C Diesel: 2009 Road Warrior
This particular repair was to the main pop-out. After having some other work done just a few weeks prior the motor on the pop-out broke just before a trip we had planned. Chris actually sent a crew out to our house to make the repairs and get us on the road.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I can't say enough about Alamaden RV for any service work needed. We've had some issues with our rig and the fact that Weekend Warrior is out of business has presented some challenges. After bouncing around the area looking for a reputable shop we took some friends advice and tried Almaden RV. Chris and Larry have helped us with water, electrical, satellite, and various mechanical issues to our complete satisfaction.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   bankshot3350@yahoo.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/18/2007
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Repair or replace rubber around windows.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Broke both windows and owner stated " they came in broken". Employee confessed the truth. Sent the whole issue to Cal State Board of Auto Repairs. Many more untruths about service and extremely bad workmanship. The worst RV service ever!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/20/2007
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Painting of compartment door and water heater door. Repainting of rear bumper.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Paint has proven to be very fragile. A rope that rubbed where they had painted rubbed the paint off. Another rope that rubbed on the factory paint did no damage. Paint they applied to the bumper has cracked.
  Value of Service:   Fair
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/1/2004
  Company Contact:   Chris
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Repair malfunctioning brake lights and turn
signals. Replace hoses in slide out mechanism.
Install slide out topper.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Electrical work was not complete. Components
and wires in the engine compartment were left
hanging and exposed. They were not able to
stop leaks in slide out mechanism. I observed
one of their employees parking a diesel pusher
without using the brakes, shifting between
reverse and drive while the coach was moving.
They are very slow to complete any job. My RV
sustained minor body damage on two visits.
  Value of Service:   Fair
  Quality of Service:   Fair
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/16/2004
  Work Done on:   Travel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Replace bad propane detector inside unit
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Work done timely, technician tracked grease all over inside carpet. Hit hitch A frame with forklift fork leaving large dent in steel. Did not fess up until cornered for either errors. Did offer to bondo dent in steel frame at no cost. Would not go back due to bad experience. Have heard good thing's about them from others. Bad day perhaps
  Value of Service:   Good
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/8/2004
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Furnace would not start.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They said the furnace would not start because the battery was not providing adequate voltage. They said the battery needed water to be topped off. Little did I know that the type of battery we have doesn't allow you to add water without ruining the battery. And apparently they didn't know it either.

To add water, they had to break to tops off the cells. This broke the seal and hastened the demise of the batteries considerably. In fact, while parked and attached to a charger later that year, the battery tops popped off and leaked acid under the vehicle.

By the time I realized what they had done, it was months later and I felt I couldn't really complain to them since my ignorance was greater than their stupidity. So I bought a new $350 battery to replace the one they ruined and I shall not go back there or recommend them to anyone.

By the way, the furnace problem had nothing to do with voltage. They were wrong about that, too.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/1/2004
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   First time: Repaired moderate to severe damage to side of unit after dragging past a cement-reinforced post at a gas station.
Second time: Various minor warranty issues
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent work. The shop is massive and does work on all manner of RVs, including many new class A units. People are very experienced and do excellent work.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Very Good



Page last updated: 11/22/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster