RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
RV Service of Virginia
12297 Washington Hwy, Ashland, VA   23005
804-798-1433
Email Address: RVSERVICEOFVA@GMAIL.COM
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 37.743842   Longitude: -77.472336
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/21/2016
  Company Contact:   Rusty Rhea
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Diagnose and repair coolant leak on Onan 10KW diesel generator.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Leak found and fixed. Shop was very busy but took my coach on short notice and agreed to try to fix problem since we need to leave for Florida trip in a
week. The mechanic worked late yesterday to find the problem and fix it. That is certainly appreciated.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/1/2016
  Company Contact:   Rusty Rhea
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Generator Repair - mostly carburetor adjustment and cleaning.
Emergency Brake Repair - mostly adjustment.
VA Inspection
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The work was great and the professionalism of this
shop won't be matched. When I went to pick up the
bus the mechanic that did the work came out and
walked me through everything he did and why he had
to do it. I took my old bus in here three separate
times and each time the service and professionalism
was as good as the last, it's just who they are. I
just made an appointment for my new 2015 Suncruiser
for next month for some work on my front roof air
conditioner. I have no doubt the work and customer
service will be the same as it has always been.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   12/23/2015
  Company Contact:   Rusty Rhea
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Generator service, VA State inspection, replace sway bar bushings/end links, install house battery switch.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Work was done but they were very slow to get started and complete. Left coach there two months but coach sat for one full month before they started work.
Had two other items on list (replace carpet and some paint work) that I cancelled since I did not feel they could get all work done in time for our winter trip.
They said two months would be plenty of time but apparently they misjudged. They were aware of my timeline when I left the coach with them but in a
conversation with the service manager, it was apparent he was not aware of the promised completion date. They are a large and very busy shop.
  Value of Service:   Good
  Quality of Service:   Good
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/13/2015
  Company Contact:   Rodney
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Repaired transmission leak. Fixed broken weld.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   This is my go to place for RV repairs. My only wish is they weren't so far from my house. I have been pleased with the quality of work and their pricing is
within reason. In previous repairs I never felt like I was pushed to do something that was not needed. They have taken the time to go over my options.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/30/2014
  Work Done on:   Toad
  Service Performed:   Diagnosed and repaired turn signal problem. Replaced diode.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Sent out a very knowledgeable technician, Doug. He quickly checked connections and found cracked diode in rear tail light assembly. Also checked
umbilical cord and tightened up connections. Very happy with prompt response and quality work.

  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/15/2014
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   Replace fused bearing on spindle, repack all bearings and adjust all brakes.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   This was the busy part of the year for them and they were booked for 2-weeks and I showed up without an appointment. Once I explained my situation,
Rusty assigned a very knowledgeable tech who took care of everything while I waited. Great customer service for someone who was in a jam.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/30/2014
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Replaced 1 1/2" of water hose with 2 couplings.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   $195.00 for 20 minutes of work is excessive. Won't use this company again.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/7/2013
  Company Contact:   Rodney
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Warranty work on Norcold refrigerator. The unit had to be removed and the cooling unit replaced. We're full-timers. They took us right in, found
the problem in 15 minutes, ordered the part, handled all warranty issue with Norcold. When the part arrived they took us right in and had the job
done in six hours. Very neat and clean and allowed me to go inside and check on their progress any time I wanted. They replaced a rusting propane
tube which was a safety issue and also recommended replacing the two cooling fans located behind the unit, which I was going to do anyway.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They are an authorized Norcold repair facility.
Excellent
Very clean and neat.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/8/2012
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Broke down on the road called around could not get any help, finally got in touch with RV Service they said come on we will get you in.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Fuel filter had water inside they did a service on my coach and off we go.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/24/2012
  Work Done on:   5th Wheel Trailer
  Service Performed:   We were coming down 95 and we had a leaf spring break, we made several phone calls and finally RV service said come
on in.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The work was done and all of the staff was wonderful to deal with. I would give them an A+
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/18/2012
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Jacks would not come down and they took me in and got my problem fixed when nobody else could get to me
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I was very pleased when the work was done.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/21/2009
  Work Done on:   Truck Campers
  Service Performed:   Norcold refrigerator stopped working with the display board showing noco.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They had the fridge up and running within 30 minutes, price for repair was $50.00. The manager asked if I could stay longer to double check that the refrigerator was working properly, and did not charge me extra. Another RV service company estimated the repair to be around $500.00 and charged me $125.00 to do a "diagnostic" check. Professional and excellent service.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/21/2009
  Company Contact:   Rusty
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   Rear A/C would not work. Rusty did a fantastic job of tracing the wiring using schematics and installation diagrams to find a connector buried behind the microwave that had shook open! Did this in an amazingly short time.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Fantastic! Other dealers that I have used on other problems would have taken days to find this. Rusty did it in under 2 hours. Also, they accommodated the challenge we posed by virtue of living in the motorhome and having 2 cats to look out for. I went in to see about an appointment on Tuesday and they told me to be there at 9 on Thursday. Rusty was in the rig immediately and I drove out 2 hours later.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/1/2007
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   I have had our '98 Allegro Bus serviced at this shop on several occasions. The first time, June 2006, was to repair a blown-out wheel-well damaged when an inner dualie blew, to replace the alternator and recharge the dashboard a/c. In the spring of '07 it went there twice for a generator malfunction, and then twice in the summer of '07 for a roof patch.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The first time, June 2006, was to repair a blown-out wheel-well damaged when an inner dualie blew, to replace the alternator and recharge the dashboard a/c. I drove 80 miles to the shop and spent the day there while they worked on it. By the end of the day all items had been completed and, although the A/C was not as cold as it should be, I was satisfied.

In April of 2007 the Onan 7.5kW generator went dead; since they're an Onan repair shop, I took it back over there. They diagnosed a bad starter, replaced it, and it worked --for about ten hours, then went dead again. I took it back and they diagnosed a bad stator, which they replaced after almost a month "waiting for the part." Interestingly, though they did not agree with me that they should give me a break on this repair in light of the ineffectiveness of the last one, they did in fact charge far less labor than it actually took. The generator has been fine since.
I had asked them for an estimate to replace the rubber roof. Without my authorization, they did a $300 repair to one of the damaged areas up there. I didn't mind that until their foot-square patch peeled fully back in the next month. When I called they said, "We TOLD you you need a new roof," and I said I agreed with that but the issue was whether they stood behind the work they chose to do to it. With some complaining (it WAS their busy time of year) they did a re-patch for another $150 which also peeled back after about 500 miles. Since I was by then on the way to the Tiffin factory for a gorgeous new fiberglass roof, I didn't care -- except for the $$ lost. I could fuss at them, but it would be unpleasant and I doubt it would get me anywhere.

Overall, I'm satisfied with this shop. I've spent several days hanging out there and think they are honest and in most instances do good work. No one else I talked to would touch that wheel-well repair, and they did a nice job. The dash A/C was re-done at Tiffin and required a new condenser and fan to work well, which VA RV missed, the generator repair raised some questions, and the roof job was botched. Given the horror stories one reads on this site about many shops, this one rates pretty well. I'd give them a B-minus.
  Value of Service:   Fair
  Quality of Service:   Good
  Email Address of Reviewer:   gwa1225@aol.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   5/15/2007
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   I brought in a 1993 32' class A for survey (inspection) prior to purchasing and for a state inspection. I was told the inspection would require 5 hours to complete and cost approx. $500.00. I arranged the inspection and the buyer agreed to drop the vehicle off at RV Services. I requested to be called when the inspection was done when I made the appointment and called them the morning of the inspection to remind them to call as soon as the inspection was finished so I could tell the seller of my decision to buy the RV. RV Services did not begin inspection inspection until after 2:00 pm because they failed to get my credit card number when I made the appointment and seemed incapable of calling either my cell phone or my home phone that day to get the card number from me. Instead they called the RV seller who, of course, would not give them a credit card number. The seller called me at around 2:00 pm and told me of the situation. I called RV Services gave them the card number and the "inspection" began. They managed to compress a 5 hour inspection into under 2 hours and never did call me to tell me the inspection was done. I finally went by RV Services at their closing time to find out they were finished, however I still was billed for the entire 5 hour inspection.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The inspection could only be described as the "sunshine treatment" Only the most superficial problems where found. The inspection "report" was 3/4 of a page of hand scribbled comments (written while I waited to pay). They did not evaluate the refrigerator because "they did not have time." They missed the fact that the front shock mounts were wallowed out and needed to be replaced ($800.00). They said the water pump pressure was low "probably due to a clogged filter" when in fact it was only the fact that the fresh water tank filling value was not fully closed resulting in low pressure to the supply lines. They missed a leaking antenna mount, a broken transmission quadrant, a rotted main door, a leaking back window, inoperable smoke detectors, leaking bathroom fixture, low break pedal pressure,and a rotted battery mount. These are just a few of the items I've fixed in the 2 months I've owned the vehicle. While these are not uncommon problems for a vehicle of this age, it would have been nice to negotiate their repair cost off of the asking price.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/27/2007
  Company Contact:   Rusty
  Work Done on:   Class A - Gasoline
  Service Performed:   I recently sold this RV and the buyer called RV Service of VA and made arrangements for an inspection. I took the RV in myself to have it done. I also asked if the slide could be realigned and that the state inspection be preformed. The inspection was done as requested. The state inspection was done and they felt that I needed new plastic lights on the sides as they had faded. The seven lights with installation was just under $100. I had the instructions printed out on how the slide was repaired as per Newmar. I had actually called Newmar and verified the instructions. They said they didn't need them. A little later they came back and asked for the instructions. Several hours later they told me that they could not fix the slide. But, they did bill me almost $200 for repair of the slide. When I questioned this they were quite rude and told me that "time is money" and "the directions were not worth jack****." When I asked if the buyer had made arrangements for payment I was told that they "didn't care who paid for it but that the RV was not leaving until someone paid for it." I stayed with the RV the whole time and they never came and asked if I wanted them to spend all this time on the slide. They also never called Newmar for instructions. I told them that I probably should have taken it to Newmar to have it repaired that they could fix it in a few minutes. Their response was "take it to Newmar, they're in Indiana."
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   In my opinion the work was not done. The slide was not fixed and I was billed for having it fixed. The tech that did the work was very pleasant. Rusty was very loud and obnoxious and rude. I don't feel that I have to be subjected to this kind of treatment from any business.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor



Page last updated: 7/26/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster