RV Service Reviews RV Service Reviews Home Page
Where RV Owners Evaluate Service Facilities!

  Company
Freightliner of San Antonio, Ltd.
8700 Interstate Highway 10, Converse, TX   78109
[210]666-6665
Email Address: pkane@opuskane.com
Location on Google Maps           Latitude: 29.5180081   Longitude: -98.3161241
Company web site click here
 
 
 
To add a review for this company click here

 
 

Important Information

The opinions expressed are those of our contributing readers. RVServiceReviews.com has no means and is unable to make any determination about the experience, competence, integrity, or honesty of any of its contributors. We encourage our readers to seek a variety of information resources, and to make whatever additional and independent investigation may be necessary or appropriate before making any commitments or taking any steps in reliance on any information which is posted at this site.

If you are the service provider and want to respond to this review send an email to admin@RVServiceReviews.com. Please provide the name of your company, as it appears on the review, the date of service provided by the reviewer and the explanation of the problem from your perspective.
 
 
 
 
  Date of Service:   6/23/2016
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Freightliner Safety Recall
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   This was my first visit to this dealership. Having heard that many other Freightliner dealers are less than enthusiastic about working on motorhomes, I was
pleasantly surprised that they not only welcomed RVs, they have a separate shop dedicated to buses and RVs. Manager J.D. Pennell ordered the part for me
and contacted me upon its arrival. I was able to have it installed while I waited.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   3/31/2016
  Company Contact:   JD (RV service manager)
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   60000 mile PM less oil and filter change
New Air Filter
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent. They evaluated and did only the maintenance tasks necessary (for instance they did not change the transmission fluid because it looked good, but
they did change the rear differential because it looked dark). They seemed enthusiastic about working on RVs.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
  Email Address of Reviewer:   montyhp@yahoo.com
 
 
   
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/25/2012
  Company Contact:   J. D. Pennell
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Replace no. 3 injector. Injectors were only 3 months old so all work was done under warranty at no cost to us.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Excellent. Both the service manager and the tech were friendly and helpful. Although this Freightliner shop has had bad reviews in the past, this a new facility (7 weeks as of this date) with separate motorhome and bus service shop and 4 hookups. I can unconditionally recommend this shop for any work.
  Value of Service:   Excellent
  Quality of Service:   Excellent
 
 
  Date of Service:   2/25/2010
  Work Done on:   Class C
Medium Duty Truck
  Service Performed:   Preventive Maintenance: Complete Level 3 service, pressure flush radiator and change coolant, replace brake light module, repair turn signal switch, check air compressor noise
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   The work requested was completed in a reasonable amount of time and corrected all reported problems. The downside to this repair site is the customer waiting area. It is the filthiest that I have been in during my travels about the United States. Besides being dark and dinghy, it does not appear to have been cleaned is a long time as evidenced by the cobwebs in what once was a shop-view window.
In addition, the billing department needs attention. I observed customers who waited for hours after their work was completed but had to wait until their work order “reached the top of the pile”.

For these reasons I am rating the service quality “Poor”. I will not return to this dealer and strongly suggest that other Freightliner owners seek out another site.
  Value of Service:   Good
  Quality of Service:   Poor
 
 
  Date of Service:   1/1/2009
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Lost engine power, coach would top out at 45mph. Dropped it off at 3pm on Wed Dec 31, 09. I got a call at 3pm on Friday the 2nd, saying the problem was a turbo sense switch. They fixed the problem and the coach was ready on Monday. When I picked the coach up, and checked to see what they had screwed up, and sure enough they had taken off without unplugging the shore power and ripped the end off the cord. They had haphazardly installed a cheap plastic replacement. I went in to have them sign something stating that if I had electrical problems they would take care of it. The technician behind the counter tells me, and I quote "It's your damn fault for plugging it in!" That was the wrong thing to tell me, but I wont get into the cussing I gave him and everybody else that tried to defend him. Finally the manager came up and signed a statement saying they would take care of it.
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   Fixed my problem in a somewhat timely fashion, but I am not full time and didn't need the coach while they were working on it. If I was full time, I would have been very upset at the time frame. Customer service and friendliness is non existent!! Would NEVER take anything else there!!!!!!!!!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor
  Email Address of Reviewer:   ga@signmaxx.com
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/10/2006
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Hydraulic Fan Motor leaking oil
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   They don't take appointments and trucks get priority over RV's. Took them 14 hours to bring coach into shop to do a 12 minute evaluation. I had already told them what the problem was but wouldn't order parts until they LOOKED at it for themselves. This problem was originally reported to Valley Freightliner (VFI) in Mt. Vernon WA who tried to claim that I didn't have a LEAK. (See my posting about them on 9/6/06 & 9/8/06).

Freightliner of San Antonio found the problem (confirming what I had told them) and two days later replaced the leaking fan motor. However they didn't bring me into the shop until the night shift came on duty and finished working just before dinner break. Mechanic took another two hours to finish the paperwork. This facility claims to have 3 sites with full hookups, except they are on the WRONG side and the sewer is plugged. No living in your RV over the weekend and if you don't keep reminding the service department that you are there (three or more times a day) they FORGET about you. Repair has held and no more leaks. What started with VFI in Washington State in September is over FINALLY. Have never gotten any satisfaction from VFI and they don't answer my correspondence..so it's time that I take this to the next level.
  Value of Service:   Very Good
  Quality of Service:   Good
  Email Address of Reviewer:   jrc@gypsyjohn.net
 
 
  Date of Service:   11/1/2001
  Work Done on:   Class A - Diesel
  Service Performed:   Preventive maintenance, oil change and transmission oil change, and a lot of check this and check that (ride height, lug nut torque, radiator cap pressure)
  Evaluation of Service Performed:   It seems they only want to work on motorhomes during the midnight shift, pushing us full-timers out to wait in the car while the RV sits in a bay with nobody working on it. When the midnight tech went home (this somehow took more than just one 8-hour shift when it should have taken 3 hours tops), nobody touched it until the next night and we were not allowed access. HE STILL DIDN'T FINISH IT THE NEXT NIGHT!!! We lived in the tow car for two days and three nights while the motorhome sat in a bay with NOBODY working on it.

Next came the bill - $2200 for a PM plus a few little things to check, none of which were replaced or even adjusted. Outrageous, then when I got it home the levelers wouldn't work because they had taken the power cable loose from the battery and put it on a negative post! Then I found that the dash air wouldn't cool because it was low on freon. The unit was six months old at the time and the dash air worked perfectly until Freightliner worked on the rig and when I put in two cans of R134a, it has stayed full for the next seven years so did they intentionally bleed off some freon?

Nobody with a motorhome should ever go here!
  Value of Service:   Poor
  Quality of Service:   Poor



Page last updated: 4/29/2017 Legal Notice Our Privacy Statement For problems or suggestions: webmaster