RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Tom's RV Service and Sales
136 Moon, Albuquerque, NM   87123
505-323-5947
Email Address: tomsrvservice@yahoo.com
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 35.074248   Longitude: -106.541145
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/1/2016
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   This date I had a laundry list of various things to fix.
All were completed within a few hours and the price was
reasonable. The year previous I had Tom's install my tow
package on my Mini Cooper. The work was excellent.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I am thrilled with everything that Tom's has done. Irish
is a mechanic there and very skilled. Tom is fair and
honest. I highly recommend them.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/26/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Trouble shoot and replace Power Management System (Surge Protection)
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Had failure of the Power Management System while traveling through Albuquerque. They worked us into their schedule and had us on our way in a couple of
days.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/10/2015
  Company Contact:   CONSUMER SVCS
  Work Done on:   Toad
  Service Performed:   Secured a loose Blue Ox baseplate.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   When I arrived in Albuquerque during a cross-country trip and disconnected my toad, I noticed that the baseplate was loose. It was obviously unsafe to tow
my toad until the baseplate was secured. Trying to find someone to address this issue on very short notice was a challenge. Tom was very helpful to fit
me into his full schedule. Gene & Irish were efficient, thorough and competent in making the necessary repair. EXTREMELY satisfied with their work. Fair
price, knowledgeable technicians, responsive to my predicament. I would highly recommend Tom's for any Blue Ox related work.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/14/2014
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   I made an appointment to have grease checked in hub that lost dust cover. Tom's employees found two bad calipers and one bad rotor in addition. Ordered
parts and made appointment to fit our schedule to have parts replaced.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Tom's did everything right in my opinion. Temporary repairs were made to enable us to return to the campground until parts arrived. Our cat was welcomed
into the waiting area while work was being done on the trailer. All employees were friendly and appeared to really enjoy working there.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   haulinhitchhiker@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/22/2009
  Company Contact:   Tom Coughlin
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   1-Repair Siding
2-Repair Hurricane Hydronic System
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   1-An excellent job on the siding
2-The Hurricane System was serviced by Beaudry's in Tucson and never worked well thereafter. Gene, diagnosed the problem and the system now operates better than it ever has.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   warpig2@msn.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/20/2008
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Replaced a faulty plastic fitting on the water pump that was spraying water while under pressure. Replaced fitting and leak stopped. Same-day service and in under an hour at my RV park's site.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Gene Barr, the on-site technician did an excellent job of finding the leak and replacing the necessary part. I recommend Tom's RV Service highly especially when they come to your site.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/20/2008
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   We had problems with the hydronic system and some other smaller issues. We have also used Tom's for other work throughout the year such as attaching a toad and installing a new satellite system.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Gene Barr, RV tech, studied our Hurricane System, talked with the manufacturer and made repairs. He also repaired a problem jack. He is mobile as well as out of the shop. They seem to do a lot of volume which affects communication, return of phone calls and even talking with each other. Once the work is started it is excellent and professionally done. They have responded to my requests even 30 miles out from their site and even after hours. Short of the communication snafu we have been very pleased
with their service. We also have had discounts on parts which makes it even better. You will get excellent service but you need to keep in contact which is not a problem for me.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   warpig2@msn.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/19/2007
  Company Contact:   Tom (owner) or Tam (receptionist)
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Renovation of 34 ft Barth. Remove couch, install new washer/dryer, install additional wood flooring, install carpet, install workspace. Minor repairs also. We were ASSURED by the owner, Tom, that he could do this and we had had the coach in a couple of times before and were pleased with their work, even though they didn't return phone calls. We were told it he could have it finished in a week, which we found hard to believe. But we didn't need it for three weeks.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The middle of March we took our 34 ft Barth into Tom's RV in Albuquerque, NM. They had just acquired the customers of a great RV repair shop in Albuquerque, Osborne's, whose owner had retired.

I asked him specifically if he did this kind of work and he said, SURE he did. No problem. Tom, the owner of the new shop ASSURED us he could install a washer/dryer, install a workspace, new carpet and wood floors. He told us to bring it in the following Monday (middle of March) and he could have it ready in a week. I told my husband, that was hardly likely, but we didn't need it for three weeks. We took it in. I even called the carpet place he said he used, went by, picked out the carpet. He had already assured us that the existing wood floor would be matched perfectly, so I didn't pick out any wood.

Two weeks went by. We called repeatedly and he finally returned our call and he said he had the sofa out and had ordered the washer/dryer and it would be finished by the end of the week. Three weeks later, after not being able to reach him, only his receptionist. I happened to be in Albuquerque and stopped by the shop unannounced. (We live two hours from Albuquerque.) I asked the woman at the desk to give me the keys and I looked inside. NOTHING had been done. Nothing. I asked the owner what was going on? Could I just take it back now and forget about it? He said, and I quote "The washer dryer just came in and we're going to start on it tomorrow." I believed him. I didn't want the poor guy to be out the cost of the washer/dryer.

We had already had to cancel a visit to South Texas for a friend's birthday and we had lost our patience. We wanted our RV back. Last week my husband called him for about the tenth time. He is IMPOSSIBLE to get hold of and never returns calls. He said, and again I quote, "Well, I'm not happy with the cabinets." Now this implied to me that the cabinets had been finished, just not to his satisfaction. He had told us previously that the cabinets were all that needed to be finished. My husband said I was going to be in Albuquerque and would pick it up anyway. They had now had it 6 weeks and supposedly it was only going to take a week. So, I went down to pick it up last Friday. Hoping that the cabinets were "OK". I was sure the carpet and wood floors had been finished, and was lamenting the fact that we no longer had a couch, but we DID have a workstation and a washer/dryer. I needn't have lamented at all.

I went to the receptionist and asked how much we owed her. "It's not finished, correct?", I said. "You don't owe us anything. We didn't do anything." OK, big joke, here. I was stunned. "You didn't do ANYTHING??? "Tom had said the washer/dryer was in, and the cabinets had been done, and the carpet ordered." She replied, in her surly manner, "I don't know anything about that. Tom just told me to give you the keys." Of course Tom was no where to be found. I was furious. Six weeks, innumerable LIES and nothing to show for it.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   nuevomex@mac.com



Page last updated: 11/19/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster