RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Iron Horse RV
6414 Randolph Blvd, San Antonio, TX   78233
210-657-1996
Email Address: ironhorserv@yahoo.com
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 29.546253   Longitude: -98.362054
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/15/2017
  Company Contact:   Robert
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Repair limb damage and pealing clear coat on roof radius' and front/back caps.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We took our Holiday Rambler Ambassador to Iron Horse RV to have an estimate done on fixing some limb damage on the radius’ of our roof and also to
repair pealing clear coat on the front and back caps. As some of the work was covered by our insurance we actually had two estimates done.

The service manager gave us a quote and then worked with our insurance to get us the maximum coverage for their part of the work. We agreed on the
price and scheduled to take our rig to them on January 27th. Since we are full-time RV’ers getting the work done in a reasonable amount of time was
critical. The service manager assured us that he could get the work done in the week we were going on a cruise so there would be no need to stay in
hotels.

On Friday the following week while on our cruise, I got an email from Iron Horse that the work would take longer than expected due to other folks ahead of
us that needed work done also. They said the delay was due to two days of cold weather. Well, I thought that wasn’t too bad and inquired if they could get
it done by Tuesday of Wednesday. His reply for a “ball park” finish date was actually the 13th to the 15th. What the heck?

So, because of two days of bad weather they can’t get the work done for another eleven to thirteen days? We were able to just stay on the same ship and
do a back-to-back cruise for a lot cheaper than it would have cost us to stay in a hotel and eat out for those days. To make matters worse it was rodeo
week here in San Antonio so everything in the area was booked anyway.

The service manager said we could stay in our home in their parking lot but who wants to do that. We would have been locked in the place at 5PM every
night and all weekend. And while they were doing any work we would have to vacate the rig.

Here is what I think but of course can’t prove: We were given the old “bait and switch” sales technique. They gave us a time estimate that they absolutely
knew that couldn’t be met but once they had our rig in their shop we were stuck. They had to know how many rig’s were ahead of us and how long it
would take to do their work. And a two-day delay because of weather causes them to be a week behind? I don’t buy that for one minute.

Also, our part of the work was $4800 but when we went to pay the bill they tacked on another $63 for shop supplies. When we asked what that is we were
told for rags. What? We just paid the bill and got out of there.

I have to say that they did a really nice job repairing the limb damage and matching/blending the paint. The body technician did excellent work.
  Value of Service:   Good
  Quality of Service:   Fair
  Email Address of Reviewer:   barrycrocker@yahoo.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/6/2016
  Company Contact:   Robert
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Repaired main front slide.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We had the factory try to fix our main slide. It took three and a half weeks and was only worked on and still did not work properly. We left that slide in while
travelling, which was a pain. I looked at reviews and decided to give Iron Horse a shot. Boy, did I ever make a good choice! Fixed permanently and in two
days! Best operation I ever dealt with!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/8/2016
  Company Contact:   Wade
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Driver side mirror damaged and had to be replaced. They ordered the mirror, notified me when it was at their shop. Also had them put some ultra breeze
fantastic fan covers on also.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   arrived on scheduled day, they were expecting us and about 4 hours later all work was completed and we were on our way
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/7/2015
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Awning motor issues; main slide out flooring outside corners needed repair.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Great job done on the slide out floor. Afterwards, adjusted the slide out to come in and out better. They had hookups for us to stay in while work was done.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/6/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Decals don't line up after slide is retracted, 2013 Monaco Monarch 33SFD.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Great people to work with, work was done on time all work was explained to me. I'm at ease now knowing slide will work with no problem. Very fair labor
charge, THANKS Daryl and staff
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/15/2015
  Company Contact:   Wade
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Reinstall Hurricane hydronic heater.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The work done was excellent. I have no issues with the quality of work. What I do have an issue with is the ~63% overhead that is placed on all parts and
subcontractor work. I didn't realize the markup was this large when I wrote my earlier review but this time it became evident and was admitted to by Iron
Horse management. IMHO this is an egregious markup and far beyond anything charged in normal business practice. As much as I respect this company's
capabilities I am reluctant to return there.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/3/2015
  Company Contact:   Justin
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Our 3 page list of "to do" items ranged from routine oil and lube to checking brakes, resolving an ABS issue, and other small repairs. Everything was done
well and, in the process, a potentially serious brake valve failure was identified before it created a problem for us.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We came here with a long list of normal maintenance and repairs. It took 3 full days of work to get everything done, but we have no complaints; there was
someone working on our MH from an hour after we arrived through the end of the third day. I have never had service like that; I'm used to places where we
sit around and hope that someone will work on our rig. The technicians are extremely knowledgeable, we finally found someone who could diagnose our
non-working Hurricane heater. We plan on returning every spring before we begin our yearly journeys. The list was long and the price wasn't cheap, but I
think the charges were quite fair. A $115/hr labor rate isn't high in today's world.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/17/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   A factory service center for Aqua Hot, we had to replace our unit on a 2007 Allegro Bus due to internal crack and leak. Iron Horse did an excellent job on
that, and superb job (thank you Julianne) fighting the battle with the Good Sam Extended Service Plan for us. Also worked off a number of other squawks on
the Bus. I went there because of their good reputation and was not disappointed, they are very good at what they do and have been there for years. They are
pricey, but you get what you pay for, a job done well.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Very pleased with the work and the experience. Daryl has a good team in place.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   Larrikin39@hotmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/25/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Residential refrigerator install.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Exceptional quality. In and out as scheduled. They know their stuff and do it well. Went above and beyond on what I expected from the install (trimming out
- looks built-in now). Good hookup sites too for staying. Kind of pricey but well worth it. I'd return for other work.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/26/2013
  Company Contact:   Daryl
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Refrigerator, wind noise, reset seals, fix levelers, adjust slide out, fix bay doors.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Took motorhome in for a bunch of different things, was nearing the end of my factory 1 year warranty. When I showed up, we walked the
motorhome all around, and we came up with a very long list of stuff to get fixed. These guys did a great job fixing everything. The final bill was
just under $3,000 for all the work, Daryl worked with Thor to get all the work covered under warranty. This is the only place in Central Texas to
take your RV for work.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/16/2013
  Company Contact:   Daryl Waldrop
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Replaced Norcold fridge with residential model (Samsung RF197). Serviced both air conditioner units and serviced furnace. Replaced four house
acid batteries (batteries were failing) with four AGM batteries. Replaced two broken a/c covers (painted covers to match coach). Lube slide out
seals. Replaced cracked windshield.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I was impressed with the quality of work performed by the technicians. They performed all work in a timely manner and the price for the work was
reasonable. The owner (Daryl) is an active participant with his company and is concerned with ensuring all work is done to a high standard. Since I
was traveling for the winter, the ability to camp at the business while work was performed saved me from staying in a hotel. Overall this is best
RV service facility that I have encountered in all my years of RV'ng.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/9/2012
  Company Contact:   Daryl Waldrop
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Front wheel rim covered with oil.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I noticed severe oil on front rim, i had just washed
them the day before. I was told it was probably front
wheel seal. I went to Iron Horse RV in San Antonio, TX on
Randolph Rd.

They could not get me in till the following day and offered me a hookup. I stayed the night along side some beautiful flowers with humming birds etc. It looked like they can easily accommodate more.

Next day they promptly took me in and evaluated the problem. Actually they looked at both front wheels and took it for a test drive. Diagnosis - they had been overfilled and the oil was just leaking out on the one wheel.

Problem solved and a night camping for 50.00. They could have easily told me I needed a new seal and I would have accepted it.

A company like this needs to be recognized.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/20/2012
  Company Contact:   daryl waldrop
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   We were involved in a major collision in Houston TX. Our Dutch Star sustained thirty thousand dollars damage. The entire front of the coach from the windshield down was heavily damaged. The generator, stabilizer system and other interior systems were damaged as well. Because of our faith in Daryl Waldrop and his Iron Horse RV, we limped into San Antonio. Having done business with Daryl in the past, we knew that we wanted someone we could trust with our coach. The work took five weeks to complete. We thank God that we were able to get to Daryl's Iron Horse to have the work completed. Daryl did a magnificent job. Daryl has 41 years experience, he has wisdom and knowledge gained through those 41 years.

We can not say "thank you Daryl" enough to express our gratitude to him and his expert, friendly and professional staff. If you need a reference from us, please email us and we will be happy to relate our experience with Iron Horse.

God bless Daryl Waldrop and all of his staff at Iron Horse. Mike and Charlene Hicks
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Every item was expertly repaired. We will travel to San Antonio when in need of RV service/repair. Iron Horse is simply the best shop in the country. If Daryl can not handle your repair, you should rely on Daryl's advice as to what you next step should be.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   mgh1987@att.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/25/2012
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Replaced Norcold fridge with a Samsung RF 197 residential model. Cleaned and serviced both A/C units. Trouble shot and repaired hydraulic jack system. Installed new window awning. Repaired multiple smaller misc items.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Outstanding work and super attitude of everyone we came into contact with. Would highly recommend this dealer for any repairs.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/2/2011
  Company Contact:   Daryl Waldrop
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Service Aqua-Hot, rewire tow electrical hookup, troubleshoot plumbing issues.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Service was done quickly and professionally. Techs were patient and helpful with newby questions. Work was done well and at a fair price. Hookup accommodations were provided for the weekend at no charge.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/17/2011
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Repairs to propane line, wiring, air system, body, and roof due to road debris damage.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We almost WRECKED because of the shoddy work done, IF it was done at all, on the air system. The paint does not match on the body work. The wiring job was sub-standard. All this after having the motor home for a week and a half. They had to slap together most of the work at the last minute when we went to pick it up.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/23/2010
  Company Contact:   daryl or matt waltrip
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Replace roof air, complete oil and filter change engine, transmission and generator. All air and fuel filters as well.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Iron Horse may not only be the best shop in Texas, but very possibly in the USA. Daryl is owner and Matt's father. They are expert in every aspect of RV technology and repair. They are as honest as the day is long. I trust them and you will too.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/24/2009
  Company Contact:   Daryl Waldrop
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Major repair of front fiberglass and bumper framing caused by inept tow truck driver. Also replaced faulty fuel pump mounted in the gas tank.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Fiberglas repair matched the original exactly, the repair site cannot be detected. Welding of bumper framing was better than the original. The gas tank was lowered, pump replaced, and none of the 75 gallons of gas was lost.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   vanngale@sbcglobal.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/21/2008
  Company Contact:   Daryl Waldrop (Owner)
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   On Sunday while driving through San Antonio we experienced an electrical disconnect somewhere in the dash instruments, accelerator and other engine controls when we hit a bump in the road. After awhile and some wire harness prodding, we were able to regain controls and make it to a near by campground. We called Monaco Emergency Service who directed us to Iron Horse RV. We took the coach to Iron Horse on Monday and talked with owner Daryl Waldrop. He seemed to know exactly what the problem might be. He also informed us they are a Monaco Certified Warranty Service facility. I asked if they could take care of some other items that we were planning to have worked on at a Monaco Factory Service Center in March 09. He said they could do it all. We left the coach there on Monday and received a call on Friday that the coach was ready and all items were repaired.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent service!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/4/2005
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Re-wiring of house batteries from 6v to 12v units.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   We can in without an appointment and we quickly taken care of. The tech was friendly and worked fast. He even walked around the coach with me to answer some other maintenance and mechanical questions I had.

The owner and his son must have asked 10 times if we were being taken care of.
  Value of Service:   Good
  Quality of Service:   Very Good
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/5/2005
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Electrical issues and fluid changes.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   When the service adviser named Daryl told me that he would buy me new batteries if he was wrong about his diagnosis, I knew that I was in the right place for service. Most RV service facilities will charge $500 just to look at your coach. It turned out that my 4 new (2 month old) batteries were actually 3 years old. Daryl replaced them with AGM and off we went to Mexico for a month with the Greatest Show on Earth. AMSOIL was also put in engine and transmission. I am totally indebted to Daryl, his son Matt and the rest of the gang for helping me become a more confident RVer. If I was within 500 miles of them and needed service, I take my coach there as I have several times. Daryl stands behind his work and his word.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   jbruno2@yahoo.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/22/2004
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Our Hydro-Hot system had failed again. Monaco overnighted the necessary parts to Iron Horse yesterday. When we arrived there this afternoon, they had the parts and started work immediately. We were out of there two hours after we arrived. The technician knew the Hydro-Hot system cold.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent service, and an excellent tech. Iron Horse was scrambling to finish everything in their shop before shutting down for the holidays at noon the day after tomorrow, but the worked us in because we had no heat and the forecast is for temps in the teens tomorrow night.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   expurgated@hotmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/1/2004
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Repair washing machine under direction of washing machine manufacturer
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Coach was in worse shape when we left than when we arrived. Electrical system needed repair which waited until we returned to North Carolina. Also finished the washing machine repair in NC.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/26/2003
  Company Contact:   Rob
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   5,000 mile initial Allison transmission service which consists of replacing one filter and installing only the amount of fluid that is lost during filter removal.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They ignored my specific instructions of calling Spartan to find out exactly which type of fluid they had used on the transmission, because I wanted to keep using the same. They installed synthetic instead of dino fluid used by Spartan. They overcharged me for the service, $300 for a service that's not worth over $150. I will NEVER return to Iron Horse RV.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Good



Page last updated: 4/28/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster