RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Cummins Power South
755 Pickettville Road, Jacksonville, FL   32220
904-378-1902
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 30.3319546   Longitude: -81.7647361
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/11/2019
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   I paid $320 for an estimate. No mechanical work or diagnostic
work was actually completed.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   This was my first time trying Cummins Jacksonville and I asked
their service department if they could fix an engine problem
and a few Spartan chassis problems since they advertise they
are a Cummins Coach Care facility and Spartan authorized
service center.

He could not answer if anything other than the motor could be
fixed by their shop. The only way to find out would be to have
them take a look. This comes at a cost of $320 including
taxes and fees for their $260 diagnostics fee.

I told them my exhaust manifold was visibly cracked and they
responded back confirming this. However, they could not fix
anything else on my list which were mostly suspension related.
Although part of their diagnostic fee included them reading codes,
they could not read the ABS code because they don't have a
scanner that can read Spartan specific codes.

They quoted $4,000 to replace the manifold and change a belt
that wasn't cracked/worn. This was 13 or 14 hours of labor for
a job that all other shops and other owners said took their
mechanics 4-5 hours with some additional time if bolts break.
I have a side radiator and no bed over the access panel to
contend with. Access isn't that bad for a class A DP.

Part of the $4,000 estimate included $670 in miscellaneous
fees. $250 labeled "misc", $120 shipping, $100 hazmat
disposal (for shop rags and cans of PB Blaster presumably),
$50 electronic tooling fee, and $150 for shop supplies.

I took the inflated quote as a sign they don't really want to
work on motorhomes.

Communication was also a problem. It took exactly a week to
get the estimate to me. I had follow up questions about the
estimate that were ignored entirely so I just picked it up. The
invoice shows the mechanics did their inspection fairly quickly
about 2 days after I dropped it off. It sat in the parking lot
unnecessarily for the weekend and part of the following week
waiting for the back office service people to do their job.

Finally, I regrettably ignored the other negative reviews here. I
strong advise against going here for anything except for a visit
with the parts department.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/27/2017
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   On my trip from FL to CT, I had a coolant sensor go out on me. It
put the engine into protection mode so power was very limited. I
called and spoke to Brian in service and he said come on over and
we'll see what we can do. They first didn't think they had the part
because it's a Spartan chassis and cross-referencing wasn't easy.
After I called Spartan and got a non-Spartan part number for the
sensor, went back to Brian and they had FIVE of them in stock.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   It was a Friday at lunch hour that I arrived and these guys went out
of their way, during their lunch, to assist me and get me back on
the road. One of the mechanics, Dustin, took less than 10 minutes
to go out to the RV, make the replacement and handed me the old
part. A special shout out to Donnie in parts as well for his ability to
figure out the cross-referenced part number, again, during his
lunch! He actually put his sandwich down and got up to help!
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/8/2014
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Oil change and generator service.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   On two separate occasions they were unprofessional in servicing the engine. First time they left the oil fill cap off. Second time the oil filter was so
loose that oil was dripping out onto the ground and a steady rate. Turned the filter by hand a full revolution. Who knows what other careless things
may have been done. Won't go there again. Also, they don't really "service" the generator, they just change the oil.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   10/1/2013
  Company Contact:   Chris Dowling
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Travel Supreme would not start, electrical smart wheel decoder and other electrical problems. Also service vehicle.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Very POOR - this is not Coach Care. The 1st tech working on the unit quit Cummins after two weeks. The coach set for approximately 1 months,
with no results. Then Cummins called Spartan chassis for assistance The pedal assembly was bad, replaced with new one NOT THE PROBLEM.
Change out the dash computer NOT THE PROBLEM. Now this is where the real problems starts! Cummins hosted up the coach, without
supporting the tag axle and broke the tag axle shocks. Bent the battery compartment door.

Now Cummins installed the wrong smart wheel decoder and getting all kinds of problems, after 3 weeks discovered the wrong decoder. Now
change out the transmission control unit and the engine control unit, NOT THE PROBLEM. Now! again Cummins hosted up the coach and
damaged the driver side, sent out to be painted and repaired. New wire for the start circuit, unit now starts. Pick up unit driving home no resume
on cruise control. Return back to Cummins. Week later I was informed the unit will not turn off, have to pull the main fuse to the engine control.
5 MONTHS LATER CUMMINS HAS GIVEN UP. NOW MUST DRIVE TO SPARTAN UP IN Michigan WHEN THE SNOW MELTS...Cummins cost me over
$7,000 and this unit is not repaired. Go there for oil change THEY ARE NOT COACH CARE I have been to coach care in Oregon, Texas, Denver
they are great. But stay away this place.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   fdkelleys4@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/10/2011
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   - Change transmission fluid, Transynd, and transmission filters.
- Replace air dryer, Monaco Specified, cartridge, provided by me.
- Adjust air brakes and lube with specified hi temp clay based grease.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   I called in advance for appointment and reviewed work to be done, noting the Monaco specified the Allison transmission fluid type and filter needed as well as the HT grease for brakes. The service writer confirmed that all the above materials were part of their regular in-stock items. We discussed the air dryer cartridge type and I told them I would provide it.

The coach was in the shop for a period of four hours; since the bay door was open, I could see that no one was at or near the coach for the first hour. When I asked what was happening I was informed that the technician was researching the parts needed, even though all parts were identified as available when the appointment was made, and checking the coach over.

When the appointment was completed I was presented for a bill which included "five" hours labor. I challenged this stating that no actual work was done for more than three hours. Furthermore although the bill included the cost of Transynd for a full transmission refill I could see only one empty Transynd container... Cummins eventually agreed to reduce the labor charge to four hours, the total elapsed time the coach was there, again using the unsubstantiated argument that they spent an hour looking up parts and checking the coach to be sure there was no damage before they started the work.

I did find a deep scratch in one of the coach's storage doors a few days later but had no pictures taken immediately before and after thus no way to document what probably happened.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/11/2010
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Replacement of leaking lift pump in a 1999 Cummins ISC 8.3L 350Hp engine.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Scheduled appointment. Service was done in a few hours. Very reasonable price with brand new not rebuilt factory parts.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/12/2007
  Company Contact:   Kenneth Sumner
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Replaced Fuel Transfer pump.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent service. Very quick, clean and professional. Full hookup sites available for overnighters.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent



Page last updated: 9/26/2020 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster