RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Cummins Atlantic
20 Commercial Rd., Spartanburg, SC   29303
864-208-2657
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 35.0070457   Longitude: -82.026637
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   8/15/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   What a rip off they kept trying to sell me on some value added crap power club. Never fixed anything. Left coach greasy never cleaned it.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   This company is designed to rip you off by over repairing your coach or truck.
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   vogepuffspoll@gmail.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   4/10/2015
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Spoke to Sam Evans, Customer Service Writer, who advised would work on unit upon arrival at location. Motorhome was towed to Cummins and they have RV
site with electric unit was taken into shop the next day for diagnosis. Diagnosed the problem was lift pump and repairs completed expeditiously.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   All personal was both knowledgeable and professional, they are a Coach Care facility we also took our dog into the lounge area while waiting. We will start
to use them for our motorhome work when in their area. They also knew how to work with insurance to get covered.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   mikesweet48@gail.com
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/5/2012
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   They replaced the rotor and stator in my Onan 2800 under warranty 6 1/2 years ago, involving considerable disassembly. When I took the Onan out recently to replace the fuel pump, I noticed a missing motor mount, obviously left out by their tech. I called them, spoke to the service manager, and the parts arrived the next day at my house, no charge!
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   It shouldn't have happened, of course. But to make good on an error that they made 6 1/2 years ago, that smoothly and easily, was amazing.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   9/22/2011
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   The technician at Freightliner in Gaffney, SC performing a two year maintenance check on my diesel pusher on 9/20/11 noted that oil was leaking from the front main bearing seal and the air compressor gasket. They recommended that the repair work be performed by Cummins Atlantic in Spartansburg, SC. I called Cummins on 9/20/11 to make an appointment for the work. They scheduled me for 9/22/11. They analyzed the problem and indicated that in addition to the two aforementioned leaks, a third leak was detected between the gear cover and engine. This leak was determined by using dye and a black light. They recommended that the gear cover be replaced rather than renewing the silicone seal. It is their policy to replace the cover since there is a known history of warping over time on the ISB 5.9 engine. I authorized the work, but as it turns out they did not have the cover and it would be a week or more before they could complete the work. Since we were on the road and had prior committments at home we decided to defer the work. In addition to the oil leaks, I asked them to perform a 60 K check on the engine and during this check they noted that the CAC was covered with oil and that the drive belt was in bad condition most probably due to oil contamination. We asked them to replace the belt. A new belt was ordered, but the technician indicated it was a 1/2" too long. A second belt was ordered and installed. During the trip home the new belt started slipping whenever the engine was brought to an idle. Contact with Cummins during the trip home indicated they the belt could be slipping because the batteries were discharged and causing the alternator to be under too much load. Subsequently the unit was taken to Cummins Mid South in Kenner, LA to have the oil leaks repaired (this will be subject of another post) and to inspect the drive belt. They determined that the belt was too long and replaced it with a shorter belt. The belt no longer slips.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   1.Cummins Atlantic was able to work me in at short notice but could not affect the needed repairs in less than a week due to their reported backload of work. I appreciated the professionalism of the technician who analyzed the problems.
2. The wrong belt was installed and had to be replaced which probably cost an additional $200 considering parts and labor.
3. Overall the rating for my experience with Cummins Atlantic is good.
  Value of Service:   Fair
  Quality of Service:   Good
  Email Address of Reviewer:   jrowalt@bellsouth.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/27/2007
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   New Onan 7.5 diesel generator failure after 120 hours of use. Cummins Atlantic was closest service facility. Required diagnosis of problem and correction. Thermostat and sender unit replaced under warranty. Problem solved.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent people and first class facility. Sam, service writer, Chris, service supervisor and a Hispanic gentleman (sorry, name lost) who performed the work were top notch. Could not have been more accommodating or courteous. Nice waiting lounge. 4 hours from check in to out the door. I give this my highest rating.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   7/24/2007
  Company Contact:   Michael Grace, President
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   2007 Newmar Motorhome...had "STOP ENGINE" fault alarm.
Spoke to Sam Evans, Customer Service Writer, who advised would work on unit upon arrival at location. Upon arrival at Cummins Atlantic, Spartanburg, SC, met with Mr. Evans. Unit was taken into shop immediately for diagnosis. Diagnosed the problem as a hole in heater hose and repairs completed expeditiously.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Service Writer Evans was both knowledgeable and professional...Mr. Evans advised they are not currently a "Coach Care" facility but are going through the inspection process. Allowed us and our dog into the customer lounge area while waiting. Seems like a new facility and very clean. I was introduced to Service Adviser Chris McKnight who explained the process of diagnosis and subsequent repair. Both Evans and McKnight were excellent in their abilities and we found this facility to be an overall pleasant experience for the circumstances.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   jackgumph@aol.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/6/2007
  Work Done on:   Class C
  Service Performed:   Two warranty repairs on a 2.8 gas Onan.

The first was a complete rotor & stator replacement at 8 hrs, and included carburator replacement due to botched 'repair' attempt by Todd's RV & Marine in Hendersonville, NC.

The second was adjustment of governor due to loosened set screw at 50 hrs.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent. I got 'soonest' appointments, work was done quickly & well. Waiting area is clean and nice.

They're convenient to I-26, and do all Onan repairs and service, as well as Cummins diesels.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Excellent



Page last updated: 7/21/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster